We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the one boutique in chiang mai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the one boutique in chiang mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

if you want to stay in the city, this is the hotel to go. we spent 3 nights here first then moved to four seasons out of town.

high quality service and great food options

all staff members are very friendly and helpful

beautiful building

great spa

Room Tip: chose the rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zhongmin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    128
    43
    12
    1
See reviews for
129
533
61
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Our second stay at Ping Nakara was every bit as good as the one in 2011. This is such a happy arrangement for relaxing in Chiang Mai. The service is excellent without being cloying. We entertained our children and grandchildren around the saline pool which is big enough for exercise. The food is both western and authentic local--stamp of approval from our Thai relatives--and reasonably priced. Don't miss the new Jardin restaurant by the river for afternoon tea or the indulgent spa treatments. The location is perfect for reaching the markets and sights without being in the thick of activity. For the uninitiated, mosquitos come out with the wet season so ask for a mosquito coil as needed.

Room Tip: No noise issues in the wings, wonder if there is daytime street noise in the main section. Everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
It is a tremendous milestone for us all at the Ping Nakara to have received our 400th review on TripAdvisor. We are indebted to all our lovely guests who spare the time from their busy lives to tell us what experience was like and we appreciate your comments (and criticisms, too). We especially want to acknowledge the quality of service provided every day by all of our staff members. Even though we got a lot of compliments about our beautiful colonial design, it is because of the dedication to service from our staff that make the Ping Nakara a special place which gives our guests a memorable experience.
Thank you all once again.
Kind regards,
Chairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, NSW
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Ping Nakara is a beautiful building (reproduction Colonial done very tastefully). Every time we needed any assistance it was easily obtainable, friendly, prompt and efficient. The tour desk operator was excellent and helpful. We dined at the restaurant twice and the food was excellent quality and reasonably priced. The pool is very nice and the service at poolside was great. Breakfast had a large range of foods to choose from as well as a hot option freshly cooked to your choice...all included. It was a real treat to open up the fridge and see a free mini bar - keep in mind that it is stocked with only one beer but the chocolates were the treats. Lots of bottled water supplied and the bed turn-down service a nice touch. Overall, we really enjoyed Ping Nakara and would not hesitate to recommend it. It is a 5 - 10 minute walk to the interesting night market along the same road, it is about a 20 - 30 minute walk to the old city and about the same to the restaurants on the river front. We didn't use the spa services but if the staff at the spa are
as friendly and helpful there as everywhere else, then we expect you'd be happy.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back so there was no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteNLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

From the moment I met the girl who picked me up from airport until arrived to this hotel, warmly , gently greeting from all of staffs We get free upgrade room surprisingly . Breakfast selections sufficient and taste very good, Housekeeping even clean our room 2-3times a day ; security guide are very polite with their smile, receptionist who named Nice he is very patient male staff and always bring his softly smile to any requiements I asked for no matter via phone call or face to face . Definitely all staffs are well trained , enhanced my trip to heaven .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Lovely staff, nice breakfast, quiet & calm hotel. My only negative point would be that it is out of the action a little however there are always tuk tuks outside the door. Rooms & facilities were very clean & staff are very accommodating. Be careful on the stairs & polished floors in the upper floors & front door area when it is raining as they are very slippery.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed there between two business trips and it started with a gorgeous pick-up from the airport: A driver with a white old Mercedes-Benz was waiting for me - the same model that my grand father had driven many decades ago. Now this weekend starts with style I thought. I absolutely loved the hotel. The architecture and design is colonial but do not be fooled - the hotel is only a few years old - meaning that everything functions well and is pristinely clean. It is built around a pool with a small restaurant adjacent in which they also serve breakfast. My beautifully decorated room was located in the second floor and faced the pool. As the hotel faces a not too busy road I would nevertheless recommend to avoid any room that faces the street as Thai motor bikes can be noisy. The hotel staff was very helpful in booking tuk tuks to the old city of Chiang Mai (5 min). I also did a boat tour of 2 h (boat departs 3 min from the hotel - if you go by Rikscha) and booked a trip to a temple in the mountains (30 min by car). I also dined in town but liked the food in the hotel restaurant better. Breakfast is very pleasant - you sit at the pool and they have a very nice offering of the usual suspects (egg varieties, french toast, waffles). Service is fast and friendly. I drove back to the airport in a black old Mercedes... I will come back.

Room Tip: Avoid any of the cheaper rooms facing the road: They are too noisy. Generally go for the second or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This boutique hotel is so good, I have been desperately searching for any small faults so I didn't look completely biased. The food, from breakfast on was just perfect. We were in Thailand for two weeks and started our trip with three nights at Ping Nakara, and we didn't find anywhere that matched the food. This included Nahm in Bangkok, which while still amazing, had attention to detail faults that Ping Nakara just didn't. The emphasis on northern Thai dishes was superb. The rooms may not be massive, but almost perfectly comfortable. The included minibar was great, and the pillows we asked for from the pillow menu were provided straight away. We selected the Chiang Mai discovery package which included two spa treatments and a delicious afternoon tea. As with other reviewers they were both superb. We also altered the deal slightly to include Patara Elephant Farm as the excursion, and this was done efficiently and without question (all via email from Australia). Oh and did I mention the airport transfer in the 50 year old Mercedes, complete with provision of a super cold bottle of water. I could go on and on, so just to mention the only small fault, the noise from the road can be a little loud because of the breezy design of the building, so ask for one of the rooms that are set back from the front (which we had). And one more hint, the in-house laundry service is a really reasonable price, and saves the sweaty smell factor being carried around in your luggage. I would love this hotel to be Chang Mai's number 1, but then it might be booked out when my husband and I go there next time!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms set back from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyN153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing