We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family house with genuine local atmosphere”
Review of Tonnam Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tonnam Homestay
Ranked #22 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent family house with genuine local atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We are a family of 4, stayed 5 nights at Tonnam Homestay and loved every minute of it !!! The franco-Thaï ownners (Yul & Cécile) were very welcoming and made us feel at home right away.
The breakfast was amazing, so were the meals (a bit pricey compared to local prices but well worth it !). Pom, the cook, is lovely, enthusiastic, always ready to give cooking lessons and share her recipes.
This lovely collection of teak cottages is located just outside Chiang Mai and overlooks the river. It is very relaxing to come back to after a day of trekking. Nice pool. Quick drive to the centre. Clean and spacious rooms with airco.
Yul & Cécile did everything to satisfy our requests and recommended several outings which were great: Doi Suthep (the mountain temple), a day with elephants (elephants are well treated and cared for), one-day trekking in the jungle (through paddy fields and Karen villages - wonderful but tiring - 7-hour walk).
We would definitely recommend Tonnam Homestay if you are looking for a quality family hotel with a genuine local atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dantifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    41
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
121
110
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I spent another unitque, enriching and unprecedent weekend at Tonnam Homestay. As before the concept did not change. Yul and Cecile, the owners just make it as enjoyable as possible for you to feel simply as good as if you were home. Well actually feeling much better because this is Thailand, this is Chiang Mai and they take care of you just as best that you can expect.
Definitely will go back again. Simple and lovely right at the centre of Chiang Mai cultural richness.
Must try, must go, must return again and again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

after being in Bangkok only 2 days, my husband and i were looking for a place to escape and be away from too much chaos. This was definitely it. If you're looking to be away from it all... This is it. It's on the main river in Chiang Mai and surrounded by lush greenery and sounds of birds. The staff was incredible, super friendly but not too over bearing. We were the only ones staying there during low season so they upgraded us to be best suite. It was beautiful. Outdoor bathtub with plenty of privacy and facing the river. Tons of space and great AC. If you care... There was no TV. We didnt mind. The WiFi is very good. The breakfasts were delicious. They offer all meals but we only ate lunch there once and it was yummy. It is owned by a husband and wife that live on the grounds and they were very nice and helpful but not too in your face. I could always find one of them if we needed something.
One important thing worth mentioning is that is quite far from town. My husband and I certainly do NOT mind walking at all but we rented a motor bike to get around since there is not much in walking distance from the homestay. The scooter only cost about 6 USD/ day so it was no big deal. I must also mention it is tricky to get around with all the one way streets so we got lost almost everytime we tried to ride back to the place....but we always found our way. If you are planning to take taxi's make sure you bring a card they provide that gives the driver instructions in Thai. Also we paid 150'baht each way from the homestay. But I would recommend aI scooter. Chiang mai is a really cool town with lots to see so we did spend a lot of time in town.
f you want to try their local dish, "khao soi", i would recommend having it at riverside restaurant. It was insanely delicious here...and i tried it at about 3 other places. Other than all that... I hope you enjoy Chiang Mai as much as we did!

Room Tip: Rent a motor bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We loved, loved Tonnam Homestay. Located on the outskirts of Chiang Mai, I definitely do not regret the decision to stay a quick drive away from the city center rather than in it. We never had too much issue getting to or from Tonnam. The accommodations are clean, spacious, and comfortable and the homestay has a great perch over the river. We enjoyed an afternoon of kayaking the river, where we encountered fishermen and saw some of the beautiful scenery and homes/lodges scattered along the river. Like many people, we read the excellent food reviews but were initially hesitant to eat at Tonnam every night. Like most everyone, after one of Pom's meals, we quickly went back on that decision and ended up eating at Tonnam every night. Her multi-course meals are exciting and lovingly prepared. I enjoyed showing up at the outdoor kitchen early to watch her cook, chatter, and sip a beer. Most guests were couples or families and we enjoyed interacting with all of them. Thanks for a wonderful stay and I hope to return someday!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlin108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at Tonnam for five nights in December and we had a relaxing, comfortable stay. Cecile and Yul were very welcoming, great hosts. Yul is very knowledgeable on the area and helpful to organise the trips around. Pom is a great chef. We loved her food. We enjoyed the cooking lesson we had with her where we learned how to make our Thai favourites and did shopping for the ingredients. She is a delightful person, always very friendly, positive and smiling.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We could not have picked a better place to stay in Chiang Mai. From the moment we were met at the airport we were made welcome and essentially invited into this family.
The accommodations were great, the food spectacular, the laid back atmosphere just what we wanted and nothing was too much trouble.
Cecile and Yul, with their ever smiling family of helpers were truly terrific. There is a reason this place has the word "homestay" in its title.
To explore Chiang Mai we simply turned ourselves over to Cecile and Yul. Their caring and gracious attitude made everything seamless and we believe we saw and experienced the essence of Chiang Mai. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Simply ask for what you want and if its available it will be provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Loved it. Laid back, welcoming and Pom, is a sweetheart, as is the entire staff.
This is a short cab ride out of own, but cabs are not expensive and for us, it was good to be away from the city for recovery. The food was excellent. Tonnam provided our family with a hospitable and relaxing holiday. Just what we were looking for.
Great value

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#189 of 381 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa San Pee-Seua
Villa San Pee-Seua
#30 of 736 in Chiang Mai
254 reviews
3.9 mi away
Baitong Homestay
Baitong Homestay
#79 of 825 in Chiang Mai
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
0.8 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#4 of 736 in Chiang Mai
705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chiang Mai House for Dreamer
Chiang Mai House for Dreamer
#89 of 736 in Chiang Mai
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonnam Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonnam Homestay

Property: Tonnam Homestay
Address: 216 Pa Tan Road | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonnam is a traditional Thai house on the Ping River bank. The property includes 6 bungalows around an infinity edge swimming-pool and 4 bedrooms in the teak house. Each accommodation has its own private bathroom with hot water and its balcony with swimming pool and/or river view. At home, we organize Thai cooking classes and massages with professional masseuse. On your arrival, you will always be personally welcomed by the owners themselves: Cecile and Yul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tonnam Homestay Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing