We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good looking resort with inconsistent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Great looking resort however the service is very inconsistent with the day staff being much more helpful and friendly than the night staff. Eager restaurant staff makes up for the so-so food. Lovely pool and private villas although I expected the villa to be much bigger. Situated away from city area which makes for a nice getaway however I will try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindaa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
There are newer reviews for Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

Beautifully presented hotel, staff there were fabulous and very attentive. My husband was sick for the first few days and the staff kept asking if he was feeling better.
We stayed in a deluxe lanna room - huge room comfortable room.
Breakfast had a good range.
Only downfall is its location away from the night bazaar - but a tuk tuk ride was only 80tb each way. Was pretty cheap you just have to plan when you want to go there. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the night bazaar each night every half hour between 7 -9 I think, but there is only room for 9 ppl so you need to book at front desk.
Free wifi available in the lobby and pool area. Overall great hotel and will stay there if we go back to chiang Mai.
If you plan on going during oct or nov - look into when the Loh Krathong festival is. Apparently it's amazing, disappointed we missed it by a few days.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideMissy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We booked our weekend stay at Siripanna through Expedia Singapore, which had a limited 20% discount offer on selected hotels. It had already been a few months since we wanted to visit Chiang Mai, and this hotel proved to be a great base from which to explore this city and its surroundings.

Some reviewers mentioned the location of this hotel as a low point, but I didn't see it that way. While it is true that the hotel is not located in the city centre, the Old City can be reached in 10 mins by tuk-tuk (which will cost 100 thb) and airport is no more than 15-20 mins away. Furthermore, the location of the hotel on the oposite side of the river means that it is much quieter at night compared to some of the more centric hotels.

The good:

- Our room had a nice decoration, and it was big and well maintained. The bed was comfortable and had several pillows of different hardness. Bathroom was also very big, and well equipped with a bathtub in perfect conditions. All in all, it was a superb experience.

- The hotel staff was very kind and attentive at all times. This applies to every one of them, including the bellboy who helped us with our luggage upon our arrival at 1 AM, to the lady in the reception who made the check-in, the guys at the pool, all of them.

- In my experience, resorts in Southeast Asia usually have very good buffet breakfasts, but this one excelled in every sense. There were plenty of eastern and western choices, plus a wide variety of fruits and cereals. We requested cappuccinos and hot chocolates during our breakfasts and in all cases the quality was very good.

- The pool was nice, and it was designed in such away that you could swim all around the area where the sunbeds are located. The pool does not seem to be suited for young children (nor the hotel in general), so this is a point to be taken into account. Each evening there is a poolside happy hour (one for one) on selected cocktails, one for every day of the week.

- If you happen to be around the hotel at midday, you will notice that they advertise the 39 baht lunch (which turns out to be around 1.3 usd) Actually, you need to add the GST and the service charge on top of that, but even with that consideration it is ridiculously cheap. As expected, the size of the portions is relatively small, but there are many dishes to choose from for this price (there is also a selection of non alcoholic drinks and desserts available for 39 thb).

The not-so-good:

- There are really no low points worth mentioning here. Wi-fi internet was available for free at the lobby and common areas (in all cases with a good speed) but not in the rooms, so this could be a point to be addressed by the management in order to further enhance the experience. Perhaps the main challenge for this hotel will be maintaining the high levels of attention and quality that they are currently offering, while at the same time keeping their fares at competitive levels.

Overall, our stay at Siripanna was excellent and our high expectations were fulfilled. The hotel was very quiet and relaxing (features which by the way make it a good choice for honeymooners) and it was great value for money at 90 SGD per night. We will definitely be back next time we are in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hernan_y_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We were in Thailand for 2 weeks and this hotel was the shining star by far. The staff was great and incredibly helpful. Hotel is beautiful and so well maintained. The pool is beautiful, clean, perfect. Rooms are large, comfortable. Its about 10 minutes away from the Old City but the hotel has shuttles at 11am, 7pm, 730pm and 8pm to get you down to the markets. You can grab a tuk tuk tho for only 80-100 baht so its super easy to get back and forth. Don't let the location deter you from staying. Its a wonderful hotel. And after a super hot day walking around the city, you will be so happy to go swim and relax at this lovely oasis.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenleonard17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

OveralI a good experience. Service is good (except that they forget my private transfert from the airport to the hotel) and rooms are very nice, large, cleaned and well decorated. But the walls are very thin so if you have like me some noisy neighbors, not easy to sleep. Swimming pool is also very nice and a pleasant place to relax. Please be aware that there is nothing close to the hotel, only a tour operator in front of it, that's it. The center of the city is 15/20mn by tuk tuk. It costs around 100 baths to go there. The hotel has also a shuttle but not available all day. You should definitely go the street markets on Saturday and Sunday night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sissiburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiripannaManagement, Management Team at Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Sissiburger,

Warm greetings from Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa, Chiang Mai.

On behalf of management team, we were most concerned to your comment on Trip Advisor recently and we would like to express our deeply apology for the unprofessional way of our staff extended to you.


The case of your private airport transfer had brought to our attention with seriously investigation and the action was taken immediately.



Please kindly consider this explanation is one of the parts of our apology from all of us at Siripanna and do really hope you will forgive and give us the opportunity to come back and stay with us again whenever you come to Chiang Mai.



Best regards,


Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Having had such a good experience at the Siripanna the first time, I was hoping that our second stay there would be as good as the first. We were not disappointed...the Siripanna is still as wonderful as ever! The grounds are just beautiful, and so nicely manicured, the rooms are inviting and very comfortable, the food is delicious and the staff are friendly and very accommodating. We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay. Our only regret was that we had time for just one night this time...but we will be back for a longer stay as soon as we are able!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThailandTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Two lovely men welcomed me and my partner at the reception, true thai hosptality.Water is all around the hotel throughout the day free of charge, BUT evening time, in the restaurant watch-out for the 25 baht a glass water chrge, I thought this was rediculous considering it's free of charge allday...!!!!
Plus we ordered the FISHCAKE, it was like a hard piece of cardboard, I didn't eat it, and believe me I eat anything, you couldn't even bit into it, I really don't know what the chef had done to it, but it wasn't pleasant.
Next morning, I did tell the manager about it, and I was given a cocktail to compensate for this.......!!! Like I say, really nice staff here....!!!!!
Breakasts wre ok though, I liked the dim som

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.0 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#42 of 388 in Chiang Mai
938 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 388 in Chiang Mai
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa

Address: 36 Rat Uthit Road | Wat Kate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £56 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siripanna Grand Resort And Villa
Siripanna Grand Resort & Villa Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing