We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yaang Come Village(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
C H Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,001)
Filter reviews
1,001 results
Traveller rating
789
149
48
14
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
149
48
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvintage mercedescolonial stylenakara jardinroyal grand deluxelocal snacksnight marketbeautiful hotelcomplimentary mini barreplenished dailysmall hotelsmall buffetour honeymoonturn down servicetuk tukcommon areasold citytour desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 1,001 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We've stayed 3 nights in Ping Nakara and it was exceptional from the very first second. The hotel is so well designed, with attention to every little detail. I like beautiful objects and architecture, and they have managed to exceed my expectations. We had a top floor room with a small balcony overlooking the right side of the pool with a view on luxuriant vegetation. The rooms are very well decorated and comfortable, I felt at home for the entire duration of the stay.

We also went for a 2-hour massage and it was a delightful experience. The staff is well trained and it was one of the best massages I have ever had.

I would definitely go back to this hotel every time I have the chance traveling to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoastedCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was my second stay and I intend to make it an annual event. Both the rooms and the common areas – especially the library – offer the feeling of sanctuary that many repeat guests come here for. I often find myself spending the entire day at the hotel; sometimes I don’t even want to leave for dinner.
With only 19 rooms, guests never have to worry about a mega bus unloading an endless stream of pushy tourists clamoring for their welcome drink. Unlike many old world retreats in developing countries, one can enjoy the quiet, colonial type setting of Ping Nakara with the relief of knowing that neither the hotel nor Thailand actually had a colonial past.
The rooms smack of warmth and tradition. The comfort level of the beds and pillows is first rate. The service is wonderful and has all the five-star touches: continuous replenishment of water, soft drinks, snack items and towels. Unless travelling with a family, I didn’t see a need to pony up for the larger rooms as their only real addition is a Jacuzzi – something I find a bit overindulgent in a poor country that is so often drought stricken. Also, these rooms are closer to the road. Given the design of the hotel, the smaller abodes are actually more insulated from the street than their big brothers. Most of these also have terraces, many of which afford very nice vistas while giving the guests a bit more privacy than the pool-abutting verandas of the larger rooms.
My only reservation is that Ping doesn’t have a fitness center. Given the limited real estate, any such facility would have to be small. But, since the nearest health club is quite far, even a small exercise room with some aerobic machines and free weights would be a welcome addition.
While not their main clientele, Ping Nakara is gay friendly. The Shan colleague that sometimes accompanies me is treated with the same dignity and respect as other guests.
There are not many places left in the world like this; experience it while you can.
James McLoughlin, New York City

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shamus-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This spotlessly white hotel has 19 rooms which means it's personal, discreet and cozy, none of this buffet breakfast with 100 other people sort of thing. It's located just round the corner from the southern end of the night market, perfect to walk to for a bite at night. It's next to the river, and although you can't see it from the hotel, just pop across to Nakara Jardin to enjoy an afternoon tea with a river view. The rooms are comfortable, the beds are sleep-inducing to the most die-hard insomniac, and there's even a pillow menu to choose from. The pool is clean, no smell of chlorine at all, and provides a very calm and relaxing view when having breakfast in the morning. The breakfast has a selection of cereal, yoghurt, juices, healthy grain bread, cold cuts and smoked salmon, super fresh salad with healthy dressings, all laid out beautifully at your disposal, and when you think you can't eat anymore, there's a menu of entrees to choose from - eggs any way with an array of sides, pancakes/waffles etc, and from the Asian section there is Chiang Mai sausage, grilled pork, congee, and noodles etc. The staff are friendly and helpful, making reservations and checking up information for us endlessly. The spa is simply put, heavenly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are elated that you had such a happy experience at our hotel. We strive to make every guest’s experience a very positive one. Our GM has told the staff about your review, they were very happy and proud to have done a good job for you. We hope you will return to elegance some day and meanwhile wish you happy and safe travels.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Ping Nakara at the end of April for 4 days. This hotel is just as beautiful as its pictures. Our room was wonderful, nice and cool in a very hot location. The bed, the bedding...all was just super! The pool and center courtyard was a nice quiet location where you would never guess you were downtown such a busy city.
The spa was great. We all used the services at the Spa. The breakfast every morning was delicious. We ate dinner there a number of times because after being tourists all day we didn't want to go anywhere else. The staff was friendly and thoughtful. Was a great experience. The worst part of being at the Ping Nakara was that when we left for Krabi for 6 days we wished there was a "Ping" was there for us too! This was an ideal hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJW0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It's totally a "relaxing and peaceful" petite hotel in Chiang Mai.. The small in scale is absolutely the advantage if you wish to have a quiet and slow escape. Though it's not the traditional five star hotel, they still had all you need, from pillow selection to the varieties at breakfast, or helping you out with very personalized request....Room is also spacious and clean. A important part to choose a hotel in Thai is about the mosquito control. Ping paid good attention in room and outdoor areas. (in a natural way as they plant very high lemongrass) . The attitude of the staff together with the atmosphere provides you the best feeling of Chiang Mai (while you can still be busy in the old town area). Spa is also fantastic as they have treatment of Thai and also India with very gentle care from the therapist. Recommend to those who need a true escape from busy city life

Room Tip: Though it's has only 2 floors, ask for the 3rd floor facing the non main road will be better
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mung M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews