We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great loacation and friendly owner”
Review of Baan JaJa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan JaJa
Ranked #77 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
korea
1 review
“Great loacation and friendly owner”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

very good loaction near Tapae Gate in 3min.
Room is also clean and owner is very kind and friendly.
I recommed this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monaca86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    79
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
154
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were there from 17-20 Feb and we had one of their triple room for 2 nights and 2 double rooms for a night. The rooms were clean with no mosquito which is important because throughout Chiang Mai there are so many mosquitoes EVERYWHERE! Local was perfect: Quiet yet right next to the action: The Sunday Night Market is 3 mins away. Tao and Nun were amazing! Help us SOOO much with our trip: Where to go and eat in Chiang Mai, Where to go for our little 3 day excursion in Northern Thailand and even tips in Bangkok! They also let us leave our bags there when we were traveling around and kept them until we are back. That was very nice of them! I see true hospitality in them!

Only a couple of things: The beds are a little hard for western standard which is pretty much everywhere in Asia if you are not living in some fancy hotels. Also, breakfast was nice with a lot of different types of tea and pastry, but if coffee was not instant and if there are eggs that would have been wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truth_ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Arrived to find our room had been given to someone else because the owner couldn't distinguish our very different names. Her room, which we were offered instead, had two single beds whereas our room had one double - which we'd specifically asked for when booking. Very annoying. Really wanted to like this place. So we spent the afternoon traipsing around looking for somewhere else in the middle of a VERY busy weekend because we really did not want to sleep in two tiny single beds.
Disappointing!

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank freefallingfantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I booked my room after reading rave reviews on Trip Advisor. I wanted to try somewhere new in Chiang Mai. My fiancé and I got off the overnight train and arrived early. Management seemed nice and the common area was great. We quickly threw our bags in the room and set off to get lunch. The room was sparse, with one fluorescent light and a tiny desk that had seen better days. No matter, as I am not picky. However, when I returned from lunch to take a nap we found hairs were all over the floor and on top of and underneath the sheets. Lots of hairs and the bed obviously had not been cleaned since the last person. We let management know and he had someone change the sheet, but not the tapestry/blanket. I was also just dealing with the ants in bathroom and the door with a gap that allowed Mosquitos into the room. Again, bugs happen. Then horrible construction sounds begin. Sawing metal, hammering, men yelling, etc. It was coming from the alley, not their fault as they can't control their neighbors, but I quickly realized there was NO glass window in the bathroom- simply a screen with a little plastic haphazardly put over. I went down and politely asked the manager if I could check out the following morning instead of staying for two nights like I originally planned (I wanted to leave that minute but had paid for two nights up front as required and decided to at least stay for one as to not put them out.) He agreed only after telling me he had to charge me a 50baht room cleaning fee- what a joke for a room that was dirty in the first place! Construction started bright and early at 8am the next morning, and we were out. At 650 baht (plus cleaning fee) this is a rip off- we found a place down the street with a balcony, tv, and fridge for 500 baht. I really wanted to like this place but would suggest you search elsewhere for a better deal.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tajmaholla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Most people have waxed lyrical about the rooms/service/location which I agree with completely, especially the cleanliness. My comment is only on the laundry service - possibly as in much of Thailand, to speed things up they use a tumble dryer to dry the clothes (strange practice in a warm country..). Here, they must use maximum-heat setting as all our clothes came back shrunk to children's size. Irreversibly shrunk and completely unwearable. So watch out! And if using a laundry service in thailand make sure you ask for no tumble dry or put in clothes that you don't mind not wearing again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will_yates86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yilan County, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is our second time to Thailand but no other places gave me the feeling. It is like just a guesthouse. It's more like a home. There is a public area with two comfortable hammocks. My kids like to stay here, play and meet new friends. Tao and Nun always helped to solve the problem. I had planned to stay for only three nights but then decided to stay for a week. Because of my request for 4 more nights, Tao negotiated with another family and asked for their permission to let us keep the triple room we had been staying at. She told them that Asian kids need more care of the parnets. And you know what? They said yes. When Tao told us the news, we were so surprised. We never thought that she would do this for us. And Nun is also very helpful. He even helped us to contact the next hotel we were heading for. What can I say? If I come to Chiang mai again, Baan Nud Kun will definitely be my first choice! Tao and Nun, thank you so much!

Room Tip: They have two triple rooms on the ground floor. If you don't want to be disturbed by kids'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San Shine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We found this place by word of mouth and ended up staying a week during the Christmas period. It's an excellent little family-run guesthouse conveniently situated near Thapae Gate in the east part of the old city (but crucially, inside the walls!)

Run by Tao and Nud, its very quickly apparent who wears the trousers! Tao is a tour de force and instantly puts you at ease no matter how long your journey (and ours was a long one!) She is a natural raconteur and tells a good tale with a wry sense of humour. Together they will happily plan your whole stay in Chiang Mai, if you let them!

We had a room on the first floor. The rooms are basically all the same - clean and functional with a firm bed (a little too firm for my liking though!) One nice touch is having a separate shower room and toilet. Tao has a policy of cleaning the room once every three days - I would have preferred every other day.

Breakfast is a self-service buffet and features muesli, fruit, yoghurt, toast, juice, tea, coffee and a dangerously fattening selection of cakes and pastries. Tea, coffee and bananas are free to guests at any time. There's also a fridge and a microwave, neither of which we thought we'd need, and in both cases we did! There are comfy chairs and hammocks and a well-stocked bookshelf. All in all, Baan Nud-Kun caters for weary travellers very well indeed and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to singles, couples or small groups of any age.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Pissamorn House
Pissamorn House
#68 of 826 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#37 of 736 in Chiang Mai
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#59 of 736 in Chiang Mai
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#48 of 736 in Chiang Mai
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 736 in Chiang Mai
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan JaJa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan JaJa

Property: Baan JaJa
Address: 7/3 Ratchadamnoen Road Soi 1 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Baan Nud-Kun)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top among its kind, we offer value-for-money accommodation and great service. Our location is hard to beat: a 3-minute walk from Tha Pae Gate, and in a walking distance to local markets, banks, restaurants, and the city's main attractions, Wat Jedi Luang, Wat Phra Singh, Tha Pae Boxing Stadium to name a few. Guests stay during the weekend can also enjoy the renowned Sunday walking street practically right next door. We offer you both air-conditioned and fan rooms, all with en-suite bathroom (shampoo and soap provided), blankets and towels. Free services include FREE WIFI available in the room and public area, FREE one bottle of drinking water per person per day, FREE coffee and tea in our common area, with a common refrigerator, a microwave oven, and a toaster. Other service with minimal charges include laundry, computer/printing service, and tour bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Baan JaJa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Nud-Kun Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing