We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has a pool and is cheap, unfortunately that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grace Boutique Guest House
Ranked #241 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It has a pool and is cheap, unfortunately that's it”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We recently stayed three nights at Graces. On the positives, it has a nice outdoor pool, its in a good location and is pretty cheap. However the praise ends there. The rooms are very basic, with very poor bathrooms that often for some reason smell like sulphur, the beds are uncomfortable (and is that's putting it nicely), and although the staff are friendly there seems to be a large slice of commission put on anything you book through them. But for two young travellers doing it on a budget we have found it very adequate. Although we definitely wouldn't recommend it to our parents

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brosi299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    18
    13
    12
See reviews for
6
32
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Very cheap at 450 baht a night and comes with a swimming pool and wifi. The location was good inside the old city moats and lots to do around walking around the area.

The main lady staff member was incredible. We were trying to book a zip line adventure with a company that didn't answer the phone. Knowing that she booked day trips we asked her and she showed us 3 other zip line companies that were all less expensive that the one we were going to call. She booked one for us and we never had a problem.

The hotel itself is decorated well and was a pleasant surprise. The only bad part was we had the worlds noisiest and uncomfortable bed. If they bought new mattresses I would give this hotel 5 stars all the way

Room Tip: If I came back to chaing Mai, I would stay here again, Not complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and we wished we had few more just to get lazy in the swimming pool and the awesome restaurants around the guesthouse.
The rooms are good but you have to ask the staff to arrange for a cleaning if you want every morning, it's free. Good chill out area around the swimming pool and for a budget place it's value for money. At the reception friendly speaking staff have everything you need, from visas to tickets to get you everywhere. We payed 400 baht a night and we would go back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaPimentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We took 2 rooms for two times 3 nights. You pay cheap so you get cheap, but it's good value. The pool is very nice, the owners are very friendly, and the rooms are ok. We never tried the breakfast though...

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor. And check the water in the bathroom before you stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel was good value for money. The air/con worked fine. It smelled a bit like damp but I found this was true for a lot of hotels and hostels around S.E.Asia. Our bed was comfortable enough. The pool is nice and location central.

The staff were friendly and offered a discount for booking 2 tours with them. We went on a 1 day Chiang Rai tour.. I think my favourite park was the white temple. The traditional 'long neck' village visit was pretty depressing.. like looking at animals on display in a zoo.

We went on an elephant trekking and river rafting tour. The elephant trekking was fun, we were on a tenacious male who just loved his bananas and fruit that you fed him. The river rafting was quite good fun except that 3 swimming spiders jumped on me!

I'd also recommend going to the Hawker stalls at the covered night market.

I was quite surprised to see that there were lots of older men with younger local women, (i naively thought this was just in Phuket and Bangkok), there are certain bars that are just full of this clientèle

Room Tip: Ask to view the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We made the big mistake of staying in this guest housel!! We booked in for three nights and stayed for one! As noted in previous reviews the pool is lovely and the hotel is located close to town. The rooms however, were very small and dingy. The bathroom did smell of rotten eggs and the beds were the worst I have slept on, the ground would have been preferable!! I wish I had read the reviews before staying in this place, there are far nicer places for the same price!

Room Tip: view the room before agreeing to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerchick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We booked this hotel for three nights after arriving late from the airport and wanting a convenient location. The hot water heater on our shower was broken and a foul smell of rotten eggs came out any time we used the sink, toilet, or shower. The smell filled the entire room and because of that alone I would choose another hotel.

The outdoor pool was nice, and the showers outside were warmer than the one in our room! After coming back one night we had hoped to buy a bottle of water from reception, and there was a staff member sleeping behind the desk that we had to wake up first! Also, when leaving the hotel you are required to leave your key in a communal box at the front desk--making theft very possible.

By the third night we were more than ready to leave--last one out is rotten egg!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Pissamorn House
Pissamorn House
#68 of 825 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manee Guest House
Manee Guest House
#102 of 736 in Chiang Mai
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estia Chiang Mai Hotel
Estia Chiang Mai Hotel
#125 of 825 in Chiang Mai
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#53 of 736 in Chiang Mai
391 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sculpture Hostel
The Sculpture Hostel
#364 of 825 in Chiang Mai
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#69 of 736 in Chiang Mai
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Boutique Guest House

Property: Grace Boutique Guest House
Address: 140 Rachapakinai Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grace Boutique Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grace Boutique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grace Boutique Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing