We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my personal hotel hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grace Boutique Guest House
Ranked #228 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“my personal hotel hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is by far the worst accomodation I had in my travels for the following reasons.

1. Hotel is run down. Rooms are small and very dirty to the point that I have to wear footwear around the room. When I checked in, the rubbish from the previous guests was not even cleared.

2. Water supply in the room is irregular and unpredictable, making showering bordering on impossible.

3. The bed feels itchy when i sleep on it and true enough, i got bitten by bed bugs on my stay there.

The only positive is the location but I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gusta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    18
    13
    12
See reviews for
6
32
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and then moved elsewhere. The hotel is run down, the rooms are cramped and appeared quite dirty. The toilet in the bathroom leaked. We got charged more then double the advertised price through a travel agent (beware!) so we rang him and got our money back and changed hotels (not the hotels fault). They are also under construction so the pool isn't available. BUT they were so lovely and were really helpful in giving our money back. Hopefully it will be a nice place when they have built the new building!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDonalds4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Campo Real, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Booked this hotel just based on the location and the pool and were left with only the location.

The POOL is no more, just a building site as they are renovating it or turning it into more hotel space. This was the one redeeming quality of the hotel, besides the obvious location.

The rooms were borderlining disgusting. I wanted to bring a pressure sprayer in and give the room a deep clean. On the first night we found a cockroach the size of the palm of my hand. When I went down to tell the hotel staff, first, the person working there didn't speak English very well, then when I finally explained that I wanted bug spray he said "Why" - because my husband is allergic to cockroaches, that's why. He managed to give us an empty can of bug spray and said "That's all we have" to my response - Go buy more. He says, the manager isn't here, I can't. And I never figured out who the manager was to speak to him. Maybe the guy that was always sleeping behind the tour desk...

The TV in our room was broken so we never used that and the A/C didn't work very well. You wake up the next morning with a backache because the beds are so hard and so are the pillows. I put a towel in the pillowcase to make the pillow a bit softer. You have to be creative in places like this.

Do yourself a favor and spend a LITTLE more and get a better room nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinacism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, USA
Level Contributor
259 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We like the location, that it's set back, has a nice pool, with places to sit, and the room was decent, even if not great. Anyway, it fit the bill. We told them we'd be staying for a week.

We saw a tour/trek we wanted to take, but we found the exact same route for literally half the price from a travel agency on Thapae Road, just outside the old city. The van came to pick us up, we had a great time, and all went well. Except that the Grace people saw this go down.

Not only were they less nice to us, they later told us that we would have to vacate our room the next morning because they were renting it to someone else. We told them about us staying for a week and they just rudely said that we had been there 4 days already (it had only been 3, but whatever) and that we had to go.

We felt terrible about this, were angry with them for how they treated us so rudely and disrespectfully, they were clearly lying, but they were punishing us for not taking their expensive tour.

We felt lost, not knowing what to do, but soon thereafter found another guest house and it turned out to be a much better place for us...also with a pool, a bigger and nicer room, and also a great location in the old city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDZatSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Having arrived in Chiang mai without booking a room we got grace boutique through the attached tour company they run. To be fair they let us have a look around first so we knew what we were getting. We wanted to save some money for a few nights so got the room. There is no pool anymore - its a building site! The beds are so uncomfortable, we had one room with springs you could feel every part of, and another with a mattress that may as well have been the floor! Rooms have ac which is a must. Poorly decorated but not really an issue. The shower is just attached to the wall - no cubicle or curtain so the whole bathroom gets wet. Fine for a few days if you're on a budget but I'm sure you could pay the same and get something a bit nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CostelloSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We recently stayed three nights at Graces. On the positives, it has a nice outdoor pool, its in a good location and is pretty cheap. However the praise ends there. The rooms are very basic, with very poor bathrooms that often for some reason smell like sulphur, the beds are uncomfortable (and is that's putting it nicely), and although the staff are friendly there seems to be a large slice of commission put on anything you book through them. But for two young travellers doing it on a budget we have found it very adequate. Although we definitely wouldn't recommend it to our parents

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brosi299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Very cheap at 450 baht a night and comes with a swimming pool and wifi. The location was good inside the old city moats and lots to do around walking around the area.

The main lady staff member was incredible. We were trying to book a zip line adventure with a company that didn't answer the phone. Knowing that she booked day trips we asked her and she showed us 3 other zip line companies that were all less expensive that the one we were going to call. She booked one for us and we never had a problem.

The hotel itself is decorated well and was a pleasant surprise. The only bad part was we had the worlds noisiest and uncomfortable bed. If they bought new mattresses I would give this hotel 5 stars all the way

Room Tip: If I came back to chaing Mai, I would stay here again, Not complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Manee Guest House
Manee Guest House
#104 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#55 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thapae Happy House
Thapae Happy House
#137 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Guesthouse
Central Guesthouse
#18 of 807 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#30 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#61 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Boutique Guest House

Property: Grace Boutique Guest House
Address: 140 Rachapakinai Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grace Boutique Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grace Boutique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grace Boutique Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing