We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel”
Review of Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Hotel
Ranked #378 of 758 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I spent a lovely 2 weeks at the Lotus Hotel. Please don't get this hotel confused with another
hotel in Chiang Mai called the Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew or you will be sorely disappointed.
Also be careful so that the taxi or tuk tuk driver does not try to hijack you to the Lotus Hotel
Pang Suan Kaew as happened to 3 tourists from New York during my stay.

My room at the Lotus was spacious and lovely with glistening hardwood floors and marble
countertops around the wet bar and in the bathroom. The bathroom had a very nice modern
shower. There was a nice flat screen television in the bedroom with many cable stations
available. The owner of the Lotus is a trained architect and this is evident from the attention
to detail in the room and the nice artwork.

The genial owner is fluent in English, French, Thai and several other languages. He spends a
lot of time on the premises and the welcoming staff is well trained and speaks English well.
A lot of the staff have work at the hotel for a long time. Free wi-fi is available throughout
the property.

The hotel is conveniently located to the nightlife in the area. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Old City and the Central Pang Suan Kaew Shopping Mall or a short ride by tuk tuk.

The hotel offers breakfast and a light lunch. Dinner is available at the Garden Bar next door
which is owned by the Lotus Hotel. The menu offers a wide range of Thai, European, and
Middle Eastern food as well as a full wine list and cocktail menu. Friendly bartenders Bo and
Wit offer attentive service. My favorites on the menu include Chicken Kiev and a macaroni,
mushroom and chicken casserole.

The Garden Bar features a monthly Quiz Night and most nights a friendly group of
expatriates gathers around the bar.

For a boutique hotel experience at a very attractive price, the Lotus Hotel can't be beat.

Room Tip: Magnolia (224) and Gardenia (331) were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doug c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
26
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

A room smelling like an old ashtray. Grousy sheets with cigarette holes all over. Dirty carpet. Cockroaches in the bathroom, fungus on the tiles. Breakfast not worth that name: bad juice, bad coffee, bad toast, cheap marmelade, no fruit. Slobby receptionist during day, the ladies at night were much more friendly but their english was poor. Only positive point is the barman of the garden bar who was nice and friendly, but I guess that alone is not a good reason enough to book over here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just returned from a 10 day stay in Chiang Mai.AS always i stayed at "The Lotus Hotel"..Too bad :Tee is gone from the bar but as usual i had a great stay there.I have been going there for 13 years and wouldnt stay anyplace else.Next summer i am staying there for 30 days!!-Michael-usa

Room Tip: Take a garden view.There are Humming birds and butterflies all over the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unclebutch49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

My Partner and Myself decided to try a new hotel recomended by a friend, The hotel was the Lotus Hotel on Changpheuak Rd. We were picked up from the Chiang Mai airport on time and delivered to the hotel. The staff made us feel like old friends. There are too many good things to say about this Hotel. Please try it for yourself, You will not be sorry.
Thank you to all the staff and to the owner for making our vaction to Chiang Mai, one that we will never forget..
Jim And Lee
New York

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmylee514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VANCOUVER
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed loft suite one night and had to leave because of moldy smell and bugs. The room was dark with curtain open. Even with loft space, it does not feel spacious because bed area upstairs does not have ample vertical clearance. Lounge area is narrow and looks at steep stairs. So making the loft was not necessary as a hotel room, but would have been okay for just staying a night.

The loft was was a part of reasonable quality renovated old Thai style building. I am not so sure it worked.

The loft suite had moldy smell. As I noticed that the porter immediately turn on the fan when we were introduced to the room first. At night there were bugs, (not mosquito) and both of us could not sleep because of itching body. This never happened at any place we stayed in Asia for the last 10 years.

All staff we dealt with were nice as most staff in Thailand.

We chose this place in the effort to support gay business. Unfortunately we found there are better options than this hotel in Chiang Mai. If you are looking for gay inclined environment you do not need to stay in gay friendly hotels or inns in Chiang Mai. You can experience it quite easily on the street, cafes, restaurants, and bars.

There are bland new places with spacious modern decor in very convenient locations with good breakfast for under or around 1000 bahts in Chiang Mai.

I wonder why 4 out of 5 reviewers have rated 5 stars for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenko7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Nice Thai-style old wooden house hotel with relaxed atmosphere. Location is in the heart of the gay area, but besides that a bit out of central Chiang Mai (far from night market area). Breakfast was not great, but served the purpose. No gym.
Room was really nice, as was the staff. Chill outside bar.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honkiehoteler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I have been staying there for the past 10 years and wouldnt think of staying any place else in Chiang Mai.The service and employees are fantastic!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unclebutch49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
0.0 mi away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#92 of 386 in Chiang Mai
534 reviews
2.7 mi away
Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Club One Seven Chiang Mai
#109 of 386 in Chiang Mai
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
#188 of 386 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
#125 of 386 in Chiang Mai
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
M Boutique Resort
M Boutique Resort
#65 of 108 in Chiang Rai
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Qi 68
Qi 68
#206 of 758 in Chiang Mai
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Hotel

Property: Lotus Hotel
Address: 2/25 Viangbua Road | Tambol Chang-Phuak, Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 758 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing