We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gavin D
Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom

Great Rooftop Swimming Pool

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jun 2012
Stay here for a total of 8 nights over a 1 month period. Rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious. Rooftop pool is fantastic, great way to cool off after a hectic day in Chiang Mai. Room service prices really high for Thailand. Wifi in rooms was very slow, wired internet seemed quicker. Rooftop restaurant has amazing views at night. Not really close to many things, tuk tuk required to get to the old city. Air con pretty noisy.
Date of stay: April 2012
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£103
  • Expedia.com
    £111
  • ZenHotels.com
    £93
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£193
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £182
  • Expedia.com
    £199
1.4 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£40
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £36
  • Hotels.com
    £48
0.2 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£28
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £22
  • Expedia.com
    £25
1.9 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£107
  • Expedia.com
    £112
  • Agoda.com
    £92
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Booking.com
£96
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Hotels.com
    £102
2.7 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£43
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £32
  • Expedia.com
    £78
3.6 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£298
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £299
  • Expedia.com
    £300
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £70
  • Agoda.com
    £63
  • Official Hotel
    £72
0.2 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £181
  • Trip.com
1.4 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
243
166
131
72
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
243
166
131
72
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews super highway nimman road swimming pool big room comfortable stay old city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The hotel itself is nice, alright location if you don't want to be right in the heart of things. The free wifi was hopeless, would only work in our right right by the door couldnt use it more then 2 feet into the room. Cleanliness could have been better, balcony looked like it hasn't been cleaned in a very long time, tried to charge 400baht for breakfast each, nice little restaraunt 5 min walk away thats only 100baht. All in all probably wont stay there again unless it was a really good deal.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielmc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Service not very helpful, almost no English spoken. We stayed there for two nights - all two days (roof) swimming pool was closing at 17:00 for some events. Terrible, moldy bathroom.
Nice view from the roof (if only no smog was present). Far from the center.
Shops, laundry, SPA, travel agency in the hotel lobby.
Breakfast was OK no reason to complain.
Very long waiting time to get an elevator (at the moment of our stay - half of elevators did not work).

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puwsioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the Furama (my wife is Thai) during the water festival in April and new that the city would be busy so booked our room several months earlier on an internet web site other than the hotels. We checked in and our first room for the first night was not enjoyable due to the bathroom sink leaking and pooling on the floor, and the pigeons nesting on the airconditioner several metres from the bed. Several window were covered in pigeon poo (had not been cleaned for a long time) and the room had an appearance of "just been thrown together". However, our complaints to reception were answered the following morning and we were moved to the city view room which we had requested in our booking. This room was much cleaner and everything worked except for the white no-branded fridge. We have stayed in this hotel on approximately 7 previous occasions and have found on every occasion that the new white mini bar fridges just do not keep food cold unless they are kept closed for about a day. I would recommend that if u get one of these fridges, then asked for it to be swapped for one of the silver fridges which do actually work.
The hotel reception area is always very clean (and full of mosquitos), and the three lifts are fast and clean. Just remember to exit the lift quickly as the doors ALWAYS shut very quickly.
The hotel location just out of the city centre is excellent and is located just off Huay Keaw Road behind the Hillside Condo 4. Rooms are usually quiet ( pigeons aside on the mountain view rooms) and there is no road traffic noise, and only slight aeroplane noise.
We paid around $45 per night (no breakfast) which was excellent value considering it was during the Thai New Year. Perhaps the best thing about this hotel is the buffet lunch adjoining the reception area. I have been to many restaurants in Thailand and found this to be one of the better restaurants. For 300 Baht ($10 AU) we dined on pepper steak, orange duck, butter fish (no batter), several seafood dishes, many chicken dishes, salads, ....the list goes on. Never had an upset stomache from this restaurant and would go there again just for lunch even if we stayed in a different hotel next time.
There are two swimming pools in the hotel. The roof top pool has excellent city views although the water balance always appeared to be off (murky). I would recommend using the other swimming pool on the same level as the day spa, which was cleaned every morning and appeared to be much more inviting.
There are three levels on the roof top. 1 the pool, 2 the restaurant, 3 the 360 degree panoramic view which is accessed up a small flight of stairs past the male toilets. Look for the small signs and dont forget to duck your head as you go up the stairs. The view form the panoramic view is a must, and is very relaxing. Take your camera on sunset or sun rise.
Travel from the airport takes about 15 minutes out of peak hour traffic, and will cost about 180 baht ($6 AU) if you book through the blue and yellow airport taxi.
We probably would stay at this hotel in the future unless we found a better hotel, due to the excellent location, although would ask to view the room before checking in next time. We would also recommend the city view room with a balcony, as the mountain view becomes a little boring.

Room tip: You will get either a city view or a mountain view room. Definitely demand a city view room with a balcony if u want to enjoy your holiday more. Many rooms have the balcony enclosed in glass. Ask to see the room before you check in, and keep a second copy of your booking as reception usually takes your booking copy and then it is awkward to prove if you have breakfast included, or when you check out etc etc.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arbo and joy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Hotel and Superior Rooms review:

1. Only the lobby, restaurant, gym and swimming pool are the 4 stars worth.
The treatment, the rooms and the cleanliness absolutely not. We had a internet offer without breakfast and we just wanted to have a drink at one of the lounge-bars. We were told that this area would be only for VIP which booked with breakfast, otherwise would be charged 800 ThaiBAht/20 Euro for area-access only (without breakfast).

2. The rooms are very poor. Although they are very big and it has a kitchen which makes absolutely no sense because it has only cabinets that contain nothing in it.. Therefore it is impossible to cook. the air-condition is a outdated model that it could not properly cooled our room, in 3 days the technician tried to fix it twice but could not do anything.. The shower door couldn’t be closed right that’s why we had always water on the floor.

3 In the room is a really nice window front with a nice view but it seems that this windows and around have not been cleaned for a year or so. Because the windows are very dirty and outside is all full with Dove excrement (Dirty dirty dirty). This area is located just above the pool. Poor person’s which go for a swim there.

Room tip: Deluxe Rooms and up.. but check the web for good a good price.. otherwise you may get overcharged
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Was upgraded to executive because no superior rooms left, but i did catch a glimpse of superior room layout, which is similar to exec room but a wee bit smaller but quite well appointed. I must say I enjoyed it very much, especially the jacuzzi equipped bathroom (writing this in the bath) :-)
Location isn't really a problem, its accessible from hillside condotel on Huang Kaew road. The Kad Suan Kaew mall is within a 10 minute walk on said road. Tip: plenty of small restaurants just across the road from hillside condotel in a lane which opens up to a carpark.
Hotel staff seemed somewhat overwhelmed at breakfast trying to cope with hordes of elderly Korean tourists this morning...but good job nontheless!

Room tip: I stayed on 6th floor
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nosebooger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews