We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chang Thai House”
Review of Chang Thai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chang Thai House
Ranked #143 of 834 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a lovely hidden away hotel, only a 10minute walk to the heart of Chiang Mai. It is an authentic hotel with nice clean rooms all of which are very spacious.

We stayed for three nights in April and we were really glad we did, the hotel catered for all our needs, it was clean, the staff were very friendly and there was a great breakfast buffet included in the price.

The only slight problem was that although the reception staff were very friendly they didn't speak great English so when we asked for advice about the day trips they didn't understand what we were saying and were unable to help organise them however there is a hotel just down the road that can help organise trips.

All in all a charming hotel at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel_Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here, nice pool (small) but our kids didn't mind, water cool ish but refreshing after a hot day out. Breakfast area gorgeous with a little waterfall on the wall and goldfish all around. Our rooms 301 and 302 on the third floor where nice, only downside was the air conditioning which blew right in yr face at night, but it was too hot not to have it on, cleaners and restaurant staff very friendly but front desk staff were more interested in playing games on Facebook than helping out. Most questions we asked were met with blank looks or answered with a no. I asked if we could book a cab to go out to visit a tribe and they said we could go out and book ourselves, walked 1 minute to another hotel and they offered to book it for us and we weren't even staying there. Got an electric shock twice from plugging in my USB cable to the computer, told the front desk staff, they walked over, looked at it and that was all! They really don't care at all about your stay, so unusual compared to everywhere we have stayed. There is a really lovely talkative breakfast guy, he should be in the front desk! Loved the hotel, very cute and pretty, just the front desk guy and girl slightly spoiled it. When u leave hotel, turn left not right if u want to head towards town, we got a bit lost after being misdirected.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahEllisKirifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We went 2 nights to chang thai house. The rooms are authentic, staff superfriendly. Price/quality perfect. A 2 minutes walk to the street gives you access to the tuk-tuks that bring you everywhere in the city for 40-80 baht. We enjoyed tthe pool and breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We were a party of 6 and whilst one couple had a 'deluxe' room on the 3rd floor (1200 baht per night inc breakfast) which was quite adequate, we opted for the Grand Deluxe on the 6th (top) floor (3000 baht per night inc breakfast). The hotel has 3 rooms like this. This review covers the Grand Deluxe Room. We stayed 4 nights. The large room is essentially open plan with curtains and screens around the bathroom area to preserve modesty. There is air con which is quiet and a large ceiling fan. The room has windows on all four sides and is a little like being in a lighthouse, it has terrific views of the mountains (which were mostly obscured by smoke in the atmosphere caused by burning off the rice paddy fields further north) and of the city. There is a double jaccuzzi bath which takes a long time to fill - but due to the hard water the bath water will not foam, good fun though! A small wardrobe is provided which means some clothes must be kept in cases for storage. The bed is very large and comfortable. It was not noisy and we slept well. There is a fridge that is stocked with some beer, soft drinks, fruit etc and these are included in the tarrif. Outside the room there is a private patio seating area which has a 'water feature' consisting of a small pool and waterfall effect that operates on a timer in the morning and evening. We used the laundry service which was efficient and reasonably priced. The hotel owned massage facility opposite needs pre booking and was quite expensive in relation to others nearby.
Breakfasts were taken in the outdoor restaurant on the ground floor and there was a reasonable choice of both international and asian cuisine with the usual 'egg cooking' station available. Tea and coffee was a little stewed but acceptable.
The small pool suffers from a lack of direct sunlight due to its posiion and pool towels were not immediately available on the 2 out of 3 occasions we requested them but eventually some fresh towels were found. Use the pool with a little caution, one of our party developed an eye infection after swimming which may or may not be related to the water - I didn't notice it being tested or treated at all. All the hotel staff are young , keen and helpful,they all have quite good English.
Location of the hotel is quite good. It is situated on a road that looks typical of the side roads in Chiang Mai, not altogether salubrious but nevertheless ok. Positioned just outside the city walls it is a 5 minute walk to the moat which surrounds the old city. This means it is quieter than other locations. The hotel is tidy and well kept and the standard of housekeeping was good.

Room Tip: A view of the mountains will generally be more attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaydubya-Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We just stayed for one night but we would like to have stayed one or two more nights.
Clean place, clean and big rooms. Also a good balcony.
Small swimming poll but the hotel is also small.
Old city it's very near and the train station it is about 10/15 min. walking.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Hotel is just outside Old City walls. It's 10-15 minutes for the airport by taxi. The location is good as you can walk to the old city in 5-10 minutes and you can also walk to the Night market area in about 15ish minutes. Rooms were a good size. Had a small balcony overlooking the city. The rooms on the 5th floor had strange but nice features. There are windows onto the hotel corridor from each room (curtained for privacy) and the bathrooms have a window into the main hotel room (can close). All seemed strange to begin with but the rooms was very nice. Could have easily stayed for longer

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Nice 3 star hotel just off the old city and not far from Chiang Mai Gate. The room was quite good and clean. The breakfast was simple with a selection of a few dishes of thai and western cuisine. Fare enough to fill your tummy till proper lunch. There are a few restaurants/eateries at Son Donchai Rd just minutes from the hotel. In any way taxi is cheap enough to travel around or you can even explore the neighbourhood by foot and chill in the pool afterwards... The only thing that soap wasn't provided

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#128 of 402 in Chiang Mai
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#84 of 834 in Chiang Mai
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
#46 of 834 in Chiang Mai
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#12 of 834 in Chiang Mai
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Karou Lotus Hotel
Karou Lotus Hotel
#169 of 834 in Chiang Mai
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viang Dara
Viang Dara
#225 of 834 in Chiang Mai
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Thai House

Address: 6/2 Rakeang Rd | Soi 2 T. Haiya A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 834 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £23 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Thai House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chang Thai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing