We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - you should too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
SG
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved it - you should too!”
Reviewed 12 January 2011

LOCATION & ENVIRONMENT - Just minutes from posh Chedi and Night Market. Hotel looks pristine in all-white especially since just about 1 year old. If you're familiar with Singapore, think of this hotel as a blend of Raffles Hotel and Intercontinental. Beautiful spa rooms and, welcome lobby and one of the rare ones with a library!

ROOM - Stayed in Grand Deluxe. Gorgeous in terms of size, layout and decor. Perfect if with in-room jacuzzi! 5-star sleep quality and wide range of pillows - first time I used body pillow for side sleepers

SERVICE - Young, polite staff. They usher you to rest at plush lobby and give wet towels and cool drinks while preparing your check-in. Room attendant very detailed - even initiated bring us new pair of slippers as she noticed a tiny stain on one. Impressive. Obliging front desk - offered directions and helped with local calls. Service was quite slow during breakfast though. We had to wait a long time for our ala carte sets.

BREAKFAST - The weakest link was here. Limited variety so you'll definitely get bored after 2 days.

Overall the best stay we enjoyed out of the 4 hotels we tried during our trip!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orbidtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    137
    44
    13
    1
See reviews for
137
562
65
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

a great old school syle and setting in one of the newer boutique hotels in chiang mai. the rooms were incredibly elegant with gorgeous furniture which was evident throught the hotel. some of the service was hit and miss which we put down to teething problems but it did not dent the overall calm and relaxed atmosphere of this hotel despite its excellent close proximity to chiang mai's centre.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wright722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

A boutique hotel, externally mirrors an early 19th century colonial building whilst only built a year ago it internally provides 21st century fittings and fixtures. At the end of the busy day, you will be glad to retreat to this hotel. Security seem reasonable. Rates are very reasonable by Western standards and market competitive in Chiang Mai. One could not complain about value for money.

The owner of the hotel is around and was even accessible during our stay. If we go back to Chiang Mai, we will probably stay again in Ping Nakara.

Location
The hotel is just 15 mins. away from the Chiang Mai International Airport. Easily accessible by public transportation (tuc-tuc, red cab and taxi). It is just 10-15 mins. away from some of the famous pubs and restaurants located near the Ping river and just 10 mins. walking distance to some good local restaurants, night market and popular Deluxe hotels.

Room
The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. Very Thai and will not disappoint. Unfortunately, the hotel is immediately adjacent to a fairly busy road that can provide some irritation. But nevertheless, the hotel provides facilities and an ambience that would score 5-stars in many parts of the world.

Some rooms with whirlpool bath and balcony.

Complimentary bottled water and fruit bowl replenished daily. Coffee and tea making facilities available.

Facilities
No gym but it has a lovely pool and an adjacent spa with a wide variety of spa menu.
WiFi free and available in the entire hotel. 2 computers are available for in-house guests with free internet access. Printing and scanning services available at the service centre if required.
Local Tours can be easily arranged at the hotel tour desk.

Airport Tranfers
A unique experience in a 1967 Merc with a very pedestrian chauffer in pith helmet and uniform is something not to be missed.

Staff
The staffs are dedicated and helpful and very much part of providing a relaxed atmosphere.

Restaurant
It has one restaurant and a reasonable wine and bar stocks sensibly priced. Great breakfast but not a lot of atmosphere for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onbarefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We loved Ping Nakara. We were graciously greeted by friendly staff who were attentive to every need and made us feel special as guests, and it was all uphill from there. The web site does not do justice to the beauty of this very attractive establishment. The public and private spaces are stylish, from the elegant study, to the lovely blue tiled infinity pool, to the finely decorated guest rooms with high ceilings, comfortable beds, and balconies overlooking the attractive interior courtyard.

The hotel was nicely decorated for the holidays and our stay was graced by the poolside serenade of tasteful live music one evening. The included breakfast was cooked to order and quite tasty. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the impressive night market of Chiang Mai, and about a 15 minute walk to the old town center. Although this boutique hotel does not have the wide range of amenities to qualify for five star status it certainly matches the elegance of hotels we have visited at costing for twice the price of Ping Nakara.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yardley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

The Ping Nakara is a fabulous hotel. The rooms were stunning as were the common areas. The staff was gracious and super helpful. I lost my passport on the flight and they took the time to call the airlines, FIND my passport and arrange for soemone to pick it up at the airport. I highly recommend the hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelswithmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Of the many hotels we have stayed around the world this is our favorite: Excellent rooms designed with a love for Thai traditional architecture and an understanding of the needs of travelers, excellent food at the well serviced restaurant, and the people, from the maid to the reception friendly, helpful, discrete, resourceful. It is a family hotel that makes you feel part of a family. - The Spa is perhaps the best in Thailand. - Our suggestion to skeptics: When you are in Chiang Mai and have half a day to spend go to the hotel for tea or lunch or dinner, have a look at the rooms and see for yourself ... then have a spa treatment and compare it with your experiences ...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I was extremely pleased with almost everything that the Ping Nakara could offer, but it was just let down by some tiny things. A bar that cannot offer a slice of lemon or lime with a gin and tonic is not a bar that I would go to again. The offered explanation was that they had run out. Well, there are enough shops nearby for someone to run out to to buy one, but that simple piece of logic seemed to escape the imagination of the staff.

After 8 hours of travelling to get to Chiang Mai, all I wanted to do was to get into the room, shower and snooze. But the hotel's policy is to sit you down with a glass of green tea and a cold towel in a separate room and ask you to fill in some forms before they will show you upstairs. That is irritating and unnecessary. Most other hotels in the world, take a swipe of your credit card, issue you the key and off you go. So why is it different here? Some thought needs to go into this part of the hotel 'experience'.

OK, the toilet was blocked. Twice. But these things happen. The hand-held shower was broken; a repair was promised but never took place. And the knob which releases the bath plug was bust. All three indicate a sloppy attitude to maintenance which, in the long-run, will cause this still new hotel to become run down and shoddy.

Bathroom amenity kit did not extend to a toothbrush and paste.

The front-desk staff were exceptionally good, helpful and attentive.

But the turn-down staff in the evening were not sharp-eyed enough to see the dirty cup and saucer in front of them, and they had to be nudged into replacing the coffee creamer powder. Incidentally, coffee creamer powder is horrible when used in tea.

And while writing about tea, what on earth is going on in the breakfast staff's brain when they fill a teapot with luke-warm water? And then serve it with a jug of boiled milk! Tea should be hot and milk should be cold. And a knife and fork is needed to eat breakfast - they should be on the table, and not have to be requested. A bit of staff training is required here.

If all these little things were sorted out (and it comes down to getting the staff to think about what they are doing) then the hotel will deserve its high position in the charts. At the moment, for me, it is 5-star design, ambience and comfort with 3- and 4-star service.

The spa, by the way is good, professional and decent. The masseurs are great! It is a little bit over-priced.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephencohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Dear Stephencohen:

Thank you very much for your thorough comments about our hotel. We do appreciate your review because it helps us improve so much.

As to your specific comments, I can offer these as our response:

Regarding no lime for Gin and Tonic, I think there must have been a miscommunication with our staff because we always have a large supply of limes on hand.

For improving on maintenance, we are addressing this issue in all of our rooms now and have already repaired the faults in your room. Thank you for bringing these to our attention.

We really appreciate your comments about hot milk which was served with tea. We have immediately changed our system to provide cold milk with tea and regular coffee while still serving hot milk for latte and cappuccino. We have always made fresh milk available for the room upon request, but perhaps we need to improve the signage in that regard. Similarly, we have toothbrush, toothpaste and more amenities available upon request at the front desk.

I hope you can see that our goal is to become a recognized five star hotel in all areas of the hotel. Your comments will help us in that regard, we are grateful and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Chairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,404 reviews
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing