We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like sleeping on rocks with a view of a brick wall stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Key Hotel @ Old City Center
Ranked #484 of 829 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Bed matress was just absolutely dreadful. Had no option but to take sleeping tablets. Having travelled for several months, we have a pretty good idea of what to expect for your money but this place isn't worth it. Need to sell the tv that's in the room and spend the money on a decent matress and a plumber to fix the ceiling that drips on your head while youre on the toilet. One plus is the balcony, unfortunately the view is of a brick wall that's so close you could walk into it when u step onto the balcony. Don't punish yourself by staying here, just go across the road to the massage place and they'll do it for you.

Loads of other budget guest houses and hotels in the area. Diva guesthouse just across the road is absolutely awesome. Lovely rooms, competitively priced, fantastic food and the people who run it will go out of their way to make your stay as good as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dev147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent 2 nights at TK Guesthouse, in a huge room that was clean and well-looked after. Staff were very friendly and we had no problems when we hired a motorbike from them. All in all, a good experience.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank oslow99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Cheap, clean, central, great wifi. That's it. Definitely not fancy, but that's really not what you're looking for in a guesthouse in Chiang Mai. When I was there in May it was THB 250 ($7.5) for a room (big with a private bathroom) or 350 if you wanted air conditioning. For the price it can't be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We moved here from cm blue! Paying 350thb a night for a huuuuuuge room with front facing balcony and a fan! Staff are really nice and helpful and will sort any excursions tickets etc they even rang us a macdonalds delivery when we were hungover post sangsomm!
Location is central in old town easy to walk to lots of main attraction.
Free wifi
We also used the pool in the hotel over the road free on a couple of days
Ginnys cafe just up the street is lovely for food close
Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallulahPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in TK Guesthouse, located in a nice neighbourhood at walking distance (or rent a bike) of most of Chiang Mai's 'must sees'. Rooms are OK and have a very basic private bathroom. Recommendable for those who aren't looking for too much comfort and luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank embend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had a wonderful time in Chiang Mai, possibly our favorites place in Thailand. Mr. T and all the staff at t.k guesthouse made our stay so enjoyable. They were very accommodating and helped us book activities at a cheap price. They really appreciate their guests and genuinely want you to have a great time! Will definitely be coming back to tk guesthouse next time. The rooms are spacious comfortable and very affordable especially compared to more commercial and expensive areas in Thailand. Its very safe and secure, a gate that is locked at night that only guests can access. Can't wait to see mr T and all the lovely staff again, would recommend this place to anyone!!! From Danni Chau and meme Westney, Melbourne australia

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Meme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We arrived in Chiang Mai at 4am, and called TK Guesthouse. It connected us to T, the owner, in a car on his way to Bangkok. He told us to go to the guesthouse and wake up his sister. We felt bad and decided to wait until 7am to check in. But, he gave us the code to a storage closet so we could store out stuff while we explored during the sunrise.

We got a double air-con room for 400B. Wifi on every floor. Great restaurant downstairs, but you can get cheaper food elsewhere. Try the Khao Soy right next store!

The staff is excellent, T and his sister both. His sister got us tickets to Elephant Nature Park, and got us a discount for a cooking class. Also, unlike other guesthouses (in other cities mainly) who try to rip you off with internet, their PC cafe only charged 15B an hour.

Overall, great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#26 of 395 in Chiang Mai
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#90 of 395 in Chiang Mai
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#39 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 395 in Chiang Mai
959 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Night Bazaar Inn
Night Bazaar Inn
#94 of 395 in Chiang Mai
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Hotel @ Old City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Hotel @ Old City Center

Address: 57 Ratchaphakhinai Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai, Thailand (Formerly TK Guest House)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #484 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £20 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Key Hotel @ Old City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Key Hotel @ Old City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tk Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing