We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfy and cheerful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baan JaJa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan JaJa
Ranked #76 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy and cheerful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We arrived late due to two our flight from Delhi and our connecting flight from Bangkok to Chiang Mai being delayed. It was midnight when we pulled up outside and we were concerned that no one would be around. How wrong we were. A lovely lady (all be it a little sleepy) greeted us and showed us to our room. The room was clean with a separate toilet and shower.

In the morning we had a lovely breakfast consisting of toast, fruit, eggs, cereals and cakes. You could have Thai breakfast on request. The laundry service was faultless. Our clothes smelled and felt really fresh and clean after we used the laundry service.

We originally booked two nights, but ended up staying for six as the guesthouse was such a lovely environment to use as a base to explore Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    79
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
153
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Let me start w a disclaimer: we walked into our room and immediately booked a hotel. So we did not experience daytime or the "garden," etc. I was under the impression that guest houses in CM were like B&Bs, but they're hostels w private rooms. Trip advisor does not include star ratings for non-hotels, but now that I check, this is a 1.5 star place; so keep that in mind. I guess I should have known for the price, but everything looked pretty inexpensive here and the pics online are deceiving, the lightening is better, the angels are good, etc.
The shower was in what looked like a closet and I would have worn flip flops in it. The toilet seat was broken (still useful, just not in great condition). Room was clean but bare and w zero ambience - like a US motel on the side of a highway, if you're familiar with that. The woman at the desk was v niece but her English would have made booking tours, etc a long process.
Location is awesome, that is definitely true.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vnyc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at Baan Jaa-Jaa in early January. We had not (perhaps naively) expected Chiang Mai to be such a busy place, on the basis of some recommendations by friends. So imagine our delight to find Baan Jaa-Jaa tucked away in such a quiet location off Soi 1. It's the perfect location to walk to much of the old city, and so convenient for the Sunday market. A 2 minute walk and you're in the thick of it. We found some amazing places to eat down Soi 1 - don't miss an opportunity to visit Cooking Love, and Nature's Way).

We had only booked for 3 nights, but from the moment we checked in we felt so at home and relaxed that we stayed for 6 nights in total. The staff were absolutely beautiful and extremely helpful. They helped us organise the cooking class that we were interested in and gave us many suggestions for things to see and do within Chiang Mai. They also allowed us to store our bags overnight in their office while we went on a Trek.

We had a room on the second floor, which was simple, but had everything we needed in it. We got two bottles of water delivered to the door every morning, which were very appreciated on the warm days. We had a fan and air conditioning, which meant that we were able to control the temperature within the room as we needed. Hot water for the shower and a western-style, flushing toilet.

The rooms are only cleaned every three days, we didn't have a problem with that, however when we ran out of toilet paper the staff were quick to provide us with more. The communal areas and front-of-house are kept meticulously clean, which is lovely. There is also a very nice communal lounge area with hammocks, tables and chairs, a fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities.

I found the wi-fi to be fairly consistent, although during times of heavy usage (ie. evening), it could be slow. If staying on the second floor, I would connect to the router on the 3rd floor, much better reception.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor near the east end, very little foot traffic, however we did get a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaStar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is the best value hotel we've stayed at during our 2 months of travel in SE Asia!

Pros:
The rooms are clean.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

It's completely non-smoking.

The breakfast is a basic continental breakfast but is nice. Free tea & coffee all day in addition to the 2 bottles of water provided each day. Communal fridge.

The location is UNBEATABLE - it's close to everywhere you'll want to visit and the restaurants on Soi 1 are some of the best we tried in the city (Cooking Love & the fish place by Cherm are awesome!). I can't recommend the massage parlors on Soi 1 though - they were disappointing. Instead go to the women's prison (best we had!) or the place tucked back off the main walking road between the coffee shop and the Chinese restaurant.

The common area is relaxing and a great place to chat with other travelers. We mostly met people ages 30-50. It was a quiet place to stay.


Cons:
They only clean the rooms every 3 days and change the sheets every 7 days. Our trash was always overflowing so I had to empty it ourselves so it didn't stink up the room. We wished they at least emptied the trash each day.

Both wifi signals were spotty in our room on the second floor. The signal showed strong wifi, but it didn't always work. We didn't have this problem when we moved to the first floor - wifi there was great!

Room Tip: Wifi is much better on the first floor. We had problems with wifi on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunChaser83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a double room with air-con. The room was basic. It had a wardrobe and some hooks for storage. The toilet was separate from the shower, which is definitely a good thing. Most places in Asia have wet rooms that usually take ages to dry. There were some uneasant odours coming up the drains and a few mosquitoes due to the fact the room had a few gaps in the windows.

The hotel itself is very pleasant with a nice communal area that has a couple of hammocks as well as free tea and coffee. We didn't have the breakfast as it consisted of bread and fruit. Instead we chose to eat at The Angel Bakery just up the road.

When we stayed there were dogs barking at night and early in the morning - this may not be a common thing but if you are a light sleeper this could affect you.

Overall, this was a fairly pleasant stay, nothing special but slightly above average. If I could I'd rate it 3.5.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We originally booked for two nights as we were going to stop on the other side of the city for the remaining two but this was so good that we thought there was no point in leaving. Rooms are clean, beds comfy and the showers hot. The location is perfect for the Sunday night market and also not too far from the night bazaar. Favourite excursion whilst here has to be the elephant trip with a waterfall trip and white water rafting for 1200bhat. Well worth the money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rmgvtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here for three nights, I have grown very fond of Ja-Ja. While nothing to look at at first, it makes up for the nondescript, institutional feel of its cement quarters with an airy, hammock-equipped outdoor sitting area and some funky interior touches at better prices than many of the guest houses next-door. While many backpackers, such as myself, stay there, the vibe is mature, not "backpackery", with a diverse mix of ages and nationalities. The location, on a quiet side alley near the Thapae Gate off the central Ratchadamoen St., is unbeatable, a stone's throw from tons of restaurants, coffee shops, and the famous Sunday "Walking Market", which I suggest you plan your stay for if you like to shop (or eat, for that matter).
While the included breakfast is thorough and the all-day free coffee and tea are a bonus for a caffeine addict like myself, it's the incredibly friendly and helpful attitude of the staff who helped arrange tickets and stored my (huge) bags in their office during a side-trip that made this place a more memorable stay than a longer stay at a nearby guesthouse whose more beautiful grounds were negated by the management's unhappy mien.

If you're on a budget this place is a sure bet for a convenient, inexpensive, and quiet night's sleep.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryant73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#27 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#30 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pissamorn House
Pissamorn House
#70 of 807 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#55 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#39 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#16 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan JaJa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan JaJa

Property: Baan JaJa
Address: 7/3 Ratchadamnoen Road Soi 1 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Baan Nud-Kun)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top among its kind, we offer value-for-money accommodation and great service. Our location is hard to beat: a 3-minute walk from Tha Pae Gate, and in a walking distance to local markets, banks, restaurants, and the city's main attractions, Wat Jedi Luang, Wat Phra Singh, Tha Pae Boxing Stadium to name a few. Guests stay during the weekend can also enjoy the renowned Sunday walking street practically right next door. We offer you both air-conditioned and fan rooms, all with en-suite bathroom (shampoo and soap provided), blankets and towels. Free services include FREE WIFI available in the room and public area, FREE one bottle of drinking water per person per day, FREE coffee and tea in our common area, with a common refrigerator, a microwave oven, and a toaster. Other service with minimal charges include laundry, computer/printing service, and tour bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Baan JaJa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Nud-Kun Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing