We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in February. We arranged to be picked up at the airport and the Guest Relations girl, Som who met us took us also on 2 different tours in the next few days. We thought it a nice touch they put us with the same staff member and she was very pleasant with good English skills. The location of the hotel is good - easy walking distance to the Night Market and Warorot (food and flowers mainly) market. However even in winter walking in the afternoon sun is hot and tiring. Our room was large and we had no complaints but the breakfast was even better. As there are only 19 rooms there is a buffet of cereals, cold meats and fruits but you order from a menu for your hot selection. There were very good choices of both Asian and Western foods and we usually ordered one of each for breakfast (there was no limit). The spa was good but a bit dearer than I expected for Thailand.

Room Tip: Only 19 rooms and 2 stories so probably doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolynt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    131
    44
    12
    1
See reviews for
132
552
63
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ashgabat, Turkmenistan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Joseph Keeler and his staff at Ping Nakara do an absolutely amazing job of offering a first-rate service at a very quaint hotel. The staff is friendly; management was fantastically flexible when it came to our bizarre schedule by allowing us to check in a few hours early; the hotel itself is situated in a great neighborhood—about a 20-minute walk to the old city—and on a beautiful property. While on the Ping Nakara grounds, it’s easy to forget you’re in a city—so peaceful.

The pool receives a few hours of sunlight per day and the rooms are superb, very tastefully assembled and very well kept. Our room was always tidied up and teardown service performed—throughout our entire five-day stay—without us ever seeing the housekeeping staff. Breakfast was simple, albeit delicious. You can certainly find less expensive options in Chiang Mai, but good luck finding a nicer place in this price range.

We will return; we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZZAshgabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay at Ping Nakara. We came into Chiang Mai by night train we walked to the hotel from the station, about 30 minutes away.

It was wonderful to walk into a big spacious room to unwind. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom nice and big with very nice toiletries that were much nicer than ones most hotels stock. Our room had a fairly average view of the side street and nearby gardens, but we seldom used the balcony.

Front of house staff are all very friendly and helpful, they arranged for bicycles for a day and organised our taxi ride to the airport (200฿), and the restaurant staff are great. Breakfast was great with a small buffet selection and a menu with both Thai and western dishes (we liked the Northern Thai Set and the waffles, nice mix of both).

We didn't have any problems with mosquitoes either, though the hotel provided repellant.

The hotel is a comfortable distance away from the old city, definitely a walkable distance but it's not too hard to grab a tuk tuk (or a songtuew) during the day. Tuk tuks at about 100฿ either way depending on negotiating skills. If you get a tuk tuk and they aren't sure where the hotel is, you can ask for Wat Yai Chai Mongkol, which is close by.

A great stay, we'd certainly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

This was the second leg of our honeymoon and it did not disappoint. We got picked up from the airport in a vintage Merc and swiftly taken to the hotel. On arrival it is just like the pictures on the website. A stunning colonial hotel with a very relaxed a homely feel. The staff are fab on reception but the staff on the restaurant need to be told to talk quietly when others are dining. The good and drinks options are great and the cheapest we have found in Thailand. Its in a perfect area where it is close the the night bazaars and sights. The pool is a little cold but this is because it only has the sun on it from 11 till 3 but we were not there to spend our days sunbathing on this leg of the trip. You must visit the nakara jardin by the river. The staff don't tell you about this stunning little restaurant but the do a fabulous afternoon tea. Wish this was a chain.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank simplebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a wonderful four night stay in this exceptionally elegant small hotel.

The rooms were amazingly spacious - with great attention to detail… and we loved sitting on the private porch attached to our room, The furnishing and style of the hotel, is done to replicate the style of colonial times…quite elegant. The breakfast was a combination of buffet items, and freshly made up eggs, pancakes, and a host of other choices…it started our day on the right foot.

It is clear that the very friendly management is watching…. not only the big picture, but making sure the little requests are met … we had an issue on which we needed help from someone who knew "Thai ways" - and got expert assistance from the hotel manager JOE… but beyond him, the entire staff was well trained and worked hard to meet our needs…. even switching the FREE soda in our mini-bar for a diet version we prefer.

I decided to treat myself to a massage in the spa… which was a bit on the pricey side for Thailand… but worth every penny. It is a true spa, and a welcome change from getting a massage on the street… We hope to be back in Chiang Mai and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose one with a Balcony facing the POOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeAngelaDrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I spent 7 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The colonial style very much suited our tastes. All areas of the hotel are well cared for and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were of exceptional quality and the lunches and evening meals were of a similar standard. All of the staff were helpful and responsive. The pool is small but because this is more of a "city break" destination was never crowded and we were always able to get a bed. This is the only critisism - the beds are uncomfortable and could do with some cushions! The spa when compared to the local massage parlours was expensive but so worth the extra money. The Nakara Jardin is a must for lunch or afternoon tea, set by the river in a beautiful garden and a real treat for anyone with a sweet tooth. I am happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Best Hotel we visited in Thailand. Most familar, very clean, best Service, very Friendly and helpfull personal, lovely Swimmingpool, big rooms, delightfull breakfast, we recommend this Hotel. We spent 7 days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 381 in Chiang Mai
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing