We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No service behind the hoteldoor”
Review of Junior Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Junior Guest House
Ranked #30 of 788 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Normally tripadvisor helps me get into the best gueshouses but sadly this time it failed. This was the worst guesthouse on my 7 week trip. Lets start with positive. The location is good, some staff speak very good english and the bed matress is good.

But the rest was a dissapointment. There was no clean up in the room (stayed 3 nights), no new toilet paper, towels, etc. There were moist spots at the ceiling and hairs in the showerpit, which led to the flooding of the shower.

I know that It was not the most expensive place to stay and I take this into acoount with my expectations but other guesthouse were much better (in other cities) for about the same price. So I would expect that you can find something better in Chiang Mai as well

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrikusJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

My sister and I stayed here in March 2014. We were blown away by the AWESOME staff! The hotel itself is clean and has all the basics. It wasn't a luxurious hotel, but they sure have a 5 STAR STAFF!!! From the moment they picked us up from the hotel, we knew we were with the right people! Our driver was super nice and funny! They speak great English there too which was really helpful. After we checked in and relaxed, they went over a map of the city with us and pointed out a bunch of things for us to do. All of their food suggestions were delicious! Without them we would have never know about the Sunday market! There is no elevator, so beware if you have a ton of heavy bags or need an elevator to reach higher stories. The "hot tub" on the roof was the best thing after a day in the heat! What they do is fill the tub up with nice, cool, refreshing water, just for you! They clean it out after each use, and they only allow one party at a time to use it. It was pretty easy to walk to things from here. Also they were very helpful in coordinating our day trips for us. If you want to go to Tiger Kingdom, or anything over there, let them set up transportation for you. Their tuk tuk driver will drive you there for one set price and wait around for you to be done, and then he'll take you to any other attractions in that area near Tiger Kingdom for no additional charge. I don't remember how much it was though but I remember it being a decent price. Thanks Junior Guest House!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The guys running the place really make your stay memorable. They always have time for you. They are always friendly and laughing. They are always helpful and courtiess.
We stayed for 4 nights on the ground floor. (try to get a room higher up) it was basic but clean and great value.
I loved this place its perfect for that relaxed, chilled backpacker vibe we all know and love.
Oh, they make good whiskey too!

Room Tip: Higher floors may have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LostAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I have never experienced better customer service than in junior house! The rooms are perfect for the price and really clean. Its on a quiet road and a few minute walk to the restaurants and bars and 5 minutes to the Sunday Night Walking Street. There is no air con but the fan is more than enough. They provided a free airport transfer for us and were super friendly immediately, with all the staff fluent in English! They have even developed a British sense of humour too! They let us have use of their hot tub as well (which isn't hot but sooo refreshing!) and from the top floor there are views of the sunset behind the mountains! Such a gorgeous view! Tata is the man to speak to about tours, trips, massages, cooking classes, anything from temples to haircuts, he knows and gives you a good price on them all! He makes sure you know every last detail on the tours you are booking so that you don't come away feeling cheated! We actually came away from every trek and tour feeling as though we had got ourselves a proper bargain! Don't miss the opportunity to stay in one of the best guesthouses in Thailand!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AlexCoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 nights, nice rooms with your own smoking area outside and a decent bathroom. The food was really good too, they can rustle up a mean green chicken curry and the fruit shakes are banging.
However, the best part of junior guesthouse is the service. Tartar and Jeff are living legends, they treat you like your one of their mates rather than a guest. They're always interested in what you're up too and are ready to help with anything, you know you can trust them. Even after we'd left the guesthouse, we'd go back for food and to book tours with them rather than our current guesthouse because they're so helpful and cool at junior.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank fndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a fantastic time at the Junior Guest House. The staff were extremely friendly and made sure that we had a wonderful stay. We were picked up from the coach station by Jeff, and immediately received amazing assistance - first, he helped us book our next coach tickets back to Bangkok, and then he gave us a Thai lesson on the way to the guesthouse! Once we arrived, the staff spent a lot of time with us, explaining the highlights of Chiang Mai, recommending good restaurants, telling us about public transport, etc.

In terms of the accommodation, the room was very spacious and extremely good value for money. The furniture was somewhat dated and there were some ants in our room, but we didn't really mind. Overall, we had a great time in Chiang Mai - definitely one of the highlights of our Thailand trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Jeff and tartar are extremely good hosts and always willing to help. The rooms are nice and have their own smoking area. The food is amazing, however the only downside is that they stop serving at 8, but u have more than enough options to eat out in Chang Mai. The mopeds u can rent are extremely good value and the shop next door is open 24 hours which is very convenient. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TomJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#19 of 788 in Chiang Mai
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#49 of 788 in Chiang Mai
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#40 of 788 in Chiang Mai
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dozy House
Dozy House
#48 of 788 in Chiang Mai
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 788 in Chiang Mai
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
ZZ House
ZZ House
#5 of 910 in Chiang Mai
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junior Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junior Guest House

Address: 21 Soi 1 Rachapakinai Rd, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 788 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £8 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Junior Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Junior Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sk House Junior Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing