We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel, poor customer service”
Review of Na Thapae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Na Thapae Hotel
Ranked #222 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“wonderful hotel, poor customer service”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I would give this hotel an excellent if it wasn't for my negative experience with the manager.

On our first night there was a dog just across the lane that was constantly barking. The next morning I asked to be moved to a room in the back (further from the dog). The manager said "no, the dog doesn't always bark". She then turned around and walked away. I approached her later in the day and she informed me that the hotel was expecting many guests and she could not move me. I accepted that explanation.The hotel was virtually empty at that time though.

The next night, I was awoken at 11.30pm by the dog, went downstairs and asked the owner if I could please be moved. The owner obliged and we were moved to another room. A bit frustrating to have to deal with a room switch in the middle of the night. The many "expected guests" never did show up.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southshore74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    51
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
3
33
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

As the title states, boutique feel on a budget price tag
Great looking hotel on a quiet soi opposite Thapae gate in the old town be sure to turn left out the hotel, right then immediate left down thecentry to pop out in la khroi road near chez marco restaurant and for night bazar
Rooms were great, large with massive beds good tv and basic bathroom
The staff who runnthe hotel Areca family of four of the nicest sweetest Thai women I have ever met and really instil your faith in the Thai people not that you need to be, just that there is only so much suit selling, dodgy tuktuk and scams going on over there by people who at first glance, seem genuine
The rooms were spotless and serviced every day, the staff won't come in your room with shoes on and scrub the place till it's gleaming
Every time I walked in the staff would get out their seats and way to me, I felt like royalty
I would stay here for the feel and location and also the price
Negatives were the breakfast it was an egg bar, omelette fried or scrambled great if you like that but I am very carnivorous
My bathrooms was bare walled, like plaster and I assumed that the place was being refurbed until I seen some Thais check in on my last day to a beautifully tiles bathroom which annoyed me as I had booked and paid last year so thought I should have had a better room, maybe cos I was a foreigner, maybe cos I should have complained but the staff really are that nice I couldn't bring myself to do it
Each floor has an open air seating area which is beautiful and rooms have air con which is a but tired and noisy to be fair but these are minor gripes in a great cheap boutique hotel, would have been happy at twicevthe price very peaceful no partiers or backpackers would be good for kids the place even has signs up to take your shoes off if they make too much noise, in a nice way

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The room quality is reflected in the price. It's a bit more expensive then many of the other hotels around Chaing Mai but the building including the rooms and bathrooms were brilliant. Very clean all the time, so much so I felt guilt walking to my room with shoes on and often took them off. Breakfast was brilliant. The only fault I have was with the Staff, they seemed to look down on us like we were an inconvience, then when we left they tried to charge us for lots of silly things. They first said we had to pay for 4 towels because they were too mucky to clean, however after I asked to see the towels they quickly took the charge off our bill. Eventually we only had to pay for one hand towel because apparently there was mud on it...but they wouldn't show us this either. I would recommend staying here, just try and stay as clean as the hotel.

Room Tip: They replace the free drinking water so take advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I stayed here for two nights at $50 AUS a night. The girls working the hotel were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help out (even dragging my heavy luggage up the stairs). The rooms are very large and comfortable. Breakfast was good and quick. My taxi driver had no problem finding it. They were buidling a house over the road at the time of my vist, so taking a nap in the afternoon proved difficult.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This hotel is pleasure to stay at. I found the staff very nice. The facilities were good. Any request was met with a happy smile. Good location to everything and only a short walk to the night market. VERY recommend this hotel to all who wants a relaxing staying.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrico05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I have stayed in a lot of hotels arond the world. This small boutique hotel is pleasure to stay at. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The facilities were first class. Any request was met with a happy smile. Good location to everything and only a short walk to the night market. A good thing is the hotel is in a very quiet street ,so a very restful time can be had by all. I would not hesitate to stay again and also recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Very beautiful in website but the real is difference., Clean and quietly. Should high light "There is Boutique Hotel" not just only Hotel. Hospitality and helpful receptionist.
You have to pay for room charge on check in date.
1,500 THB is still high for just Boutique Hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWANGTUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#77 of 381 in Chiang Mai
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#156 of 381 in Chiang Mai
633 reviews
0.0 mi away
P21 Chiangmai Hotel
P21 Chiangmai Hotel
#58 of 736 in Chiang Mai
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Portico 21
Portico 21
#326 of 736 in Chiang Mai
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Origin
Hotel de Origin
#143 of 736 in Chiang Mai
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luna Guesthouse 2
Luna Guesthouse 2
#237 of 825 in Chiang Mai
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Thapae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Thapae Hotel

Property: Na Thapae Hotel
Address: 9-11 Thapae Road, Lane 6 | T.Changklan, A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Thapae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Na Thapae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing