We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“geordie”
Review of The Britannia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Britannia
Ranked #17 of 809 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2012

never been to chiangmai before but after my stay at the britannia iwill be going back the place was spotlissclean the staff were frendly and polite they would do anything for you the breakfast were very good overall i had fantastic stay thankyou so much

Room Tip: just be polite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

Nice and lovely Hotel. The placard was right always clean and always friendly. It's natural for them to help you in every Situation. We stayed there 6 nights and it was one of the most enjoyable Hotels we've been in 2 months travelling. We had a nice air con room with free wifi and also very cheap. When we'll go back to chiang Mai we'll take this Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This guesthouse is nestled away on a lovely quiet backstreet in the old city of Chiang Mai. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the price is very good (500 Baht/room). The owner was absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough to help us.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreeSpirit83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Myself and my sister staying here in March 2011. After being quoted ridiculous rates at some hotels we stumbled across this place and we are so glad we did. The room was really reasonable, I forget exactly but something like 700 baht. It was really worth it. Our room was huge, really clean with great air con. The manager, I forget her name, was brilliant- so happy, friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Stay here for a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cor78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Arriving 10 th nov 2009 at Chiang Mai, we choosed wrong Guesthouse first, we checked out and went for a walk and hoped find a better stay, and only 200 mtr away, in Moon Muang Soy 9, we discovered the Britannia (we had seen this GH on the Internet before),
You can not look beside, a nicely Pink colored building. We enterred, verry helpfull reception, nice restaurant, and verry nice stairway to our room. Big enough for two, luminous with balcony, bathroom with hot shower, cable TV, and VERRY CLEAN. so we stayed, planned for a few days and ended up there for three weeks. Breakfast, pancake, TUNA Sandwich, all kinds of currys, fruit shakes or smoothys, to mutch to write here, but everything made freshly and verry good. Laundry done in the house, Free WIFI available, helping us out with any tourist information, or car and or motobike rentals, bus tickets, realy every help tpo our needs was only one question away. This Guesthouse is one of the best in Chiang Mai and for a verry affordable price (you always find better or cheaper) but not this quality Guesthouse for this price. In soy 9, lots of possibilitys getting food, massage, internet, bookstore, and pubs/bars for a cool drink, with Large screens often to wath sports or movies. We travel often to Chiang Mai, and we like to change our location to see new people, new surroundings, but soy 9, only 7-8 minutes walk to Tapae Gate and night market is realy one of our favorits for the future especialy when we can get in to The Britannia. I think better to book in advance, the 11 or 12 rooms(not sure) must be verry well booked so firt come first get. This GH is owned by a Swiss Thai couple, they have wonderfull staff, kind helpfull, always good information available with the welknown Thai smile.... difficult to beat..my opinion. We are planning our next stay in CM in april 2010 and we surrely will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 699hugoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#8 of 809 in Chiang Mai
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#2 of 809 in Chiang Mai
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#33 of 809 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#44 of 809 in Chiang Mai
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia

Address: 27/3-4 Moonmaung Soi 9 | Old City, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 809 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £11 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Britannia 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALWAYS CLEAN ALWAYS TIDY ALWAYS FRIENDLYYou can find the Britannia Chiang Mai at the north eastern corner of the old city on Soi 9, off Moonmuang Road.Situated near the intersection of Soi 9 and Sriphum Soi 1, The Britannia is squarely within a popular area for travellers and is well serviced with local bars and restaurants along with travel agents, Thai therapeutic massage and local laundry services. Just a short walk away you can find banking, postal facilities, local superettes, the ever popular street food vendors along Moonmuang Road and also the Sunday night market at Tha Pae Gate.The Britannia is not just another guest house but more a Mini Hotel, where you can enjoy some of the comforts of a hotel at guest house prices, yet retain the atmosphere usually enjoyed with family and friends.We are here to serve, which means we take care of your home comforts along with assistance to find your way around Chiang Mai and to gain access to the many attractions and tours that make this city such a popular destination for travellers to Thailand. Our aim is to help you find the best possible value for your chosen activities.So no matter if you are just looking to immerse yourself in the spirit of Chiang Mai, or party it up with the vibrant night life, let The Britannia and is friendly staff help make your stay possibly the best holiday you have ever had ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing