We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Pha-Thai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pha-Thai House
Ranked #72 of 829 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

It's a very nice place to stay and to enjoy Chang Mai. A quite place, with a garden, clean rooms, well located in the center of the old city. Free wifi. People are very helpful, and speak French. It is also very close to a market with a lot of foods, very good and cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arnaudrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

We spent 5 nights in the Pha Thai house hotel and we had an amazing time here. The owner of the hotel speak fluently english and french and the service which is provide by him and his staff is really good. This hotel is really quiet and it also has a central location in the old city.
The room rates are very affordable and it's a very good quality/price service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xabidoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Pha-Thai House is located away from the noise in the old town, has a nice setting, helpful service and clean fully equipped rooms between ThB 600-1200,-
The house is well organised and serves good breakfast in a nice calm and cool garden.
Exploring the old city is easy by walking and if you care for a ride - tutucs are everywhere so are stores and little restaurants both for local and farang food taste buds.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MartinHo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We've been staying in Pha Thai much longer than planned (we got Dengue Fever and had to recover). We really enjoyed it. The rooms are nice and spacy, and the place is absolutely well kept. You can feel it's a family enterprise, The Boss and CHA his niece are always very helpful in giving you advice (in French also).
Only thing we lacked was a decent breakfast .... so we went elsewhere for that (see my reviews)
Pha Thai is well placed, a laundry service and a good Tailor (Mme PINPOM) just opposite, bike rental next door...

Room Tip: Better take a room upstairs. If you are two or a couple and stay a whle, ask for the room 305, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This place is realy nice. Notwithstanding the fact that we arrived in the middle of the night and had to wake up the owner, he was very nice and polite. The service is provided mainly by the owner himself and by his niece, both very friendly, ready to explain the way to any place on the make, give advices and recommendations.

The guesthouse is located in a small but busy steet with several places to eat and enjoy tha massage and spa around.

You can rent a motorbike to visit the city and places around for a reasonable price. Don't forget your helmets (!) 'cause the police is strict there in case you get caught!

The breakfast in the guesthouse is delicious, the food is fresh. The waiters are nice and quick.

And, yes, the yard is really beautiful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trapique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed here with two young children and loved the courtyard - the children could play there, we could spend our evenings there when the kids were sleeping. It's quiet and nice - when there's no karaoke party next door (only happened once during our stay).

Location is good, on the edge of the tourist area, near the Chiang Mai Gate market. Many breakfast places and tour companies nearby. It fit our wishes nicely.

Do book your stay in advance in high season: We were kicked out when we wanted to stay longer than we had originally booked, and somehow they only found out they were full at the last moment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enthousiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Very good location in the South West of the old Town. Busy street where you can find restaurants and things to do.
Very good service, Ae was very helpful, always here to advise us!
The guesthouse is cosy and full of charm.
We had a room with fan at 600bht, worth it a lot. Very quiet and clean. Good bed. The upper room I saw quickly looks amazing if you have a little bit more budget.
I recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#28 of 829 in Chiang Mai
491 reviews
2.8 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#12 of 829 in Chiang Mai
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#54 of 829 in Chiang Mai
340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 829 in Chiang Mai
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 829 in Chiang Mai
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pha-Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pha-Thai House

Address: 48/1 Rachaphakinai Road Prasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £25 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pha-Thai House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pha-Thai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pha-Thai House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing