We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of R.C.N. Court & Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
R.C.N. Court & Inn
Ranked #444 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

I got a double room with fan for like 4 or 500 bt a night and I think that's awesome for the location. Be prepared for a hike if your on a high floor (5 stories) but friendly enough staff! They arranged our tuk tuk to the airport early in the morning and the wifi was super reliable! I was happy and would probably stay here again If I came back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Really friendly staff, they will help you with anything you'll need. Toilet paper in not
provided, so buy it yourself at 7-eleven.
Good computers and they can print for 5 bath a page.
The outside cafe make good juice and pancakes and is run buy a really kind girl.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Many83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

It was easy. There was no smoke like the other review, however, there is no rule agwinst smoking there! Housekeeping was great.
It is a big room and I had a view of the Temple even tho there is a wood shutter outside the window. Good Value! I was there for at least 2 weeks with air con room. Yes the Soi s have gotten more busy as the years pass in Chiang Mai. But it was reasonable quiet. The staff were good and not in your face trying to sell you a tour. There is a phone and TV. Since I was getting over Dengue Fever, I got to watch Wimbledon tennis, and Tour d France bicyclist and catch up on Asian TV!

The parking is great for bicycle, motor scooter, or car. The shared kitchen is clean. The living room was fantastic to read the daily newspaper. Filtered water and the little cafe had good fruit smoothies.

It is not a cute little guest house with ambiance, but the clean comfortable bed beats the heck out of dark little rooms with questionable showers.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

If you smoke tobacco this is a wonderful place for smokers as they are allowed to smoke in the rooms and in all public spaces. If you are not a smoker find a non-smoking guesthouse, or you will be choking on smoke 24/7.

The rooms are worn and not worth the price that is being asked, plus because people can smoke in them there is that cigarette smoke odor that permeates every part of them.

I stayed there because I wanted access to a kitchen, but the staff mostly used the kitchen during the day so it was not available until night.

The Cozy Home is right around the corner, has a kitchen, and it non-smoking!!!
Plus, the staff is much friendlier and does not act like it is a burden when you ask them a question.

They offer a monthly rate which is lower, and they have better qualities rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I spent a week at the R.C.N Lodge in Late January 2012 and was delighted! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, more so than any other hotel i had stayed at during my 1 month visit of thailand!! The rooms are average and the beds notably hard, however for my budget it was fine and I was content. The location was great, quick and easy to get around to the Saturday and Sunday night markets and the night bazaar. I would definitely recommend staying here for any backpacker (low end to mid range).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

we were attracted by the price of 500 baht for an air con room with bath, tv and fridge. its excessively drab. had it cost 250 baht perhaps i could be more kind to it but we knew the moment after walking in it was not the place for us. staff were careless and unfriendly - didn't really seem to value our business or care a jot about anything. the room was drab, the bathroom though it had been cleaned had stained tiles and was generally drab and the location leaves a lot to be desired. skip this option and head for Awana guesthouse which is a hidden gem and you get a pool and a great hotel cafe for your 500 baht.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

Or maybe we have to mutch been lucky or spoiled during our traavelling thru Asia and Thailand specifically, we dont know. We know Chiang Mai verry well, and we change Guesthouse almost every time we are here, just to change surroundings, trying new places... range goes from about 450 bht till 600bht for two adults. So, we had seen the Internet remarks and booked the RCN guesthouse on our way from Udon to CM. Reception was ok, no remarks to make, in a small soy, Moon Muang soy 7, good corner for food, drinks, inside the old city. Price payed 600bht, but when entering the room on the 4 th floor, we didnt look well enough(tyred from our trip). SO afther a while, we checked the room well... and first ...a fluffy odor in the nose, old furniture and sheets, bathroom needing to be little renewall, and my spouse, afther sitting 5 minutes on the bed... said having somme tickeling on the legs.... My opinion is that, if you can not sleep well, than move out. So, renting a motobike, and 200 mtrs away we found MUTCH better for the same price. In this corner you find lots of nice places annyway for that money....maybe we just where unlucky and the other rooms where ok, we dont know, but on the 4 th floor, no WIFI available neither, fitnessroom name not worthy(we do not needed it annyway), and the necessity of putting an extra lock on the door, we decided to leave the same evening. Can be that other people are more lucky than we where, but this Guesthouse is definitly not made for Us. Possitive remark for the staff at the reception, helping out well for booking in and Out....but our 600 where lost... what we understand because we reserved before arriving..so, can be good for others but we wont be back...... Lonely Planet recommended or not

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,069 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#158 of 392 in Chiang Mai
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.C.N. Court & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.C.N. Court & Inn

Address: 35 Moonmuang Rd. Soi 7 | Sripoom Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #444 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £27 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — R.C.N. Court & Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our place are opening since 1995, we located in old city area (inner moat) surrounding by attraction places of Chiang Mai which can get by your steps easily. We are in quiet area of small local community (Lam Chang Community) where closed to important Buddhism temple(Wat Chiang Man/first Buddhist temple in Chiang Mai)and local market (Sompet market) fresh market at day time and become night street foods at night time, we are getting recommended by Lonely Planet Guide Book at sleeping/budget section. Our place is providing for huge shared kitchen with full kitchen wares for yourself cooking or warms your instant foods for 24 hours and we serve you for stability of wifi connection at whole area for free. Our rooms size are about 24 sqm. consist of queen size bed, airconditioner or fan rooms, temple view and city view with huge window,shared living room, huge shared kitchen, free wifi connection in whole area, hot water, tv with international cables, refridgerator, english newspaper, laundry service and washing machine, security entrance system, tour and trek service and information, free luggage storage and safe box, in house restaurant with local and international foods, 24 hours service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your R.C.N. Court & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing