We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Small Chiang Mai
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$460
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$442
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$32
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
67
141
100
35
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
141
100
35
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight bazaarrooftop restaurantold towntiny poolnice decorationair concold showerminute walkgood sizestayed here for nightscomfortable staythapae gatetop floorclean hotelwalking distancelocation is greattuk tuk
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We needed a good value hotel from which to explore Chiang Mai. The Small turned out to be perfect. Within walking distance of both day and night markets and the riverside, The Small turned out to be exactly what we needed. Reception was friendly and the check-in and check-out process very easy. The daily buffet breakfast was simple but served with smiles. Room service needed prompting for replacements, but the response was... prompt. All in all, we were quite satisfied.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svsingam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stopped into the lobby bar to cool off and have a Mojito. There are chairs, an open bar area, and a bartender...3 good things when you want to just relax and have a drink! So we ordered, 3 mojitos and the waitress brought 1 coconut frappe looking thing and 1 mojito. So we told her we ordered 3 mojitos, and she said in a surprised voice "OH!" and ran away only to be chased by a Thai man who HAD ordered the coconut thingy. He got his drink and then we waited...and waited...and finally (about 15 minutes later) got the 2 other mojitos. It was actually good...lots of mint and lime and just the right amount of sweetness...so we ordered another. (Bad idea) as we waited, and waited, and waited...probably 25 minutes this time and they must have run out of ice because this one was kind of watery, less of all the ingredients...and good heavens, how hard is it to make a mojito? I would not want to stay here. If this level of attention to customer service exists in the bar, what happens in the rooms?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights and took advantage of the "stay 3 nights, pay 2" Internet deal, which equated to only paying $20ish per night. For this price we received a huge double room with ensuite, AC, TV, room service, daily cleaning and complimentary drinking water restocked everyday! Along with this price was breakfast, which was amazing! Cereals, bread/toast, waffles, eggs (omelette, fried, scrambled, etc), fruits, salads and traditional Thai breakfasts along with juice, tea and coffee! Certainly more than enough food to get the day started!
Location was amazing, right in the middle of town and less than a 5 minute walk to the Night Bazaar Market, where you can score an amazing dinner for around $1.50!
I would stay here again!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is closed to major attractions of Chiang Mai. Room is ok for the price you pay.

One morning I woke up, the floor was flooded because the airconditioning leaked. The technician fixed the problem fairly quickly, so it wasn't a major issue.

I found some staff need proper training. I don't wanna go in details here, but I was sexsually harassed by one of the gay front desk staffs. Another front desk staff asked me for cigarettes (I don't smoke!) and some money from my country. The staff said to me that he collected foreign money for his son, but I wasn't too sure about that.

So my experience at this hotel was pretty much mixed... Personally, I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coldrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August and for the cost of the rooms it was excellent value for money. The rooms were OK, clean but dated and no where to really put your clothes apart from a few hangers. We had a very small balcony attached to our shower room but it was too dirty to go out there. The pool was small but as advertised and our rooms sat at the side of it. The location of the hotel was brilliant, close to the night Bazaar which is great for shopping and food and a short walk into the old town. Also close to the river ad the places along there. The breakfast great although limited and the staff were all really helpful and friendly. For a budget hotel you couldn't go wrong with The Small.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews