We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good For 3 Star Hotel”
Review of Chang Thai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chang Thai House
Ranked #104 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good For 3 Star Hotel”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Hotel is near to the City Center, Night Bazaar, Saturday Bazaar, Bars and Market. Staff is friendly. Good breakfast (same everyday). Sound isolation from external noise is poor (was not a big problem for us). Water in pool is clear. Not allowed to smoke in room, at lobby and pool.
!!!VERY GOOD HOTEL FOR THIS PRICE!!!

Room Tip: Our room was at 3rd floor (302). Also poor noise isolation in toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    123
    55
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
159
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we were given a room right behind the reception area. The evening staff are young and inexperienced. They talked all night at a counter that was right next to our glass doors. The TV in the reception was turned on really early in the morning and the cleaners store room was right near our room so there was banging of doors from very early in the morning. My advice is do not get a room on the first floor (which we call the ground floor). The higher floors are probably quieter.

The rooms are basic but have everything we needed. They are cleaned really well. They do have a mirror in the bathroom but it is not above the sink which has a wooden window opening onto the bedroom, but above the toilet. There is no fan in the bathroom but they have openings in the bathroom windows (which again does not help with the noise levels). There are also 2 long windows in the wall which separates the room from the foyer which again make the room less noise proof.

We had our tours booked online before we arrived and I informed them of this so I was not bothered to use their services. I also found a laundry just down the street which charged 30 baht per kilo. There are no footpaths on the street the hotel is on but that is a general problem in Chiang Mai. About a 10 min walk to the night market and Sunday market and close to the airport.

Breakfast was provided daily but was the same everyday and pretty basic. Dinner was available from 6pm with last orders taken at 6:30pm. This was too early for us and so we always ate out.

Quiet location. Staff do not smile and are not very friendly. Ok hotel for the price but would probably pay a bit more and stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived and was greeted by a man named je-je who came across really friendly. But soon found out that he is trying to rip you off at evey opportunity.
He was trying to sell us a elephant tour. We already had a tour in mind called woody's elephant tour because of the reviews were really good and positive about the way they treat the elephant's. He was telling us it was fully booked and I must use there one . During the day there was regularly people complaining that the tour was very bad with animal cruelty.
We went to a small hotel near to us and booked woody's there (it was not fully booked).
Je-je then became very hostile and we was very nervous the whole time we was there he was rude and treated us like dirt.
He then kicked us out the hotel at 8am saying the room was booked by someone else.
We went to a small hotel nearby and told them what happened and they said they regularly do this at the thai house and he is constantly ripping people off.
The hotel itself had no hot water
And was very dirty. Dogs were running around weeing on the restaurant floor. Do not recommend to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottlb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel is a close drive to the airport (it was 120 baht from the airport, and we hired a private taxi to go back for 200 baht from the front desk).

The hotel is a small hotel off the main road. It is however within walking distance to the night bazaar which is a bonus. I have read some reviews on this hotel, and while the bed was hard, we found that small hotels in Thailand often have this problem. Our room was on the first floor, so at times we heard the staff talking while setting up breakfast. I would definitely recommend a room on a higher floor.

Additionally, after reading some of the other reviews, the staff does not try to rip you off but it is always more expensive to get a taxi than one of the red taxi trucks. If you want a driver all day, find someone off the street and bargain (we got one for 1000 baht for the day, and he waited while we visited temples, tiger kingdom, etc). We booked an elephant tour through the front desk and also considered a cooking class. Although not all the staff have great English we did not have any problems with anyone being rude. Some staff knew English better than others. Smiling and saying thank you to the staff goes a long way when in Thailand. Demanding things be done, or asking in a rude way will not get you the response you want (in any country). We actually found the staff to be quite pleasant and nice to ask, asking us how we were and what we had been up to when we returned.

We found a small laundry place on the street that does laundry for 30baht/kilo.

The breakfast was pretty good, and we always got made to order eggs.

The rooms are traditional and the shower did as others say not always get too hot. The trick was to only turn the water level on medium (meaning you can't use the rain shower head) to get the really hot water. There is only a small box heating the water so if you use less water, the water will be hotter. Keep in mind, we went in December when it gets chilly at night and in the mornings, I'm sure in the summer months it isn't an issue.

Overall the location of the hotel was pretty good and we had no complaints.

Room Tip: Get a high level room, ground floor rooms are quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahhin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

First, the good. We stayed in the royal suite with our 15 and 11 year old sons for 8 nights. The suite is one large room with a curtained off Jacuzzi tub and a rainfall shower that had a beautiful view over the city as I was taking a shower. In addtion to the queen bed and a daybed in the room, we rented a rollaway bed. The hotel has a free breakfast buffet with both western and thai food from 6:30am to 10:30am. The food was good, if not spectacular, and the breakfast staff was very attentive and friendly. The cleaning staff did a great job. The hotel is located just outside the walled city on the southeast corner and you can walk to the Night Bazaar, and both the Saturday and Sunday street markets in 15 minutes or less. We walked throughout the neighborhood and never felt unsafe, even after dark.

Now the bad. The front desk staff was rude and would not fulfill the simplest requests you can make of a hotel. We were there in December and at night the temps were 50F. Understandably there is no heat in the hotel and we requested an extra blanket for each bed. They informed us that they were out of blankets as the hotel was full and that we already had enough blankets. (I was told this during the day while the desk clerk was wearing a winter coat and hat.) If they don't have enough blankets, borrow one from the hotel next door or buy one. Everything in Chiang Mai is cheap! They also would not give us an extra towel (my wife likes one for her hair). The hot water in the room was luke warm (we took every shower with the water turned on full hot). Ask the staff to turn up the water temp to your room as we heard someone else do midway through our stay. It seemed to get warmer but we still turned the shower to full hot. The Jacuzzi tub takes forever to fill. We literally let the water run for almost 2 hours to get the water level over the top of the jets (about 1/3 full).

Finally, you can use them to book excursions where the price is published (elephant camp and zip lining) but don't use them to line up taxis for the day or ask them to negotiate for you. You won't get a deal. They offered us an all day taxi for 1500 baht (roughly $45US) and then came down to 1400 when we were hesitant. The next day we got our own taxi for 1000 and he drove us around for 7 hours (up the mountain to the Hmong village, the zoo, Doi Suthep, etc).

Bottom line: If the front desk staff provided even average customer service, this could be a great hotel.

Room Tip: My wife and I thought the royal suite was a beautiful room. If you need privacy for your bathroom h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Savage_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We have been travelling to Thailand for more that 15 years and should have known better than to trust photos etc.The chang thai house was not as it seems.To ensure that we had a comfortable room we booked the royal suite (should say royal room ). There is no wardrobe to hang your clothes and a sad lacking of hot water (tepid was the best achieved).The bed was extremely hard which is supposedly standard for a guest house. The rate included breakfast, free mini bar and fresh fruit daily. The mini bar and the fruit was replenished only once in 5 days. The breakfast staff were lovely, however the food was not kept hot
Standard rooms look good but not sure of rates
Best and only features are clean and close to markets
Would not stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamonds48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel is the epitome of the quote "you only get what you pay for"- old, rock hard beds. The hotel however is quite clean and is in a convenient location. If you are a tourist not familiar with Chiang Mai and cannot speak thai, DO NOT STAY HERE! I have been to chiang mai before and had booked many day trips. I required some help from the receptionists at the hotel who were blatantly rude and have no interest whatsoever in assisting you with travel advice unless you are interested in one of the hotels few tours. There is one particular young man at reception who has a conniving smile and is outrageously rude and sarcastic, telling me i was "stupid" for booking to visit the thai elephant conservation park just an hours drive away and telling me it was impossible to organise transport for me. I ended up going to another hotel who booked a taxi for me without any issue whatsoever.

In summary do not stay here if you want any help at all with your travel plans in chiang mai.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#47 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#63 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.9 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#115 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#68 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cozytel
Cozytel
#19 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Thai House

Property: Chang Thai House
Address: 6/2 Rakeang Rd | Soi 2 T. Haiya A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Thai House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chang Thai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing