We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Others could learn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baan JaJa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan JaJa
Ranked #72 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pinjarra, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Others could learn”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here a few years ago, (under its previous name) and had fingers crossed that it was still as good as we remembered. We were not let down. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. We have often stayed in similarly, cheap, aged, basic places on our ventures through Asia, but they fall short of the standard set here. It doesn’t take much to keep a place clean and tidy and Baan Ja Ja is an example on how to do it. Its location is well situated and the staff we found to be friendly and helpful. Will stay here again if and when we come through Chiang Mai again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    79
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
153
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
237 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Having stayed here 3 years ago (it was called Baan Nad Khun then) we decided to stay again this year. The new owners and staff are indeed very nice. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The free breakfast is also basic but decent. The wifi is fine. Baan Jaja is also walking distance to almost everything. But is enough off the main road that is was quiet. The only downside is the open windows on the fan rooms ensure that if you have very noisy neighbors you will hear everything they are saying. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor to get away from the noise of the common area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBunnsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The rooms are not too impressive (loose linoleum floor and cold, turquoise walls), but for the 350B you pay for a double room with a fan it is definitely good enough. The staff is very friendly and helpful, it's close to restaurants and bars, bike rentals and most other things you might want to be close to while discovering Chiang Mai. Also, the free WiFi is one of the best I've had in Thailand. If you are traveling on a budget this is a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Baan Jaa Jaa is a great value place with a good location. We enjoyed our 2 nights here. Our room was clean and big enough. The little sitting area at the entrance is nice for having a tea (free tea&coffee is provided). The internet connection was good at the entrance but was very poor in the room, which is an expected situation everywhere in thailand. Stuff is nice and smiling all the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozgunzuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is always my go-to guesthouse in Chiangmai - great location, just down a little (but safe) soi/lane off Thapae Gate. New name but same everything else (including owners). Rooms are clean with fan, big bed, shower-room, wifi, and new drinking water everyday. Low season is cheaper but no breakfast. It would be lovely to also have a fridge in rooms, but there is a communal one downstairs you can use - they provide stickers! Stayed here with my parents for whom it was a little too simple. However stayed in the triple room on ground with the folks and issues of privacy didn't come to our minds at all. I usually stay on one of the upper rooms when there alone - I did notice the last time there was only netting across the window, thus in the evening you are visible if you have your light on. Perhaps it wouldn't be a bad idea for the owners to put in simple (darker) curtains.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Screen windows mean that anyone can hear what is happening in your room. Transparent curtains mean anyone can see what is happening in your room. The hang out area is nice. The free breakfast is basic, but help cut costs. The wifi is very slow if you are trying to upload pictures, but fine for checking email and booking your next stay. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwhrEvrywhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We were elated to find lodging at this positively reviewed place. Front of house staff were warm and helpful; check-in was painless. Facilities were good, as described by most other reviews.

The "peeping Tom" nightmare happened when we returned from the Sunday night market.

My roommate took a shower with the lights on (like anyone would) but remarked upon finishing that it was disturbing how the lowly-placed ventilation window (covered only by wiremesh) left his lower torso in clear line of sight to a facing window of a neighbouring residence.

As a precaution, I decided to shower in the dark, with just a small LED lamp. Midway through my shower, however, the light in that nearby room across the fence came on and dimly illuminated my shower stall -- and me along with it. Although slightly bothered, I dismissed this as mere coincidence until I was shocked to see the outline of someone peering at me over the perimeter wall between my shower room wall and the next door compound -- his/her head would have been barely THREE FEET from me, separated only by a semi-transparent plastic sheet and a low cement wall!

I yelled, he/she quickly disappeared from view, and I grabbed my towel and exited the shower immediately. As it was nearly 11PM, and there was no space for a garden or utility area between the house and fence wall, the intruder was clearly there just to get a closer look at whoever was in the shower.

Since the office was closed and we'd been told the place was fully booked, it seemed no solution was available till morning. Covered in suds, I decided to finish the bath with cold water from the bidet in the separate toilet room.

We slept poorly that night, and I was freaked out that someone living next door to the guesthouse was using guest showers as a peepshow.

Worse, the poor design of the ventilation window (who puts these things at the guest's waist level??) made us wonder if someone had deliberately set this up.

We checked out first thing after breakfast, despite having earlier looked forward to finishing our entire Chiang Mai stay at Baan Nud Kun. The front of house person (I think her name was Cha) listened attentively and seemed genuinely horrified when I walked her through the privacy ordeal I'd experienced. She apologised and would not charge us for the room. She also explained that there should have been curtains (indeed there was a curtain rod over the window, with empty curtain rings), but that housekeeping may have forgotten to replace it in their haste.

Questions remain in my mind as to why the shower windows were built to leave guest privacy so vulnerable. Removable shower curtains, so easily forgotten or conveniently "misplaced", are an unreliable solution, leaving guests at the mercy of the pervert living next door.

If anyone from Baan Nud Kun reads this, I hope to have your public reassurance here that simple renovations will be made to move all ventilation windows higher up -- ABOVE and BEYOND the neighbouring property's line of sight -- so that such an unpleasant intrusion does not happen to any other guests.

P.S. I also took photos of the front of the house where the peeping Tom neighbour apparently resides, and have additional shots of the fence wall portion where he/she was standing. Feel free to contact me for this if you will take further action on the matter.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lluviaypapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balloon44, Owner at Baan JaJa, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience & shocking experience in the room 106 as stated. It was totally our fault and thank you very much for your feedback. We wholeheartedly apoligize for the incident caused. The problem of that particular room on that day was beause the shower room curtain had been taken off on schedule to be replaced by a new one. Unfortunately, the new curtain was not replaced as it supposed to be. The front desk did her best at the time by refunding money to you, and after we received your feedback we immediately looked into the room and strenghten our procedure by double check the rooms before letting the rooms. We once again thank you very much for your comments, and if you have chance to come to Chiang Mai again, we will be pleased to welcome you as complementary guests at our little guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#102 of 375 in Chiang Mai
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#25 of 717 in Chiang Mai
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#36 of 717 in Chiang Mai
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#51 of 717 in Chiang Mai
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#41 of 717 in Chiang Mai
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pissamorn House
Pissamorn House
#68 of 806 in Chiang Mai
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan JaJa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan JaJa

Property: Baan JaJa
Address: 7/3 Ratchadamnoen Road Soi 1 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Baan Nud-Kun)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top among its kind, we offer value-for-money accommodation and great service. Our location is hard to beat: a 3-minute walk from Tha Pae Gate, and in a walking distance to local markets, banks, restaurants, and the city's main attractions, Wat Jedi Luang, Wat Phra Singh, Tha Pae Boxing Stadium to name a few. Guests stay during the weekend can also enjoy the renowned Sunday walking street practically right next door. We offer you both air-conditioned and fan rooms, all with en-suite bathroom (shampoo and soap provided), blankets and towels. Free services include FREE WIFI available in the room and public area, FREE one bottle of drinking water per person per day, FREE coffee and tea in our common area, with a common refrigerator, a microwave oven, and a toaster. Other service with minimal charges include laundry, computer/printing service, and tour bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Baan JaJa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Nud-Kun Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing