We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$539
US$454
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$109
US$103
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$231
US$188
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yaang Come Village(Chiang Mai)
US$121
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruen Come In(Chiang Mai)
US$60
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,001)
Filter reviews
1,001 results
Traveller rating
789
149
48
14
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
149
48
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvintage mercedescolonial stylenakara jardinroyal grand deluxelocal snacksnight marketbeautiful hotelcomplimentary mini barreplenished dailysmall hotelsmall buffetour honeymoonturn down servicetuk tukcommon areasold citytour desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 1,001 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great little hotel to stay if you are looking for a quiet hotel without hordes of tourists.

The hotel itself is lovely - the rooms were bright and had high ceilings, and the fittings and bathrooms were all very new. The water pressure was fantastic and it was great to come back to the hotel for a hot shower after a day of sightseeing.

The breakfast by the pool was lovely, there was never more than 2 or 3 other tables and the service was fantastic. I asked the kitchen to cut up a mango for me on my first day, and every day thereafter, the waitress would ask me whether I wanted another mango for breakfast! There was a small buffet of bread, fruits, cold cuts and cereals and you order your mains from their a la carte menu.

Our room was set back away from the main road so we had no issues with the road noise, however, it was opposite the room where the hotel staff keeps their cleaning gear (?) so we could hear the door opening and closing early in the morning, but it wasn't too bad.

I loved the little cafe Nakara Jardin which is located off a side road behind the hotel. It was a great place for morning or afternoon tea located right by the river.

There are very few taxis in Chiang Mai which surprised me, but we found it easy to get the tuk tuk or "red buses" everywhere. The tuk tuk to most places in town cost around 80-120 baht from the hotel. The hotel was walking distance to the night market, however, we found the night market to be very touristy and disappointing.

Unfortunately I did not get to try their spa as I had already made appointments elsewhere. However, next time I will definitely try as the prices were very competitive for a hotel spa and it looked very nice.

The staff were all excellent and it was nice seeing the same faces every day greeting us. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Loved the quaintness of this hotel - great menu, great service. Very good room size - the whole place was always being cleaned so you will never find dust anywhere. In fact it would be one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at. Restaurant was lovely, nice menu & staff. Breakfast buffet had plenty of variety but there was one thing, and only one thing I can fault with this hotel and I don't know if there is anything they can do about it but ......mossies!!! Being by the river I guess it goes hand in hand but there were lots of mosquitoes which put a bit of a dampener on the evening meal in the restaurant when we had to bring our own spray to kill the mossies. The hotel does provide spray on personal mossie repellent but that doesn't kill the little suckers!
God location - easy walking distance to the night markets.
Would easily recommend staying here again.

Room Tip: Take mossie killer spray
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

They did a very good job by keeping a part of the colonial style in Chiang Mai and you can really
feel it:nice rooms,spacious with a nice mix of wood,high ceilings,nice swimming pool;the service was excellent and the staff very friendly;location is very good too,walking distance from restaurants and main attractions.The spa is a nice place to relax and very efficient staff.
The only thing is about noises in the rooms mostly from the water pipes,so if you can ask for a upper room it will be better.

Room Tip: upper level rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurent503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a really good hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are large and spacious and the breakfast is good (standard cereal, fruit, bread and cooked foods). It's about a 5 / 10 min walk to the night market and then a further 10 mins from there into the old town. Taxis can be tricky to get (you can't flag them down in the street), so we walked into town most evenings, but one night after waiting a while for a taxi the hotel gave us a lift in their vintage Merc, which was really nice! You can also borrow DVDs from reception and watch them in the room.

The ONLY downside for this hotel is they don't get much sun on the pool area. We visited in Feb 2014, and the sun shone on the pool between about 11am and 2:30pm max, when it went behind the building. This is a shame if, like us, you like to go out in the mornings and come back in the afternoon to lay around the pool and relax. We had to adjust plans, which wasn't a huge issue, but not as planned.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for giving us high marks for your experience staying with us. We will convey your comments to our staff as well. On a lighter note, we can't do much about the pool location for full sun. However, as now, the season change to be mid-summer, the sun has risen in the sky and the pool area is now fully in the sun most of the day.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was our second time staying at the Ping Nakara and it still managed to surpass expectations. We bought our 4 year old daughter on this occasion and she absolutely love it. The staff were wonderful to here and she couldn't have enjoyed her first visit to Thailand more. We had a great room again, this time with a hot tub and thought it great value for money. The facilities were spot on and the food was particularly impressive. What we loved most though was that it felt as relaxed and comfortable as being in your own home, just sunnier! The whole staffing team have managed to strike just the right balance between always being there when you need them but not making you feel like they are watching over your or making you feel uncomfortable. It is these subtle differences that make the best hotels and the Ping Nakara is definitely up there with the best that we have stayed at..

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe, the hot tub is worth it!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamSherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a short note to thank you once again for staying with us. It is very rewarding to us when the whole family of our guest really enjoys the experience of Ping Nakara.
We hope you will return in the future!
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews