We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good rooms at great rate”
Review of Na Thapae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Na Thapae Hotel
Ranked #211 of 808 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Location is ideal, close to the main city gate with the same name. Rooms have good size and large bed, Simple badroom.
Breakfast choice very limited.
Good for 1-2 nights when visiting the city and area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Although my stay her was pleasant, I thought it would have been closer to the night bizarre. As a lone female traveler I didn't like the location in a dark back alley- and te doors were never secured.

Morning staff was very helpful and breakfast was limited but good! Afternoon staff was very unfriendly and made me feel like I was an inconvenience. Wouldn't help me with how taxis worked or getting one to come to take me to the airport. Had to carry all my luggage and gifts to a Main Street where I could get a tuk tuk. We're not accommodating to having a late check out, but kept your bags in the hallway for you while you toured.

Not a great place if you want good sleep. Bed was uncomfortable and having a room right by reception it was very loud and disturbing. Would recommend staying on the second floor but then you would be disturbed by breakfast.

Overall it was a decent stay and good for the price. I would not come back on due to the location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

I will be contacting the customer service with the agent that I booked it with. The staff here were so unfriendly. They said no to every request. From an extra towel to extra toilet paper. Everything was NO and they said against policy for everything and it was like we were an inconvenience. I saw other reviews and didn't think it was a big deal but it actually is.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Chiang Mai's cool, but inexplicably overrated. That said, you gotta see it once to know that for yourself, because it's hard to believe just reading it. And since you'll need a hotel to find that out for yourself, this is a pretty good one in the context of hotels in Southeast Asia. It's pretty no-frills and extremely overpriced, but the ladies who operate it are friendly, but communication skills are very limited (unless you speak Thai). Just manage your expectations here. Room was clean and fairly charming during the five honeymoon nights my wife and I spent there, but the aircon didn't work properly (literally not cool in the hottest months). Walking distance to one of the sleaziest streets in Asia (Loy Kroh Road), which middle aged Australians, Germans, and Americans seem to helplessly gravitate toward. Breakfast is "aight" but there's no fresh coffee (also typical in Asia, unfortunately).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oztin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel was booked for me online so was unsure what we would find, it took a bit of finding but when we did we found a little gem, both my girlfriend & I enjoyed it a lot, its tucked away in a small soi right in the old quarter of Chiang Mai , close to everything this delightful city as to offer, the all female staff couldn't have been more helpful, the room spacious & clean, breakfast not up to much but ok, definitely would stay again, superb.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wills1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I was so lucky to find this place! It is located a very short walk from the ThaPae Gate and with that the eastern end of the Sunday Walking Street, everything the Old City has to offer, an easy walk to the Night Bazaar, and countless restaurants, bars, and yet it is located in a very quiet Soi. It truly offers the best of both worlds.
The hotel is, as the title says, delightful. The manager and staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, good airconditioners, and there are really nice "home style" touches everywhere. Each of the three levels has a balcony or courtyard (at ground level) to sit and relax, read a book, or regroup for your next venture into this great city.
I guess the one thing I did notice was a lack of power points, there are none in the bathroom, however there is a hairdryer in a make-up table in the room, and my shaver is cordless so no big issue for me. There is no lift but the stairs are really wide and accessible.
I booked online and the rate was very good, for the price I paid I did not expect anything half this good, and I would definitely stay here again. My recommendation, if you are active and like to get out and explore, book 5 to 7 days here, the location caters to all, really, whether you want to hit the ground running or spend some time relaxing. I notice other reviewers have mentioned dogs and pigeons, yes, I heard them occassionally but to me it added to the homey feel of the place. It really is a home away from home. Book it and enjoy!

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, book a ground floor room. Everything is accessible from here, so just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The hotel is in a very good location on a side street off Kotchasam Road, a main road by the Thapae Gate where there are many restaurants, a 7-11 store and ATM machines. It's also a 15 minute walk to the night market and Chaing Mai's famous Walking Street. The reception staff are friendly, always smiling and eager to help. All speak good English. However, all the reception staff need to improve on their information service like knowing exactly the location of places - for example: the nearest Tourist Information and ATM machine which was at the next street on the corner of Kotchasam Road. There's a security guard at night at the entrance which is a plus. Breakfast is American style - eggs, ham, whole wheat bread, jam, orange juice, mineral water, cereal but instant coffee, margarine (no butter) and tea. There's a comfortable lounge area on the second floor with books, brochures and travel information - the same at the reception entrance - another plus. The rooms are very clean. In-room Internet is very good. You'll need ear plugs at night if you are a light sleeper. There's a barking dog across the street that starts barking in the early hours of the morning non-stop. Also, pigeons have made the roof their home and you'll hear them too in the morning if you have a room on the third floor. We did in Room 313. You won't find many amenities in your room, like tissues, a comb, q-tips, radio, alarm clock - just shower gel-soap, shower cap and shampoo. Pillows are hard. The hotel should consider offering guests softer pillows. Tip = ask for a room towards the back of the hotel, maybe you won't hear the barking dog and pigeon noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel, maybe you won't hear the barking dog and pigeon n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#186 of 394 in Chiang Mai
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#65 of 394 in Chiang Mai
473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#171 of 394 in Chiang Mai
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#86 of 394 in Chiang Mai
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Thapae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Thapae Hotel

Address: 9-11 Thapae Road, Lane 6 | T.Changklan, A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 808 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £22 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Thapae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Na Thapae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing