We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”
Review of Vieng Mantra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Ranked #51 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The hotel is in the old quarter, very central and close to the sunday market. The rooms are a good standard, clean, quiet and with a very nice balcony. The pool is a good size, clean and much appreciated at the end of the day. The breakfast buffet offers american and asian choices, fresh fruits and a good selection of juices, tea, coffee. It's fresh and well prepared. Two bottles of water are provided free everyday and there is a fridge in the room. A very good base from which to explore Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curieuse12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    173
    49
    17
    8
See reviews for
43
185
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Located in a very quiet street of the old town, just off the main street where the Sunday Walking Street market is held. Easy walk to temples and city wall. Rooms very comfortable and the pool is nice for a swim after a day of sightseeing. Plenty of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers_tassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

The city of Chiang Mai is not very clean, so when we were approaching our hotel and saw the street was dirty, we were concerned. Once we were in the lobby, we were happily greeted and were promptly shown our room. There are no elevators in the 3-story hotel, but we didn't mind, and the hosts brought up our luggage for us (we were on the 2nd floor). The room was clean and quite nice -- the bed is very hard, which was fine for both my husband and I, but may not be for some. We had a room that overlooked the pool and it was a nice scene. The bathroom had a separate shower area which we were told in advance by our daughter to look for when booking a hotel. The breakfast was included in our stay, and was really delicious! There is no lunch or dinner service at the hotel, but you can find any kind of food you want just walking around. This hotel is about a block away from the Sunday Night Market, which was a pleasantly incredible experience -- don't miss it! We didn't experience any problem with noise from the market. Don't let the dirty street on which the hotel is located be a turn-off...you will like the Vieng Mantra! The swimming pool, albeit very clean, was also cold because there is virtually no sunlight hitting it. There is free internet downstairs by the pool, and the TV in the room was a good size. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsummer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Fairly new boutique hotel, down a little lane just inside the wall of the old city. Outside aoppearances were deceiving as beautifully kept inside. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was buffet with all the usual choices.The rooms were big and each had a balcony. Ours overlooked the pool, which was lovely. The location was great as near to lots of food outlets and the Sunday night markets were just aroung the corner. There are no lifts and it was 33 steps to our room. We were very fit by the end of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddie044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Vieng Mantra is conveniently located in the old town, within walking distance to the big temples, on a quiet side street. On Sunday evenings, it's one block away from the Sunday market so I could roam around and not worry about a long walk back to the hotel late at night.

The rooms were nice sized, the beds very comfortable and firm. The bathroom was clean, but the water didn't drain as fast as it should have, so I ended up showering in some standing water after 5 minutes. I only wished that the room and bathroom had better lighting. Each room had a small refrigerator (2 free bottles of water a day), AC, safety deposit box, and a phone. I used the phone to make a long-distance call to Bangkok to book a tour there and the price they charged me was very reasonable (~$2 for an 8 minute call). Each room also has a balcony with a comfortable bench for reading (or dozing), which I used quite a bit during my 3 day stay here. The staff were helpful and friendly. I arrived early, before check-in time, and they made every effort possible to get me into a room as quickly as possible. Breakfast was simple but yummy. The pool looked nice but it was shallow and the water quite cold; good for cooling off but not really useful for a nice swim. There are 2 computers with free internet connection next to the pool that any guest can use. Also next to the pool are divans for just lazing about on a warm afternoon; the location gets a constant breeze so it's quite pleasant and the guests seem to use it quite a bit.
After walking around town I realized what a good find Vieng Mantra was - the location could not have been better; most of the newer hotels are in the newer part of town outside the old city wall and much further away from the temples and places of interest. For the price I paid (~$40/night including breakfast) Vieng Mantra was a very good deal. I would definitely return to this hotel if I ever came back to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstonturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We had moved here from another pretty average hotel in Chiang Mai. As soon as I got here, I was blown away and thought 'finally, Im on holidays!'. The staff were happy and friendly. The decor very charming, lots of wood and in the restaurant area lots of green leafiness which makes you feel like you feel into a little tropical haven. The room, clean, fragrant and with lots of little finishing touches. I also enjoyed the massive windows, lots of sunlight and a fabulous balcony overlooking a clean and inviting swimming pool. Also enjoyed a quality breakfast. They provide a decent flatscreen tv and they've got a massive list of DVDs to watch/borrow (no charge). The location, surprisingly good! Didnt realise it when I booked this place, but it is located just within the main city walls and even better, the hotel is located on a small road off the main, so its actual location is quiet, yet close to the main shopping areas. We were lucky enough to be here during christmas and new years festivities, so night markets and great food has been plentiful. Another point to note, it appears that the shops and restaurants on 'this side of the wall' aren't as seedy (boy! so glad we left that last place).
The closest pharmacy to us were able to give us friendly and very sound medical advice (in english as well). The restaurants on this side appear to be cheaper (or less inflated, rather). The exchange rates seem to be better on this side of the wall as well (amazing.) There are good vegetarian restaurants nearby. And the local big temple have some young english speaking monks who I found interesting to talk to.

Only problem we had with this place was it was so well hidden that our taxi driver took longer than expected to find it. But other than that, wish we had transferred over to this place earlier. Really happy with this smaller boutique hotel, am writing this review as I sit in my beautiful hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nguyenlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We stayed in the Vieng Mantra Hotel between 3-9 Dec 2010 and had a very nice stay. The location is ideal, within the old city, and close to typical Thai restaurants, massages and other attractions. We first booked only 2 nights and stayed in a Superior room, but extended on the 2nd day our stay for another 5 nights. We extended our stay due to the great vibe of the old city and attraction of this small hotel. Exactly what we were looking for. They upgraded us for the same price to a Deluxe Room with Pool view. Thank you very much! The rooms are very clean and more than adequate in size. Free WIFI is very fast. The breakfast is just fine, nothing too fancy. The staff is very helpful, good English levels. There isn't much sun around the pool, so if you are looking for a hotel in which you want to spend days around the pool and sunbath, don't come here. But, as there is so much to do in Chiang Mai and around, I wouldn't recommend anyone to just sit around the pool for days! But the minute you enter the hotel you are in an oasis of calm.
Try the Smart Cook day class with the farm excursion, just fabulous! When leaving the hotel lobby, turn left, right and straight on. This will bring you to another small area of Chiang Mai with small restaurants, very nice. Please avoid staying outside the old city, as this area is very touristic and filled with doubtful bars.
Overall, we were extremely happy with this hotel and would definitely recommend it.
Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#70 of 381 in Chiang Mai
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#103 of 381 in Chiang Mai
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 381 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#96 of 381 in Chiang Mai
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#37 of 736 in Chiang Mai
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 736 in Chiang Mai
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vieng Mantra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieng Mantra Hotel

Property: Vieng Mantra Hotel
Address: 9 Ratchadamneon Rd. Soi 1 | Si Phum Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Vieng Lanna Mantra)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vieng Mantra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vieng Mantra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vieng Lanna Mantra Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing