We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai Elephant Disaster” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chang Thai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chang Thai House
Ranked #105 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Songkhla, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Thai Elephant Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

This hotel turned out to be a disaster in many different ways. First the check-in turned out to be unpleasant. Even though I booked the room six months ago with arrival time and flight number, at 17.00, I was surprised that I was asked to wait in the hall while loads of stored luggage were moved from the room. Looks like a small tour group or large family had left everything in the room. Afterwards, while I was storing my own belongings, I found two wet, smelly towels in a plastic bag in the bottom of the wardrobe, which I promptly put outside with the rest of the luggage now blocking the hallway.

The room itself was sparsely furnished. Other than the bed, there was only one open shelf for clothes, a small vanity table with hard stool, a low, hard wooden chair, a small inadequately stocked fridge and small flatscreen TV with local Thai channels. The balcony was only small enough for two people to stand. No picture or decoration whatsoever was on the wall. With bare walls, the concrete structure of the hotel magnified all sound and noise from every direction. Additionally, the room had windows on three sides including two full-length decorative panels which were in the wall towards the hallway. All were covered with a very light material which left the room very bright at night. This hinders a good night’s sleep for any tourists and is probably a real problem for those coming from Europe or America who need to adjust to the time in a quiet dark room.

The bathroom was small but adequate. It had a set of sliding wooden windows which opened over the basin towards the bedroom, so that the occupants would not lose contact with another while one was sleeping and the other was, well… This is fine and good and even seems to be a trend in the hotel business; however, as the windows were over the basin, there was no mirror on the wall and only a small hand mirror on the basin side. While sliding wooden windows might seem like a nice touch, a mirror in the bathroom simply makes more sense to me!

On the first evening, just after 9 p.m., I was reading on the bed and heard a rattling of keys outside. Not sure if this was my room or opposite, I was surprised when my locked door popped opened, someone said “Sorry” from outside, and quickly pulled the door closed again. After dressing, I went downstairs to inform the reception that the locks were so old that another room key had fit and my door was thus unlocked. (I believe that is what happened.) Not believing me, I was accused of leaving the door unlocked or that I had just imagined it. In addition, I was admonished for not chaining the door—my room did not have a chain which I had explained several times and was not believed until the clerk came and saw for himself. He promised to have it fixed the next day. Nothing happened the next day nor the day after. I have to believe that nothing has happened with the door since.

The first day, I was out all day and there was ample opportunity for the maid to make up my room. Indeed, the bed was made, but the bathroom was left untouched. I am a very neat person and really don’t mind, still I expect this small service from a middle-class Thai hotel.

The check out proved to be another bad experience. Requesting a receipt of the gross amount for the room, plus 7% VAT, and then the total net price is a normal procedure for expense accounts although the price of the room is often quoted as net in Thailand. The (same) clerk as before did not understand until I took the calculator and divided the end sum by 107% giving us the gross amount which he entered on the receipt. The simple math step of subtracting this from the net amount to give the tax or even just taking 7% proved too much for him and he made a mistake on the receipt. Instead of giving a new receipt, he crossed out the amount and entered what I told him. I hope this goes through with accounting. Normally, the bills may not be ‘tampered with’.

One must say that the morning staff was very friendly but still just a small group of 20-something-year-olds trying to run a hotel without taking any kind of responsibility for the guests.

All-in-all this hotel is lacking in décor, cleanliness, efficiency, and security. The first three problems are small in comparison to one’s safety being compromised and then nothing being done to rectify the problem. There are hundreds of hotels in Chiang Mai and in the future, I will be staying at one of those and would advise anyone else to do the same.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JStaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    121
    52
    15
    11
See reviews for
27
154
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

pros: price, location, bright and clean room, deluxe room comes with free wi-fi and airport or train station transfer
cons: poor breakfast, useless pool, the stuff was nice but no thai hospitality

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klyunat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

We liked our stay at this hotel. The decor was very typical of Chiang Mai which I believe was very beatiful. The only thing is that we can hear a rooster almost all the time. But it didn't bother us, it did bother our friend. The shower is not hot enough, but it was okay. Bathroom was very small but charming. The walls are very thin, we can hear everything around. The room in general is comfortable. There was one of the staff member was incredible. He works from 9:30am to 9:30 pm. He helped us a lot more than the other members. Breakfast is okay but not the best in town. You'll find everything closed, restaurants, old city, bazaar etc...

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank so_mei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

If you're looking for not paying too much and still sleep reasonable this is your hotel.
Pros: location just outside the old town on the side of the night bazaar and where most restaurants are at walking distance. Clean rooms, aircon, friendly and helpful staff, fresh though limited choice breakfast, low price.
Cons: hard beds, shower not always hot, noisy building, swimming pool never catches sunlight.

For the price paid I would go back, but normally I prefer a bit higher standards.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

This hotel is great for couples and back packers on a budget holiday. As below there is room for improvement with this inn but also some great qualities.
The rooms are big and spacious. They have a tour desk and are happy to provide you with information reference the trips available around Chiang Mai. The staff are pleasant and friendly. The air con works and the hotel has a little pool... although this was absolutely freezing!
The improvements could be made on the breakfast. The portion sizes are very small and you only get one small glass of juice, its not a buffet. Also the shower is warm at most.
Personally i thought the location was great if you want to see the night bazaar. It is about a 5-10 minute walk so we didnt take a tuk tuk at all. You would probably want one to get to the old city.
I would recommend this place. Its very pleasant but quite basic, no frills so to speak.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_xUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights and were slightly disappointed. Positive things were that our room was spacious, light and very clean and breakfast in the morning was simple but good. However, you could tell this was a new hotel as the staff seemed very inexperienced and not very helpful....we felt this was because they didn't know how to help, not that they didn't want to help! This could be frustrating as any queries were dealt with extremely slowly. We were also drawn to this hotel as it had a pool...unfortunately the pool looked like a bit of an afterthought...there was very little space around it and it was always in the shade...it just looked stuck on to the reception area so it wasn't a nice space to spend time in....in fact we didn't go in in once! I suggest people see the pool as an added extra...not a reason to stay at the hotel. The other downside was the location....we felt slightly out of things as there didn't really seem to be anywhere to eat or drink close to the hotel. At night you had to walk up a very badly lit street to get a tuk-tuk or taxi to a busier area and there were lots of stray dogs around which made the walk a bit edgey. We had no problems with the dogs but i'm not a fan of them so i still felt uneasy. Also - the free internet was very slow and often didn't work at all! In conclusion i'd say this hotel is probably a good option in high season to get away from things and the price was reasonable....however, it would've been easier and more relaxing to be in a busier area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlyGirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishoej, Denmark
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Hotel Chang Thai House are a quit new hotel open in december 2009, so it is a very new hotel very nice swimming pool and outside it look like a clean hotel. You had everything you need including Aircon. And free Interne. The cleaning og room can be better, but just ask for it The staff are great staff.
Just 10 minute of walk bring you to the Old City or to Night Marked.
It cost only about 50 baht for a TukTuk from old city and about 40 baht from Night Marked to the hotel.
When we come back to CM, we will stay here.
We were staying at the 5. floor, in room 501 with a great view over the city. was up looking on the 6. floor WAW !!NICE BIG ROOM and a small "garden" to.
Please take care, there are another hotel wit nearly the same name. This hotel are also fine, and a little bit cheaper. (Chiang Mai Thai Hotel)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#43 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.8 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#61 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#120 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cozytel
Cozytel
#19 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.9 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#130 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Thai House

Property: Chang Thai House
Address: 6/2 Rakeang Rd | Soi 2 T. Haiya A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Thai House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chang Thai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing