We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Chiang Mai Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chang Thai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chang Thai House
Ranked #97 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Ishoej, Denmark
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Chiang Mai Value for money”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Hotel Chang Thai House are a quit new hotel open in december 2009, so it is a very new hotel very nice swimming pool and outside it look like a clean hotel. You had everything you need including Aircon. And free Interne. The cleaning og room can be better, but just ask for it The staff are great staff.
Just 10 minute of walk bring you to the Old City or to Night Marked.
It cost only about 50 baht for a TukTuk from old city and about 40 baht from Night Marked to the hotel.
When we come back to CM, we will stay here.
We were staying at the 5. floor, in room 501 with a great view over the city. was up looking on the 6. floor WAW !!NICE BIG ROOM and a small "garden" to.
Please take care, there are another hotel wit nearly the same name. This hotel are also fine, and a little bit cheaper. (Chiang Mai Thai Hotel)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    122
    54
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
158
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed in 4 different hotels in chiang mai. This was the best value for money. Rooms are very nice, new, modern decoration, nicer than usual. nice pool. Great location - central but not noisy. If the taxi driver does not know the place tell them it is near "Winner Inn" which is an older establishment. You can't go wrong. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tifferet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Large and very clean rooms, a great staff, friendly and always ready to help us.

The bar / restaurant is quite and nice, too. The pool is not very large, not as large as the pictures on Internet, but pleasant.
10 mn walk to the night Bazaar, a little bit further from old city, but you can easily find a tuk tuk.

Take Care, this hotel is not already well known by taxis and tuk tuk, so check they know it !

Definitively a good hotel offering excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom_and_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Found this hotel through various websites and saw some pictures and was sold. One standout thing was that the hotel looked exactly like in the pictures, with the room furniture, decor etc.

Its a fairly new hotel, so one would expect it to be a very clean hotel. It's also one with everything you could ask for. Airconditioning? Yes. Hot water? Yes. Clean towels? Yes. Comfy bed? Yes. High speed internet? Yes. Great staff? Yes. Breakfast was included in our stay, and while the choices offered were limited, it doesnt matter when they do it very well. The continental breakfast of toast, with eggs and bacon/ham was always satisfying, so too was the muesli with fruit.

Location wise, its away from all the hustle and bustle from the old city, but still relatively close by. A 10 minute walk should get you to wherever you want. Its also a great way to see the town when walking by the moats at night back or to the hotel. Shouldnt be paying more than 60 baht per tuk tuk trip to the hotel from the city, so don't be overpaying them.

If i were to come back, i'd definitely stay here, and will recommend this place to anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We had a great stay at Chang Thai house! great hotel, very very clean, great staff (most of them speak good English), great breakfast.
The rooms are huge and new, and everything is so clean and tidy.
the pool is medium sized.. not too big, but big enough to swim around it. they give out towels for the pool :-)
The staff is so friendly, and they clean the room daily, and give out 2 bottles of mineral water a day.
The bar and restaurants are also great, lots of food and drinks, not too expensive.
the location is nice - not right in the center, but its close enough. lots of restaurants and 7-elevens around, and the street is quiet at night.

WATCH OUT - there is another hotel in the city with a very similar name - "chiang mai thai house", and this is "chang thai house" - we took a taxi from the airport and of course we arrived to the wrong hotel, and then we had to find another taxi and pay extra - so before u pay the taxi driver, make sure you're at the right hotel!

excellent hotel, totally coming back here again :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanharel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2010

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chiang Mai! It is immaculate, the staff is fantastic, and it is a short walk from the Old City - it was by far our favourite hotel in Thailand. The hotel (including rooms!!) is beautifully decorated in Lanna-style furniture and finishings and the rooms are extremely comfortable. The pictures found on their website actually represent the hotel, we didn't feel mislead in any way. The staff is eager to make guests' stay as pleasant as possible and everyone is so kind - one employee even offered to drive her scooter to the market for us because we wanted some fruit but it was raining heavily. Everything from our airport pick-up, to check-in, and check-out went smoothly thanks to their wonderful staff. As for the food in the restaurant, it's very good. When we stayed there, guests had a choice of complimentary American breakfast (includes eggs either fried, scrambled, or omelette, bacon or sausage, and toast), Continental breakfast, and porridge with fruit for breakfast. It is served with juice and coffee/tea. Finally, it is not located within the Old City, which some might find inconvenient, but it is only a 5 minute walk to the Old City gates or a short tuk-tuk drive to the temples situated in the northern area of the Old City (my partner and I walked instead, completely reasonable). And, it is close to the incredible Night Bazaar.

We had an amazing stay at Chang Thai and are sure that other guests would have a similar experience. My partner and I were a bit worried to stay at a hotel which had only been reviewed a handfull of times, but it was definitely worth the risk!!! I imagine it means something if all reviews posted thus far have rated it as 'excellent'!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilieg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London U.K.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This is excellent, for about $30 I am currently sitting in an exquisite designer style hotel room with my Laptop browsing the net on the cosiest double bed I've had on my travels so far. I have my own balcony and there's a salt pool downstairs which is also designed nicely..
There's a coffee shop and an array of dishes in a comfortable setting with really friendly staff... smiles all the way... this is a must for my pals if they come to Chaing Mai ... it's quite close to town ( 10-12 min walk to the mall or night market) and away from the hustle and bustle.

They'll drop you at the airport - (if you ask).. It's a personal service in a boutique setting ...gr8 place.


Julz

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#43 of 375 in Chiang Mai
584 reviews
1.9 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 375 in Chiang Mai
657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#62 of 375 in Chiang Mai
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#118 of 375 in Chiang Mai
319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cozytel
Cozytel
#20 of 717 in Chiang Mai
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#65 of 717 in Chiang Mai
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Thai House

Property: Chang Thai House
Address: 6/2 Rakeang Rd | Soi 2 T. Haiya A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Thai House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chang Thai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing