We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place...like your staying with friends.”
Review of The Britannia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Britannia
Ranked #21 of 775 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This place is in a great location close to everything.
The rooms are clean and staff fantastic.
They are a very affordable and their is a great cafe called blue diamond just down the road for breakfast lunch etc...all in all you can walk around old town get to any place witn ease. The area is very safe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank scuner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for The Britannia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Coopers (owners) are very friendly and keen to help with tour bookings.

The rooms are large and fitted with great AC.

There are lots of restaurants/ bars nearby.

Very easy to pick up a taxi/ tuk-tuk from outside as there are lots hanging around. The driers don't hassle you either which is refreshing!

Nestled in a quiet backstreet of Chiang Mai- definitely worth trying!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, the owners were very flexible and let us stay for an extra day, great location close to nearby shops. Had to leave a key deposit, we forgot to ask for this back!! So make sure you ask.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very good guesthouse, very clean. Also a good location in a quiet neighborhood. You can have a breakfast at the Blue Diamond and we really recommand the restaurant of Chai for lunches and dinners and also having a really good massage.

The owners are very nice, we had to change our reservation at the last minute because we lost our plane to chiang mai and they answered us really quickly with no problems at all. They welcomed us the day we finally made it and organised us the tours negociating with the agency.

We recommand this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Falar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
534Algy, Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you. Glad we could accommodate your change of travel at short notice. Not always possible in other seasons so it was good to be of assistance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place is really nice. The owners are very friendly and helpful!! They achieve a discount in the Golden Triangle tour without ask them!! It's is near from everywere and the room is clean and confortable! The expensive one room have fridge and bigger than the others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mariceta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We found Britannia while just walking around in the alleys of Chiangmai main city, and we were very lucky to have found it. The owners were a nice couple and they were super friendly and helpful with suggestions for restaurants, massage places and directions.
The room was very clean with good strong air conditioning.
The location was unbeatable. located in an alley so it wasn't too noisy or busy, but only a 10 minute walk to the main bustle of the city and markets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingMame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The guest house's location is great. Right in the middle of old town great for strolling and exploring. Owners give lots of information and try to save (!) you money when recommending where to go, and give various suggestions on how to make your daily trips.
Rooms - mine had 2 beds with a balcony (you have an option of booking this). It was clean, roomy, airy and light. I loved the balcony - so cozy, and what a view!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulsVern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
534Algy, Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to get best value for money on all of the tours for our guests and use our local knowledge to optimise your time and experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 386 in Chiang Mai
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 775 in Chiang Mai
481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#4 of 882 in Chiang Mai
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#28 of 775 in Chiang Mai
425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#9 of 775 in Chiang Mai
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia

Address: 27/3-4 Moonmaung Soi 9 | Old City, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 775 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £10 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Britannia 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALWAYS CLEAN ALWAYS TIDY ALWAYS FRIENDLYYou can find the Britannia Chiang Mai at the north eastern corner of the old city on Soi 9, off Moonmuang Road.Situated near the intersection of Soi 9 and Sriphum Soi 1, The Britannia is squarely within a popular area for travellers and is well serviced with local bars and restaurants along with travel agents, Thai therapeutic massage and local laundry services. Just a short walk away you can find banking, postal facilities, local superettes, the ever popular street food vendors along Moonmuang Road and also the Sunday night market at Tha Pae Gate.The Britannia is not just another guest house but more a Mini Hotel, where you can enjoy some of the comforts of a hotel at guest house prices, yet retain the atmosphere usually enjoyed with family and friends.We are here to serve, which means we take care of your home comforts along with assistance to find your way around Chiang Mai and to gain access to the many attractions and tours that make this city such a popular destination for travellers to Thailand. Our aim is to help you find the best possible value for your chosen activities.So no matter if you are just looking to immerse yourself in the spirit of Chiang Mai, or party it up with the vibrant night life, let The Britannia and is friendly staff help make your stay possibly the best holiday you have ever had ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing