We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”
Review of Tonnam Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tonnam Homestay
Ranked #22 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Tonnam is a winner. An oasis just a short drive up the hill out of Chiang Mai downtown. The owners are so relaxed you can't help but feel relaxed too. They are very welcoming, lovely people as are all the staff. You really feel at home when you check in here, just take off your shoes and kick back, watch the river go by. It's a charming old teak guesthouse with lovely furnishings, a picturesque outlook over the river, delightful pool and delicious food. Pom the chef is very engaging and enthusiastic. Take time to have a lesson with her. Easy stroll to a nearby village with food stalls, market, 711, chemist etc. Easy to arrange tuk tuks to town, depending on traffic, it takes about 10-15 mins.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisAquilae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    41
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
121
110
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Absolutely amazing! I stayed July 2012 and loved every second of it. The grounds were lush and beautiful, the room the huge, the owners and cooks were more than generous. While it may be a bit of a drive from the city center, at the end of a fews days of tiring activities, I wanted nothing more than to go back to Tonnam. Not being right in the city center made for an incredibly relaxing stay. It was a little piece of heaven. If you're looking for a more personalized experience and looking to get to talk with and eat with other travelers from around the world, look no further. My only regret was that we did not stay longer. Truly a secret retreat!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed in the b and b for 4 nights. The pros are the room is tastefully decorated, the pool jacuzzi, sauna and steam room are clean. The breakfast was great. We tried their lunch and dinner and were delicious. The lady chef did a great job and we totally agree that she is the happiest Thai we met so far. We are satisfied with our stay in the b and b even though it is a bit far from the city center. Most of the tuk tuk drivers had the difficulty in locating the b and b and had to ask for direction from the owner by phone.

The only issue is we book a three-day trekking through the male owner. It was not overpriced but under performed. We were introduced to a freelance tour guide and had some disagreement with him over the iternary on the first day. Finally the freelance tour guide referred us to his so called boss who insulted us by asking whether we knew English and insisted that we should listen to him and follow the program. The 'boss' shouted at us on the phone. In the middle of nowhere the freelance tour guide offered us 50% refund and said he would withdraw his service. When we were back to the b and b, the male owner did not even utter a word about our three-day trekking.

Our final advice is it is good to stay in the b and b but don't enrol in any paid activity.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at Tonnam for 7 nights in Feb'13 and loved every bit of it. We loved it so much that the day of departure we have incredibly sad leaving the excellent friends we had made back there.

Tonnam is a small property 8 cottages/rooms only what really distinguishes it is the tasteful manner in which the property/rooms have been decored and the incredibly personal touch of the owners (Cecile & Yul) and the staff (Pom & her team). In fact, bigger chains and so called 'boutique' hotels can learn a thing or two from the property.

The property has far more facilities than the name suggests. There is a superb swimming pool, a jacuzzi and options of steam/sauna/massage which is just fantastic. Pom runs a lovely kitchen and prepared everything (including the sausages & jam) inhouse.

The owners Cecile and Yul and his staff Pom are very warm people. We spend many a evenings with music and drinks with them and loved their company so much that they have now become a part of our lives as good friends. The warmth that oozed out from them was truly overwhelming.

We will keep coming back to this home of ours :-) !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayankAgarwalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Hidden away from the outside world is this lovely little homestead, such a warm welcome from Cecile and Yul and Pom their assistant and cook. The accommodation (Bungalow No.1) was spotlessly clean, little wooden bungalows built in the pretty gardens around the swimming pool. The rooms were traditional Thai style, with a rustic feel and a very comfortable clean bed. The en suite shower room was amazing, you step down onto large pebbled floor with wooden decking and ours had a semi sunken bath with shower over, wash basin and loo of course. All mod cons. We were a group of ten and had such an amazing time with lots of laughs, especially in the kitchen for our cookery courses with Pom !!! Yul took us to the Temple and organised our trips to the Woodys Elephant Training School which was a brilliant day out and the the Jungle Walk hi-wire experience which was great fun too. One night we walked into the local village to eat and Yul came and picked us up and brought us back in one of his treasured cars.
Some of our group took canoes (which are provided for free) out for a trip down the river which Tonnam Homestay is adjacent to. We were not far from Chang Mai which is a busy town if you want some hectic nightlife. We were sad to leave and would go back. Thanks for a great memory.

Room Tip: We would go for the same bungalow if we went back.. No 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

With the name homestay you don't really expect a huge pool, steam bath, sauna, bubble bath and the option to have a massage whenever you want. Tonnam has it all and still there is the authentic feeling of a homestay. It's a beautiful authentic Thai house, well maintained. There are rooms in the house itself, which are the most authentic ones, and some bungalows they built additionally located in the garden near the pool. Those offer a bit more space and privacy. The owners juul and Cecile took care of any question we had and Pom is indeed the happiest person in Thailand who cooks amazing food. I liked the concept of signing in for dinner and then just eat whatever is prepared by Pom, which is always delicious I am comvinced. The homestay is located along the river and they offer canoes to explore the river (free of charge). The city centre is a bit further away, we paid between 150 and 250 Baht for a trip downtown by toektoek or taxi. For me this was not a problem, but take into consideration what you want from the visit if you book. We stayed here for 6 nights, exploring not only the city but also the surroundings of Chiang Mai, there are plenty things to do and visit outside the city and for that this place was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacobine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The place is very friendly and do some lovely food. We're very helpful, and no complaints with the service really. The rooms could of been better.

It wouldn't of been much to have a shower that you didn't have to crouch into the bathroom and hold. The rooms are also right next to a busy road, and so it can be noisy. Didn't really bother us but you notice it.

Overall a good place to stay, very accommodating to kids. We had 4 year old.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#189 of 381 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa San Pee-Seua
Villa San Pee-Seua
#30 of 736 in Chiang Mai
254 reviews
3.9 mi away
Baitong Homestay
Baitong Homestay
#79 of 825 in Chiang Mai
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
0.8 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#4 of 736 in Chiang Mai
705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chiang Mai House for Dreamer
Chiang Mai House for Dreamer
#89 of 736 in Chiang Mai
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonnam Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonnam Homestay

Property: Tonnam Homestay
Address: 216 Pa Tan Road | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonnam is a traditional Thai house on the Ping River bank. The property includes 6 bungalows around an infinity edge swimming-pool and 4 bedrooms in the teak house. Each accommodation has its own private bathroom with hot water and its balcony with swimming pool and/or river view. At home, we organize Thai cooking classes and massages with professional masseuse. On your arrival, you will always be personally welcomed by the owners themselves: Cecile and Yul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tonnam Homestay Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing