We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REALLY great boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at the Ping Nakara for 5 nights in September 2010, and really loved it. The decor is beautiful, it's very clean, the staff is incredibly responsive, the included breakfast (and all the other food we had at the restaurant) was great, the rooms have big windows and a wonderful large balcony overlooking the pool, it's very elegant and well-run like larger luxurious hotels can claim to be, but it's small enough to feel cozy, etc., etc.... we only have very positive things to say about this place! Since it was the off-season, we got a really good rate too. It actually seems like an unbelievable bargain considering how amazing our stay was!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana_Z_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2011

It's lovely to see the Ping Nakara getting so many five-star reviews because they are thoroughly deserved. As soon as you step through the doors, you feel like you've entered a calm oasis of luxury in the centre of the bustle of Chiang Mai. Indeed, we chose it after visiting TripAdvisor and seeing how well it was being received. Yes it's relatively expensive but not overly so given it is a real five-star boutique hotel which makes you feel very special and appreciated as a guest. The hotel was designed by a succesful architect who owns it and you can tell he's lovingly crafter every detail. The theme and feel is colonial and elephants feature heavily with placards detailing their history in the town in industry. They used to carry teak from the forests and the hotel is full of teak furniture, dark, solid and beautiful.
Service is outstanding and no detail is too small for staff to have covered - from making sure I was given insect repellent when I came downstairs for a drink on the balcony, carving fresh fruits at the breakfast buffet into beautiful shapes or making sure someone was at hand whenever you wanted to order a drink or food.
The Ping Nakara was the opposite of a large hotel where you feel like you're on a conveyor belt with thousands of other tourists being churned out. you felt special, valued and relaxed.
The location was unbeatable - the fun night market with its hundreds of stalls but a few minutes stroll and the posh Chedi Hotel (expensive but amazing restaurant setting by the water - ever so romantic at night with candles) and half hour walk to the old town with its many temples.
Nakara also has a good-sized pool, fabulous restaurants and highly-regaurded spa.
In short, it was a little slice of bliss for three nights. I could have stayed for thirty!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMaxBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

The hotel encompasses your senses. It's old world charm and ambience is only Bettered by the personnel working there. Not seen NOT heard but just a thought away. Superb VFM, a must!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

This hotel is certainly (one of) the best boutique hotels in Chiang Mai.
However, we need to concur to the comments below rgd. the restaurant:

if you would like to enjoy the full breakfast buffet, stand up early ! We experienced two times during our stay that the some items have not been filled up - so choice can easily be very limited.
One evening we ordered a Thai meal. The meat was that hard that you could not eat it.
When calling the waiter we were told that the cook had already left. No apologizes, no compensation.... we met the cook the other day and informed him about the poor quality of this dish. Again no apologizes, no compensation.....
We definitely would have expected more from a hotel/restaurant of this class !

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiroSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Dear MiroSu:

Thank you so much for your compliments regarding we are (one of) the best boutique hotels in Chiang Mai. And, I want to apologize you that our restaurant staffs are not able to cater your needs. They already acknowledged your comments and feel sorry for that. Nevertheless, we all agree that some improvement is needed, especially our attention to service in our restaurant.

Regarding our breakfast, we would like to inform that besides our buffet line, we also serve hot dishes which guests can always order as much as they would like without any charge. We have added staff and increased our training in an effort to reach the level of service we would like to give to all of our visitors. I’m sorry you did not mention your concerns to our front desk or general manager who perhaps could have improved the situation. After all, I hope that you will consider staying with us again for another try.

Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

LOCATION & ENVIRONMENT - Just minutes from posh Chedi and Night Market. Hotel looks pristine in all-white especially since just about 1 year old. If you're familiar with Singapore, think of this hotel as a blend of Raffles Hotel and Intercontinental. Beautiful spa rooms and, welcome lobby and one of the rare ones with a library!

ROOM - Stayed in Grand Deluxe. Gorgeous in terms of size, layout and decor. Perfect if with in-room jacuzzi! 5-star sleep quality and wide range of pillows - first time I used body pillow for side sleepers

SERVICE - Young, polite staff. They usher you to rest at plush lobby and give wet towels and cool drinks while preparing your check-in. Room attendant very detailed - even initiated bring us new pair of slippers as she noticed a tiny stain on one. Impressive. Obliging front desk - offered directions and helped with local calls. Service was quite slow during breakfast though. We had to wait a long time for our ala carte sets.

BREAKFAST - The weakest link was here. Limited variety so you'll definitely get bored after 2 days.

Overall the best stay we enjoyed out of the 4 hotels we tried during our trip!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orbidtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

a great old school syle and setting in one of the newer boutique hotels in chiang mai. the rooms were incredibly elegant with gorgeous furniture which was evident throught the hotel. some of the service was hit and miss which we put down to teething problems but it did not dent the overall calm and relaxed atmosphere of this hotel despite its excellent close proximity to chiang mai's centre.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wright722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

A boutique hotel, externally mirrors an early 19th century colonial building whilst only built a year ago it internally provides 21st century fittings and fixtures. At the end of the busy day, you will be glad to retreat to this hotel. Security seem reasonable. Rates are very reasonable by Western standards and market competitive in Chiang Mai. One could not complain about value for money.

The owner of the hotel is around and was even accessible during our stay. If we go back to Chiang Mai, we will probably stay again in Ping Nakara.

Location
The hotel is just 15 mins. away from the Chiang Mai International Airport. Easily accessible by public transportation (tuc-tuc, red cab and taxi). It is just 10-15 mins. away from some of the famous pubs and restaurants located near the Ping river and just 10 mins. walking distance to some good local restaurants, night market and popular Deluxe hotels.

Room
The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. Very Thai and will not disappoint. Unfortunately, the hotel is immediately adjacent to a fairly busy road that can provide some irritation. But nevertheless, the hotel provides facilities and an ambience that would score 5-stars in many parts of the world.

Some rooms with whirlpool bath and balcony.

Complimentary bottled water and fruit bowl replenished daily. Coffee and tea making facilities available.

Facilities
No gym but it has a lovely pool and an adjacent spa with a wide variety of spa menu.
WiFi free and available in the entire hotel. 2 computers are available for in-house guests with free internet access. Printing and scanning services available at the service centre if required.
Local Tours can be easily arranged at the hotel tour desk.

Airport Tranfers
A unique experience in a 1967 Merc with a very pedestrian chauffer in pith helmet and uniform is something not to be missed.

Staff
The staffs are dedicated and helpful and very much part of providing a relaxed atmosphere.

Restaurant
It has one restaurant and a reasonable wine and bar stocks sensibly priced. Great breakfast but not a lot of atmosphere for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onbarefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,070 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 392 in Chiang Mai
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,475 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £132 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing