We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Anantara.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$387
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$357
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveller rating
797
149
48
14
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
149
48
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvintage mercedescolonial stylenakara jardinroyal grand deluxelocal snacksnight marketbeautiful hotelcomplimentary mini barreplenished dailysmall hotelsmall buffetturn down serviceour honeymoontuk tukcommon areasold citytour desk
Filter
Updating list...
808 - 813 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2011

The Ping Nakara is a fabulous hotel. The rooms were stunning as were the common areas. The staff was gracious and super helpful. I lost my passport on the flight and they took the time to call the airlines, FIND my passport and arrange for soemone to pick it up at the airport. I highly recommend the hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelswithmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Of the many hotels we have stayed around the world this is our favorite: Excellent rooms designed with a love for Thai traditional architecture and an understanding of the needs of travelers, excellent food at the well serviced restaurant, and the people, from the maid to the reception friendly, helpful, discrete, resourceful. It is a family hotel that makes you feel part of a family. - The Spa is perhaps the best in Thailand. - Our suggestion to skeptics: When you are in Chiang Mai and have half a day to spend go to the hotel for tea or lunch or dinner, have a look at the rooms and see for yourself ... then have a spa treatment and compare it with your experiences ...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I was extremely pleased with almost everything that the Ping Nakara could offer, but it was just let down by some tiny things. A bar that cannot offer a slice of lemon or lime with a gin and tonic is not a bar that I would go to again. The offered explanation was that they had run out. Well, there are enough shops nearby for someone to run out to to buy one, but that simple piece of logic seemed to escape the imagination of the staff.

After 8 hours of travelling to get to Chiang Mai, all I wanted to do was to get into the room, shower and snooze. But the hotel's policy is to sit you down with a glass of green tea and a cold towel in a separate room and ask you to fill in some forms before they will show you upstairs. That is irritating and unnecessary. Most other hotels in the world, take a swipe of your credit card, issue you the key and off you go. So why is it different here? Some thought needs to go into this part of the hotel 'experience'.

OK, the toilet was blocked. Twice. But these things happen. The hand-held shower was broken; a repair was promised but never took place. And the knob which releases the bath plug was bust. All three indicate a sloppy attitude to maintenance which, in the long-run, will cause this still new hotel to become run down and shoddy.

Bathroom amenity kit did not extend to a toothbrush and paste.

The front-desk staff were exceptionally good, helpful and attentive.

But the turn-down staff in the evening were not sharp-eyed enough to see the dirty cup and saucer in front of them, and they had to be nudged into replacing the coffee creamer powder. Incidentally, coffee creamer powder is horrible when used in tea.

And while writing about tea, what on earth is going on in the breakfast staff's brain when they fill a teapot with luke-warm water? And then serve it with a jug of boiled milk! Tea should be hot and milk should be cold. And a knife and fork is needed to eat breakfast - they should be on the table, and not have to be requested. A bit of staff training is required here.

If all these little things were sorted out (and it comes down to getting the staff to think about what they are doing) then the hotel will deserve its high position in the charts. At the moment, for me, it is 5-star design, ambience and comfort with 3- and 4-star service.

The spa, by the way is good, professional and decent. The masseurs are great! It is a little bit over-priced.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2011

Dear Stephencohen:

Thank you very much for your thorough comments about our hotel. We do appreciate your review because it helps us improve so much.

As to your specific comments, I can offer these as our response:

Regarding no lime for Gin and Tonic, I think there must have been a miscommunication with our staff because we always have a large supply of limes on hand.

For improving on maintenance, we are addressing this issue in all of our rooms now and have already repaired the faults in your room. Thank you for bringing these to our attention.

We really appreciate your comments about hot milk which was served with tea. We have immediately changed our system to provide cold milk with tea and regular coffee while still serving hot milk for latte and cappuccino. We have always made fresh milk available for the room upon request, but perhaps we need to improve the signage in that regard. Similarly, we have toothbrush, toothpaste and more amenities available upon request at the front desk.

I hope you can see that our goal is to become a recognized five star hotel in all areas of the hotel. Your comments will help us in that regard, we are grateful and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

For my wife and I, staying at this boutique hotel was a zen-like experience. We took advantage of the "Spa Indulgence" package and enjoyed every minute and amenity. After 3 hours of treatments, we floated back to our room to get ready for the complimentary dinner. The incredible staff was ever-helpful and available, but also respectful of one's privacy. Before it was converted into my favorite hotel in Northern Thailand, visiting VIPs were hosted here while they visited the local royals. That's the kind of experience you'll have here - VIP treatment all the way.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YesWeDid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We ( brother,sister with mother ) stayed here just before Christmas for 4 days. Even after reading all these reviews I could not have imagined how beautiful, serene and wonderful this place turned out to be. The place itself is an architectural gem, the attention to detail is unbelievable. All of the staff, without exception, were very friendly, polite and helpful. The room and beds were very comfortable, the view from our third floor room, overlooking the back and the swimming pool was excellent. The only times we ate at the hotel was at breakfast, and it was quite good. Very consistent and good WiFi was available throughout (no additional charges). The only slightly odd thing was that the entrance to the room was through the bathroom, but that didn't really bother us too much.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinay_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Dear Vinay_SC,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad that you love our architecture and our services.

At the first stage of the hotel design, we were concerned that our guest might feel strange that the bathroom area was in the front of the room, in some room types. However, after extensive discussions with the architects about the floor plan, we decided that it seems like that the pros of doing this had more weight than the cons. This can be explained as follows:

1. The area is beneficial as a noise barrier.
2. For differentiation and a more spacious area than conventional floor plan, as guests would have a larger foyer together with the welcoming fresh orchid display on the forefront.
3. It is also eco-friendly by making the bathroom be a barrier from the heat because this type of room is facing west. As you may have noticed, our hotel is trying to do whatever we can to save our environment. As examples, we use solar panel cells to make the hot water for daily consumption, and we are using as many energy saving light bulbs as possible.

We are glad that you mentioned this issue and it will help us explain to our future guests why some of our rooms were built this way. Thank you once again for your review, my staff and I really appreciate it.

Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews