We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in chaing mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Archer's

Archer's
Ranked #141 of 2,044 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, British, Thai, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An easy going restaurant/bar. Take your time and chill over a coffee, fruit shake, ice cream, baquette or try our delicious Thai or western main courses. We will always give you some good travel advise with no fee's, commission or strings attached. If you want to mingle with the locals then pop in for the busy weekly specials: Our quiz night on Tuesdays, fish & chips Fridays or our roast dinner from midday on Sundays.
Bradford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best food in chaing mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

The food here is excellent as we ate here 4 times during 6day visit. We sampled the coronation chicken baguette which my girlfriend still craves now, we had the English breakfast which was really good, even managed to have hp sauce and last of all we stayed an extra day for the Sunday roast which was out of this world, the roast beef was cooked perfectly and the portion was huge. The staff here are also amazing, they were always so happy and welcoming. They also do a quiz on a Sunday night which is a good laugh. We would defenatly recommend this place to everyone!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    68
    24
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent several hours over several days sitting in Archer's partaking of their good food and atmosphere. Would go back again in a flash. Nice variety, friendly service and good prices. Nice to be able to sit without feeling that one is in the way. Loved the back patio area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladynspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place; great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Easily, hands-down, my favorite watering-hole in Chiang Mai.
The owner Mark is an affable chap with an infectious laugh and -- together with his lovely wife -- they never fail make you feel quite welcome.
Ice cold beers and drinks, at a great value, and excellent food -- both Thai and Western conspire to keep you there for hours -- (not to mention the killer Friday Indian Buffet and surprisingly delicious Sunday Roast).
Good vibe, a classic, revolving song-list and -- lest I forget -- best-of-all... Mary: The dog.
All-time mascot; loved by all.
What more could you want?
Except... a chance on Saturday's to roll the dice and get a nice discount on your drink or, perhaps, if you're lucky (like me) a FREE one!
Great place and a good crowd. Quite look forward to my next time back in Chiang Mai to hang out @ Archer's once again and, hopefully, see everyone again.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
1 review
“Archers should NOT be a secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stopped by quite by chance, to take a phone call and was literally welcomed in from the roadside. It’s a very casual place with an inviting atmosphere, the service is faultless, friendly and well timed. Loved the retro background music and the good mix of patrons around me eating, drinking and chatting; all looked happy and relaxed.
The food menu is one of those where you can’t make a decision since there are so many good items offered for both Western and Thai tastes; but there is always next time. The food was well prepared, well presented and of course “tasty”
As I live in C.M I will be back again to explore the menu further because this place is unpretentious; and makes a nice change from other stuffy restaurants or noisy bars.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GladiatorChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Where have you been all my life?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stumbled across Archers while hunting for a tour operator. It was the Indian buffet board that piqued my interest. Every Friday night apparently. Both me and the wife happened to fancy some Indian cuisine for a change. And it was Friday. It seemed like a marriage made in heaven. We had to wait a little while after the stated starting time, this being Asia(!) but the wait was truly worth it! A constantly changing choice of four dishes (three meat and one vegetarian) together with rice and samosas greets you at the buffet table. In our case it was pilau rice, chicken korma, mutton masala, tandoori chicken, naan and vegetable falafel. The food was absolutely delicious (took us right back to the Indian restaurants from our hometown of Leicester) and the atmosphere was so laid-back, relaxed and friendly. It was hard to believe this was a restaurant and bar and not just a mate's house.
All the staff were incredibly friendly and even the big old lumbering dog put a smile on our faces. My only advice is to get there early because the food is very popular and you may leave hungry if you're late!
It's a pity we're not here to try the Sunday roast but anywhere this friendly and open that offers Indian on a Friday, roast on a Sunday and a cooked breakfast everyday has my vote. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archer's also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Archer's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing