We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come and enjoy Chiang Mai”
Review of Chang Thai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chang Thai House
Ranked #103 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Come and enjoy Chiang Mai”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Chaing Mai House hotel was quaint and affordable. The service was excellent and the staff and facilities immaculate and clean. Breakfast buffet was wonderful as well. The pool is salt water and very clean, refreshing and inviting.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cameltoebrewery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    123
    57
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
159
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Had a great stay at this hotel service was fantastic rooms were good an clean. Quiet location but easy access to the city. Only minor faults were the breakfast was only luke warm an the pool was freezing so 5 minutes at a time was max . Would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobyjug1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

A nice hotel , rooms are great, hot shower, nice bathroom, tv and air con and an outdoor balcony. The pool is great and has outdoor shower also. The staff are nice and helpful with tours. They have a bar and restraunt, staffing is a little slack sometimes but nothing to worry about still great service. About 5 mins walk to the night bazaa and markets & restraunts but still nicely hidden away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sibbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I was so relieved to walk into the room at Chang Thai House. The beds were clean, the bathroom was modern and beautiful - our stay was fantastic. The complimentary breakfast is a buffet that is decent, and the staff are friendly. We stayed there at the end of Oct. 2011. I would definitely go back. Room price was approx. 750 Baht. Be sure to bargain for a better deal! It is a bit hard to find as it is tucked away on an off road. A few tuk tuk drivers had issues locating it (only con of the place).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Pros:
Young stuff, very nice and eager to assist you with any problems and/or questions you may have. The rooms are big with nice view of Chiang Mai city. There is also a nice little pool for a late evening dip.

Cons:
Located in a dark and narrow alley, amongst some poor Thai people houses. It's a bit far from the night bazaar. The breakfast is awful but you get for what you paid for. One very annoying thing is that the room is surrounded with huge windows (which is great for the view) but the curtains are very thin and quite transparent so you get too much light very early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, the view is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuk-Tuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishoej, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We was visited this hotel for 1 year ago, and then find it very well, so we came back again this year, but we dont find the hotel in same state. Room still clean, but looks very used.
Breakfast was changed from "made by order" to buffe, with cold food, cold freid eggs, sausages and ham. Same breakfast 8 day's. Not good. No food avaible in the evening.
Missing shelves to place our clothes on.
Still good pool.
The people in the reception, was quiet bussy talking together or in phone, even if people was waiting for service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed three nights and we had a bad experience: there is some positive point, and there are some issues about us but also for any travellers.
The hotel is located just near the old city, on the south-east. More activities outside the city are on the north or north-west. So, most of visitors stay no more than a couple of nights.
We arrived early in the morning from the night train. We waited until 2 pm to access to rooms. Actually, they told us to wait. A half-hour later, we went to the swimming pool. An hour later, I asked when rooms are ready. They told us that rooms are not ready before 2 pm, as stated in the rooms' conditions. So we went to the city to wait until the due time. It gives us a bad feeling about service.
The swimming pool is small. Only few people may use it simultaneously. They are towels. But you must ask for them and wait. Moreover, it seems unpleasant for staff to spend efforts to provide towels. At the end, I saw other residents asking where to leave towels. It was a shame, but the staff was insulting them because they didn’t find the towels’ bag.
The room is spacious and furniture is new. There is a flat TV screen. Room is not especially clean. The disaster is the bathroom. Quite original but not designed to be used: there is small mirror, just bigger that a stamp! It is quite difficult to shave you. There is a wood window between the room and the bathroom, just in front of the sink. It should be clever to put a mirror. No electric plug for sure. The worst is the window: the glasses are in such manner that you heard noisy neighbors and you host mosquitoes from fountains around the hotel. There is an issue to close doors of the rooms. It is better to not let anything.
The breakfast was included but the choice was limited. There is a free internet access and WiFi in the rooms. There is one lift to access to floors. The lobby is very small.
Back at home, I checked other travellers’ opinion that I used to select this hotel. I’m afraid that the hotel generates his owns opinion: I can understand how they are proud on their hotel.
But definitively, I afraid that staff is not as friendly as described. Finnaly, familly are not welcomed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ParisNicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#69 of 383 in Chiang Mai
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viangdara Hotel
Viangdara Hotel
#134 of 383 in Chiang Mai
4 reviews
0.9 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#35 of 747 in Chiang Mai
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#70 of 747 in Chiang Mai
332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#6 of 747 in Chiang Mai
225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Naview @Prasingh
Le Naview @Prasingh
#12 of 846 in Chiang Mai
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Thai House

Property: Chang Thai House
Address: 6/2 Rakeang Rd | Soi 2 T. Haiya A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Thai House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chang Thai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing