We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel based on its excellent Tripadvisor reviews and, unfortunately, were sorely disappointed. Ping Nakara simply does not deliver what one would expect of a hotel in Thailand charging more than $300 per night. Partly for this reason, we ended up leaving a night early.

The hotel management will likely respond, as they have to other negative reviews, that we must not have wanted to stay at a historic, small hotel, and would have been better off at a different type of hotel (i.e. that our dissatisfaction is our fault). This could not be further from the truth. It is precisely for its historic charm that we booked the hotel, and were subsequently disappointed. The hotel's design suffers, unfortunately, from a serious lack of attention to detail. It is poorly designed, with the "royal grand deluxe rooms" (which we booked), exposed to noise from two sides: traffic from the back (the door literally opens onto a loud, busy street), pool and garden noise from the front. Similarly, the old-fashioned “colonial ambiance”, as the hotel describes it, is not enhanced by the oppressive fluorescent lighting: rooms only had neon, energy-saving lamps, basking the space in a ghoulish neon glow. Of course, for the first night this was at first a moot point since when we arrived none of the three lamps in the room had a working light bulb.

Service at the hotel is well-meaning but woefully inefficient. On our first night, when we asked the reception staff to call us a taxi, they informed us that this would not be possible, since “all the taxis have gone home for the New Year”. They informed us, however, that their car was available for the rather steep price (compared to local taxis) of 350 baht. When we actually took the car, however, we were informed it would cost twice that, or 650 baht ($20), an outrageous sum for such a short ride in Thailand. To top it all off, the reception staff had not bothered to inform the driver of the destination or the route. Consequently, despite paying 650 baht for a short ride across town, we were tasked with explaining to the driver how to get to our destination on our first evening in Chiang Mai (I want to make absolutely clear that this was the fault of the reception staff, not the driver, who was lovely). Needless to say, when the staff at the Rachamankha, a lovely hotel in the old city where we had an excellent dinner, called for a taxi, it appeared that they had not in fact all gone home for the New Year; ordering a cab was no problem at all.

One final note - the hotel has a serious mosquito problem, both inside and outside. There were so many mosquitoes buzzing around that it was impossible to sit in the library, by the pool or on the terrace without being swarmed by mosquitoes (while wearing mosquito repellent!). Indeed, when we arrived, the door to our terrace was open, meaning that we spent the first night with mosquitoes in our room - and the hotel does not offer mosquito nets. Since the Anantara just down the road does not seem to have the same problem, this must have something to do with the Ping Nakara. In a tropical climate, where mosquitoes can be more than just a nuisance (think Dengue, etc.), this is simply unacceptable for a hotel of this level.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nh1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Truly, we are appreciate every reviews, good or bad, and we always study them carefully and to see in what areas can we improve.

At first, I was afraid to respond to this review, as the reviewer might think that we are offensive. However, we feel that we need to explain to our guest in the areas that they may be misunderstanding. For instance, the issue about transportation during the New Year. Right after our reception was requested for transportation, she immediately called for a taxi. But, she was told by the taxi company that there were no taxis on call as it was the busiest time of the evening and the year. Our reception then asked if our guests would like a tuk tuk, and they refused. At the end, the guests decided to use the hotel classic Mercedes at the standard rate, and our reception and driver knew the destination well.

Please note, our hotel uses "warm white" fluorescent bulbs that are close to sunlight in color, and are part of our effort to be a green hotel and use less electricity. We also use paired lamps at bedside. Our engineer was called to the room when the guests checked in and turned on the master lamp switch for them. No light bulbs needed to be changed during all of December.

Finally, mosquitoes are endemic in Thailand, and all hotels in Chiang Mai share the same problem, with no exception. The mosquitoes are most active at sunrise and sunset; during mid-day and after sunset they are much less noticeable. Even though it is very rare that we have a complaint about the mosquito in the hotel bedroom, we thank you on our guest comment, and are considering providing mosquito net upon guest request.

Again, we are sorry that our hotel fell short of our guest expectations. Rest assured that we always hear and respect all comments, and we will never stop improving our guest experience.

Kind regards,
Chairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    130
    44
    12
    1
See reviews for
131
542
61
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel with our entire family of 9 members for 3 nights. plan and design of this boutique hotel is wonderful and all rooms are very spacious and nicely furnished.Our request for early check in was accepted without any extra charge.the staff was very helpful and complied our every request happily.We strongly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagtap_aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a wonderful time at Ping Nakara in early Jan. The design of the hotel is beautiful. I love the colonial touches and clean white walls with gorgeous incorporation of plants. The flowers in the lobby are breathtaking. Our room was very comfortable, bed included. The staff is also good. One girl was particularly helpful organizing our restaurant bookings and coordinating our days. Joe, the manager, was also great at directing us when planning our shopping excursions. We had a terrific time in Chiang Mai and staying at this hotel certainly added to the wonderful memory. I highly recommend it! Also we had one of the larger rooms which was definitely worth the upgrade!

I do wish we had done more spa treatments. The spa rooms were beautiful and the therapists were very skilled. Definitely take advantage of their treatments when you go!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fig83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful Boutique Hotel, with a very good taste all the decoration, antique, with a very nice touch, the place is amazing for relaxing, every room, the swimming pool, the library for me is "the place".
All the staff are very friendly and kind people, always have a smile for you and help you anything you need.
Mily Mendez

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

A most pleasant stay at the Ping Nakara Hotel. The decor of the hotel is of exquisite luxurious taste placing us in our minds in the early 1900's whilst offering the latest comforts and technology. The staff is pleasant and attentive. As an added bonus just adjacent to the hotel there is an equally beautifully done garden restaurant, Nakara Jardin, offering superb cuisine. Highly recommended to those visiting Chiangmai

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rui43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed for just one night at the end of my two centre Thailand holiday. Located in a lovely spot by the river and only a ten minute walk to the night market area. Highly recomnend.

pros:
friendly staff who go the extra mile and always offer a smile
Lovely rooms and pool area. Great location as you feel removed from the hustle and bustle but close enough to get in to the town as and when needed
free mini bar is a great touch, OK, so I know its not 'free' as you pay for it in the room charge but still, nice that you are not being charged when you check out
The most stunningly prepared and presented Phad Thai I have ever had
a great pool with relaxing ambiance
DVD players in rooms, ideal for those times you just want t chill
lovely turn down service

Cons
Limited breakfast:no pastries, pan au chocolate (only croissants) or fresh bread rolls which I personally love to have with jam etc. Tea not piping hot either
At lunch, lots of noise and high pitched voices coming from out back which spoiled the setting a little as otherwise everything else (food, service etc) was great

Room Tip: My room was a little closer to the road than I would have liked but still got a decent night's s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed for 3 days at the Ping Nakara in a Royal Grande Deluxe King Bed with Jacuzzi. The hotel was a great place to stay for a number of reasons:

1. Ambience of the Hotel: The Ping Nakara offers a great place to stay in Chiang Mai, being outside of the hustle of the main city area but close enough that you can easily access most places on foot (including the old city). The room we stayed in was fantastic with a nice touches (such as the bed) that gave the room a classy and historical feel and made it stand out from the big name hotel chain rooms.
2. Staff: Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful
3. Food selection: We ate breakfast at the hotel and the food quality was great, especially the selection of Thai breakfast sets. We also had dinner at the hotel one night and found the food at dinner to be high quality and decently priced

If you are looking for a place to have a romantic weekend away I would highly recommend spending a few nights at the Ping Nakara.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFuzzWuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing