We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at the Ping Nakara!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Ping Nakara!”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This was my third visit to the delightful Ping Nakara, and from the moment of arrival when Khun Boonarpa, Front Desk, greeted me by name and I was met by the owner, Khun Chairat, my three days passed all too quickly.

On an earlier visit I had asked for a fan so that I could turn the airconditioner off. This time there was a fan in my room. The staff had also noticed that on an earlier visit I had moved the desk lamp to a bedside table to give better light for reading in bed. There was an additional desk lamp placed on my bedside table.

Little things - remembering a name, remembering a request - all add great value to an exceptional hotel. In architectural style it is like the wonderful E&O hotel in Penang or the old Raffles in Singapore. In service it is the equal of the Four Seasons in Bangkok or Chiang Mai.

I am so impressed by this hotel and its staff that I really have to think hard when completing the guest satisfaction form ... and on my this visit reported that the alarm clock was ten minutes fast ... and that was just about all I could fault .... but perhaps it was my watch which was ten minutes slow ...

Hallomega

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallomega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    130
    44
    12
    1
See reviews for
131
542
61
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I just returned from Thailand and stayed at Ping Nakara for 3 days/2 nights. I have to admit that while I use tripadvisor religiously, I am not usually one to write a review because I'm lazy but after visiting Ping Nakara, I told myself I definitely would. With all my travels, I have never stayed at such a place that was so friendly and kind. Being that this is a boutique hotel (i believe there were only 19 rooms or so), the staff is attentive, friendly, kind, and warm. The front desk assisted us with any problems or questions we had. We were always greeted with smiles, whether it was from the doorman, the bartender, the waiters during breakfast, or the front desk. When we asked about mosquitoes in the area, the bartender got us bug spray at no cost. We had planned trips while we were in Chiang Mai and apparently, they contacted our hotel to make sure we were still going and because we were out during the call, Ping Nakara so graciously wrote us letters on letterheads to let us know our trips were being confirmed - so professional! When it was raining out, the front desk let us use the umbrellas they had out in the front.

The hotel: The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The outside AND inside was built with intricate designs and decorated with a lot of thought. The pool was located in the center of the hotel. Though I didn't swim in it, my boyfriend did and he said that the water was not made for younger children as the water was somewhat deep. The room was lavishly decorated and had the nicest amenities. The bathroom had a tub to soak in and a shower that had the option of a rainshower or a shower head to use. They always included 4 bottles of water (2 during the day and 2 at night) and when the guys would come in to do the turndown service, they always took their shoes off by the door. The bed was very comfortable and plush. The hotel offers a pillow service but the ones in the room were so comfortable, we didn't need to pick different pillow they had offered (memory foam, hypoallergenic, etc.) The hotel had 2 computers, complimentary to guests. Each time we used it, the bartender would offer a cold, wonderfully smelling towel and some fried taro and rice-crispy like snack while we were surfing.

The location: Since my boyfriend and I are walkers, we walked to the Old City which was about a good 20-30 minute walk. The night bazaar is even closer, maybe a 15 walk. If this seems to far for you, tuk tuks are right by the corner and it was really cheap. 40 bahts from the night bazaar (which is about $1.20) and 60 bahts from the Old City.

Breakfast: We sat right by the pool every morning. The view was gorgeous. Breakfast was okay. Selection wasn't the best but it was your average. Aside from choosing either eggs or congee, there was a small selection of breads, rolls, fruit, cereal, etc. I've had better breakfasts but the atmosphere and the kindness of the waiters made the experience better. The waiter that served us each morning was always smiling and making sure we were happy.

I had debated over staying at the Chedi (which is right down the block) but I am so glad I didn't. I loved Ping Nakara and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. For a little over $100 a day, this place is a steal. As soon as this place becomes more popular, the prices will surely go up so go while you can.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joanna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
Dear Joanna,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough and great review! Our team was so glad to receive a wonderful compliment from you about our services.

I always read every comment in TripAdvisor and used them to improve our services. Your comment make us look into our breakfast serving and we will be happy to add varieties of food together with seasonal tropical fruits to make sure that our guests will be more delighted. Our pool is 1.50 meters (5 ft.) deep which can be good for both adults and children. However, children should be under the supervision of the parents. The complimentary water in the room is Thailand’s well-known mineral water brand which came from the Mae Rim Mountain 20 km north of Chiang Mai city. We put 4 bottles in each room which guests can always ask for more without any additional cost.

I really love your thorough review which mentioned not only about our hotel but also the city itself. This will be good source of information for other visitors who may want to visit Chiang Mai. I would like to add a bit of info about our location. Ping Nakara is situated on a quiet road but in the center of town. It is within the walking distance to all the actions such as Night Market (open from 18:00-24:00 hrs. daily) and selection of Thai, Chinese and International restaurants. Every Sunday, there is a walking street in the old town area which is about 20-30 minutes walk as you had mentioned. If going by taxi, it takes only 5 minutes ride which our staff will be happy to arrange the transportation for the guests.

It was a pleasure to host your stay at Ping Nakara, and we hope you'll be able to join us again in the future.

Warm regards,
Chairat Usavangkul
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

A real gem ! great attention to detail a home from home we stayed 4 nights and had 2 rooms both were excellent.My 2 children aged 14 and 15 loved the place for its calm and relaxing pool space

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravellerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

A truly hidden gem in the center of Chiang Mai, Ping Nakara offered us one of the best hotel experiences ever. Wonderful colonial architecture, first class spa and a truly outstanding service - the whole team was there to ensure that our needs were met and then do more. While in the city we visited all major 5 star hotels - Ping Nakara wins hands down!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evangelos18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

The Ping Nakara has a classic elegant feel with spacious rooms, high ceilings, and excellent furnishings. The hotel is centrally located with easy and quick access to many restaurants and the popular night market. The staffs are very friendly, attentive and very helpful. This hotel has character and ambiance that few can match. It is a great place to stay. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we would highly recommend this hotel to everyone who is going to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cgrogertn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I can't say enough good things about this wonderful hotel!! The building is so beautiful, the rooms are very nice, and the service feels like you are staying at the Four Seasons. The staff really are so attentive and we actually got teary when we left. And we were very impressed with the very reasonable prices for both the hotel stay and their delicious on site restaurant. We also used their laundry services and this was the first hotel in Thailand that the laundry prices were not over exaggerated. This was an absolutely gem of a hotel. A big thanks to all the staff, including the general manager, Krisda for all of your warm hospitality and kindness throughout our 5 night stay.

-Emily & Yolanda

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LasMuchachas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The Ping Nakara is a wonderful new 20-room colonial-style boutique hotel close to the city center of Chiang Mai and the Mae Ping river. The rooms offer a lot of space and a very tasteful decor, perfectly combining old and new. Most remarkable is the minute attention to detail that is apparent throughout your stay.
All members of staff are truly excelling in providing friendly and efficient service. Food at the restaurant is remarkable, and the adjacent swimming pool guarantees a perfect lazy late afternoon in northern Thailand's heat.
The hotel's spa is offering ayurveda treatments that come with a higher price tag than at other Chiang Mai day spas, but quality and service are outstanding.
The only minor drawback during my stay was a slightly higher level of traffic noise due to the location on a sometimes busier street and the sounds from adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,283 reviews
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing