We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Ping Nakara is a heavenly confection of white colonial architecture that seems to be utterly flawless in every way. We were overwhelmed the moment we entered their spacious lobby at how well this 19th century building had been restored with such utter perfection. Only the tiny cracks in the 1890s tile floor gave away the building's age. Adjacent to the reception hall is a cozy bar and a sumptuous library with views of the pool as well as a veranda. The hotel has only 19 rooms. Deluxe rooms have private balconies and overlook the pool. No tiny detail has been overlooked. Even the container of cold drinking water beside the pool fit the elegant period decor flawlessly. What we did not know until we ended our tour was that the hotel was built only two years ago and that the little cracks in the tile floor had been painstakingly painted by hand.

Ping Nakara is centrally located but on a quiet street separated from the river by a small plantation. Unlike hotels along the river, it is not prone to seasonal flooding.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe rooms only. They are huge and overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PickyInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

From start to finish a very nice experience.
Airport transport for Bt650 a bliss in a 1960 Merc.
All of the reception and waitron staff where extremely friendly and helpful!
Rooms are big enough, only problem there is that you can’t watch TV from Bed, as the old style Bed posts cutting the screen in half (very annoying)! Bathroom (with spa bath) very nice but a bit small for 2 people wanting to brush their teeth at the same time. It’s strange to enter a Hotel room through the bathroom, but makes sense when you don’t like to get woken up by early morning Tuk Tuk noise.
There is a “free” mini bar, but unfortunately only stocked with 1 item each (1 coke, 1 beer, one soda and 1 juice) and some small snacks (all with some seafood flavour)
The free WIFI is not the fastest I have seen but good enough to check your mail.
Breakfast was a la carte as not enough rooms where occupied, but service was prompt and the food delicious.
We had on 2 days early dinner (18h00) next to the pool, food was very nice but the mosquitos (one of the biggest I have ever seen) made it an adventure to finish the food.
The pool is nice, clean and warm enough to swim for an hour..
One comment I may add is that we have not seen any management during our 3 days, bigger and busier hotels have the GM greet & meet policy and a small hotel with only 19 rooms should definitely do it too as it would make the stay a lot more personal and memorable. (Especially when you are the only guests!)
Overall a beautiful little hotel but I would not give it 5 stars!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank percapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

When i was locating a hotel for my Chiang Mai holiday, i chanced upon Ping Nakara and absolutely loved it when i saw the visuals. The british architecture, the lovely library, pool and importantly the fabulous rooms.
And they were all exactly the way they looked when i stayed there too. The food at breakfast may be not a wide range but all you wanted was there and the kitchen staff very friendly.

The food was good too and you felt at home. They had a nice antique Mercedes that picks you up from the airport. The best part is that the hotel is well located to go to the night market and other hotspots. The hotel staff are very friendly and were helpful in our finding a great Ziplining trip.
Overall a memorable stay whether you are a couple or a family with kids.

Room Tip: There are mosquitos outside by the pool in the evening at times so get some insect repellant or even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JibyThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel is absolute perfection. Beautiful property both inside and out with outstanding attention to detail and service. The staff are friendly, efficient and extremely helpful, the rooms are pure luxury and the restaurant serves some of the best food I've eaten in Thailand. The location is close enough to walk to the city centre but there are plenty of transport options available on the doorstep. One to treasure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrenapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Ping Nakara is a stunningly beautiful property that keeps you in constant state of awe, no matter how long you stay there. We took many pictures in the hotel itself where elegance, character, and attention to detail are virtually everywhere. Our room was gorgeous and well appointed, although the front door opening to bathroom might take some getting used to. Staff was professional, welcoming and very accommodating. Vijitra, Supreeya, and the young man whose name I didn't get, were all genuinely caring and quite helpful (thank you!). Housekeeping was consistently good and room service was prompt, accurate, and a great value indeed. We had a chance to interact with the restaurant staff who were also quite hospitable.

Location is wonderful, only steps away from the buzzing night market where you can walk around, shop, and eat. We arrived late after a long flight, checked in, then walked to the night market where we had dinner at a restaurant/bar. There was a good live band at the restaurant and a bunch of people grooving to songs played- it was such a great, upbeat start to our Chiang Mai vacation.

We found Chiang Mai to be a very charming city; we were also impressed with the kindness of its people. The city is huge and spread out with so much to see and do, we recommend hiring a private tour guide for a day or two to take you around the area and assist you with day trips- that's what we did, it was affordable and added so much depth to our trip.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong, all rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fasttrackDxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

What a beautiful place to stay! We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay at this jewel of a hotel. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food was very good (try their curry night) and plenty of everything for breakfast. This boutique hotel is very tastefully done and the location is great. Combine the hotel with the excellent travel service (Lanna Boutique Travel) that they offer in the lobby and you will have a near perfect holiday. What made this though, was the attitiude of all the staff. They are simply lovely and helpful. If you are a bit of a car buff, get their Mercedes to pick you up at the airport. Its a good trip back in time. Loved the place and we shall return. We have stayed in many hotels in may countries but this one has to rate up their with the best in ambience, value and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed at the Ping Nakara hotel during Songkran in chiang mai and would highly recommend it for a short stay in chiang mai.We had an amazing time during Songkran in the city our location at ping nakara was perfect, a ten minute walk to the markets and five mins by tuk -tuk to the thae-pae gate and the central city.Also close to many wonderful restaurants, boutique shops and day spa's. Our room was magnificent,the best bed I have ever slept in! the pool area is exceptional and the restaurant was reasonably priced with lovely food .The staff were friendly and most helpful when we needed information,This was our second stay at ping nakara in the last 12 months and we will definetly stay again.This hotel is quite upmarket and is perhaps better for couples rather than families with small children.Definetly perfect for a 3-5 day stay in chiang mai.

Room Tip: all rooms look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trish w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,083 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 393 in Chiang Mai
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#12 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,498 reviews
2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £126 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing