We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and we loved it.

The room was huge, clean, quiet, with a massive bathroom and balcony. Mini bar refilled everyday with snacks and drinks.

Semi buffet breakfast was great, lots of options on the menu including European and Thai style. Coffee was nice too.

Reception staff were very helpful. We forgot the pin of our security box and they came up to our room around midnight and helped unlock it.

The only thing was the WIFI reception was a bit poor and unstable in the room.

There are not many shops within 5 mins walking distance, so get what you need before traveling back to the hotel.

Overall great, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Beautiful British Colonial style hotel. You are treated like royalty the entire time. Great breakfast by the pool. Complimentary mini bar and snacks, luxury spa bath products. Room is sumptuous. Charming and romantic. Staff was so very friendly and anxious to please

Room Tip: Courtyard view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wake15272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you enjoy small ,boutique hotels then the Ping Nakara is the perfect place to stay.The staff are very friendly and taught me several phrases in Thai.The gardens and pool area are beautiful , as is the presentation of the entire hotel. Little touches such as the flowers on your pillow with beautiful messages on them , really made you feel very special.Location wise , you are ideally situated for the river and Night cruises and Tuk Tuks are readily available to take you to the Old Town etc.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights, and everything about the stay was perfect. The staff were wonderful and helpful from front desk, security, house keeping and the restaurant. The pool was lovely, breakfasts were fresh and delicious. Nothing about this place can be faulted. We were in the rooms to the back of the hotel on the top floor. The size and intimate setting of this hotel gives it all its charm. This is my second visit and it definately wont be my last.

Room Tip: I loved my room to the back of the hotel, i had a small private balcony that overlooked the street b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leanneaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed for 4 nights in July. After reading some of the reviews I was a bit concerned about the street noise and asked for a quiet room. I got a fairly quiet room where one could still hear the road a bit, but that was no problem at all and actually increased the special charm of the hotel. For me the noise can belong to a place like a landmark. Or can you imagine a small Italian town without people talking loudly in the street or without any motorcycle noise? People who want a sound-proof room of business hotels should probably stay elsewhere. But if you are looking for a special experience, then this may be for you.

I really enjoyed this hotel. The decor, starting with the carpets in the room, the big bath tub, the bed, the fabrics and textiles, made me feel being truly on holiday. My room also had a nice balcony which was perfect to sit outside or step outside a bit during the rain. The turn-down service was thoughtful and really made a difference (in most hotels I don't care about that).

The breakfast was excellent and features some of the typical dishes of Northern Thailand. There was also plenty of fruit and a range of western options. I also had dinner using the room service, and the food was probably the best that I had during my stay in Chiang Mai. I also had a non-alcoholic cocktail in the beautiful library of this hotel that was very good.

The location is near the big markets towards the east of the Center, where most of the bigger hotels are. The staff was very friendly, gave very useful advice and the service was completely reliable.

The only criticism I have is when you book a room through the website, it's not actually a final booking. The hotel staff will double check availability first and only then confirm the booking. For people who book in the last minute that may be a problem. In my case, however, the reservation was confirmed within 2-3 hours.

I recommend this hotel to couples or families that look for a hotel with a special atmosphere in a smaller hotel.

Room Tip: If you require a quiet room, say so when making the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anglosuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Serene, secluded, and intimate.
My wife and I loved our stay at Ping Nakara. We loved our room as well as the overall decor in the hotel. Every section of this hotel is picture worthy.

The hotel is minutes from the Night Market. Do beware of stray dogs at night though. They're harmless but don't take chances with them.

We wouldn't want to stay in any other hotel if we come back to Chiang Mai again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SteveKhuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We enjoyed our peaceful, relaxing stay for 2 nights. It is a beautiful, elegant and charming property complete with staff that were very polite and helpful. Everything in the centre of Chiang Mai was a tuk tuk ride away but it was far enough from the centre to enjoy the peace and quiet.
The thai food we had was good, there was a good choice for breakfast from the usual 'continental' offerings to the a la carte cooked options including waffles, French toast and Asian soups and noodles.
Excellent massages in the spa left me in a daze for a good while afterwards.
Only one problem which was a little bit of maintenance work done on the next room to us in the afternoon which didn't stop until 6pm - I guess there is no convenient time for a hotel to do this though.
All in all a very relaxing and delightful stay. Thank you Ping Nakara!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoJoRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for a most gracious review of our hotel. We truly appreciate all your comments. We are also glad that you brought up the subject of noise in the hotel as this was a recurring topic on several occasions. It must be said that Chiang Mai streets are a bit noisy during rush hours, and our hotel has been working hard to reduce ambient road noise. We have a project to replace all room doors with a specially constructed single door rather than the two doors as we have now. The door we made has two panels of solid teak with a layer of hi-tech sound absorbent material between. The door is fitted closely to the door jamb (the construction you heard) and additional rubber surrounds the door when it is closed. Tests we have conducted show a significant reduction in outside noise coming in the room. We believe this will greatly add to our guests’ nighttime comfort.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 393 in Chiang Mai
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#12 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,499 reviews
2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £126 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing