We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's many reasons it's top!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Ranked #2 of 756 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“There's many reasons it's top!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We have just stayed at Funky Monkey for 6 nights. As previous reviewers have said, when Funky Monkey did not have availability for the full length of our stay they recommended us to another place just down the road which they also booked us in to.

Rooms are extremely spacious, A/C is efficient, rooms are very clean, free wifi was good and access to their laptop is given should you need it, fridge freezers in rooms, sitting areas and tables and chairs in rooms, free drinking water available whenever it's needed and everything is cleaned to a high standard.

The location is also within easy walking distance of pretty much everything! Restaurants and bars are very near.

When we arrived we got a great intro to Chiang Mai and activities we may wish to take part in - all tailored to what we want.

Very honest and friendly staff and a highly recommended stay.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms will keep much cooler without A/C and are a much easier walk to get to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    49
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
111
252
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
limerick
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Location, room, cleanliness, etc. were superb but what sets the guesthouse apart is Dave and Nuy. We had emailed a couple of other guesthouses about a 4 night stay and everyone else wrote back, sorry no availability. Nuy went out of her way to say they didn't have availability for the first night but the if we wanted she could book us in for a night at the guesthouse next door and then move to funky monkey the next night. This set the tone for our stay. We were welcomed with open arms and Dave was so helpful in pointing out all the sites to see and the places to eat. (try the lady in the cowboy hats street stall....delicious). We annoyed the guys with so many questions but they were so easy to deal with and had great knowledge of chiang Mai. The highlights of our trip (besides the elephants and cooking class) were heading up to the chiang Mai mountains with Dave and their dogs (Dave actually gave me mutley to ride up on my scooter, a mad experience). Heading out with Dave, Nuy and a few from the guesthouse to the chiang Mai fc football game was a great experience (they won 6-0) and the drinks after at the chicken bar with mr chicken belting out the tunes was super fun!

So basically just stay at funky monkey, you won't regret it! Oh and make sure you stay when chiang Mai fc are playing! Go on the tigers

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anilchavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dali, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed a couple of nights in the Funky Monkey Guesthouse when i were on vacation in Chiang Mai and my experience there was amazing! Location is one step away from all of the things that you need and want to see within the old town ancestral in the city. The rooms are huge compared to what you would think it to be, great bathroom, new sheets every second day etc., - Air condition worked perfectly without any issues of cooling the room down. Besides that their hospitality and the way they are helpful in what ever way is needed, gives you the feeling that you are very close to home. Sincerely appreciated and enjoyed the personality that they bring into their business.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasmus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Originally I had booked four nights at Funky Monkey, however I ended up staying 12! The room was immaculately clean, the air conditioner worked very well and the shower had very good water pressure; after traveling in Asia for over 3 months these things, although a given back home, can be a rarity. David and Nuy are fantastic hosts, very friendly and extremely helpful in booking excursions, cooking courses and travel. They also took me to a soccer match, very fun, and a little time in the nearby hills. It's located right in the old city which makes the sites, cafes, food stalls and everything else you need very accessible. Such a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaceyh402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Located 10 min walk from Old town. Place is ok, but you get a better hostel inside the Old town for the same price if you book early enough.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Funky Monkey in February 2012. Since the first email sent a few months prior to our trip up until the last minute of our stay, Nuy and Dave were incredible with answering all our questions, providing suggestions and helping us where they could. We had initially planned to take the overnight train up to Chiang Mai, but all the tickets were sold out so we took a flight instead. Nuy and Dave responded to our email right away and we were lucky enough to be able to get an extra night's stay the day before our anticipated arrival date. We totally appreciated the speedy response since we were feeling a bit stressed figuring this all out on our first day in Bangkok! Pick up at the airport was arranged for us which was nice to not have to worry about. When we finally arrived and met Nuy and Dave, it felt as though we had been friends for ages!

We stayed in the HUGE room on the 3rd floor. It had air conditioning, hot water and was very clean. Unlimited bottled water was a huge bonus as were fruit and candies (especially when coming home from those late nights at the market). We had breakfast at the restaurant everyday and it was delicious. I couldn't get enough of the fruit and my husband loved the big American breakfasts. We had our laundry done just a couple doors down the street and they were able to accommodate the short turn around time we needed. Dave and Nuy recommended a bunch of terrific places including street food (lady with the cowboy hat - absolutely delicious!), excursions, an amazing cooking class and the night markets. We went to both the Saturday local market and the night bazaar down by the hotels. The night bazaar had all the knock-offs but was really over-priced. If you want locally crafted goods at a reasonable price, make sure to go to the Saturday night market. The great thing is that everything is within walking distance from Funky Monkey (I'm an avid walker but my husband isn't) and even at night, we felt safe walking through the streets. The excursions were offered at very reasonable prices too! Our favourite part of the stay was an informal hiking trip with Dave, Fat Dog and Mutley. We got to hang out for the afternoon and really experience a less touristy part of Chiang Mai. We also did a bit of swimming which was amazing. We spent time at a local temple and really found the essence of spirituality there (sounds cheesy, but you've got to experience it to understand). Even just sitting out on the patio of Funky Monkey with a cup of great English tea and chatting was great...it felt as comfortable as being at home with friends (minus the snow).

I cannot speak enough about the amazing time we had while in Chiang Mai, and a lot of it had to do with the great hospitality and advice we received from Dave and Nuy!!! We miss you both as well as Fat Dog and Mutley, but have lots of pictures to keep our memories fresh. Thank you so much and we'll definitely swing by again should our travels take us back to Chiang Mai in the future!

Room Tip: There are A LOT of stairs to the third floor. So if you're not a fan of stairs, request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy_traveller_vc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cremlingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I know it must be boring to read the same brilliant comments again and again... but I have to completely agree as well: We (my 5 year old boy and I) stayed 6 night with David, Nuy and their dogs in February. We felt extremely welcome, got excellent advice for what to do with a kid (public pool, waterfall, Tiger Kingdom, hidden Temple spots, cooking class,...) and had nice chats. The room was just perfect, cleaned every day, the location is ideally located in a small street but only a few minutes from the Old Town.
David/Nuy, Kjell still keeps on talking about "Funky Monkey" and we will definitely be back - this time with Daddy ! Keep it up this way !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baan Klang Wiang
Baan Klang Wiang
#6 of 386 in Chiang Mai
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 861 in Chiang Mai
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#1 of 861 in Chiang Mai
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours

Property: Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Address: 1/13 Chaiyapoom Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 756 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huge clean rooms with private bathroom, all our rooms can sleep between 2 & 5 people & they are all sold as private rooms . We also serve food from 8 am - 1 pm & have complimentary items for our guests inc unlimited drinking water, morning drink & fresh fruit. We are also licensed to sell tours & offer honest advice - along with great discounts where ever possible ( up to 400b per person discount ). We offer own own private tour ( Highly rated for those who like a non touristic experience ). Our aim is to help guests & non guests enjoy there time here in Chiang Mai & we always try our best to help. We always give honest answers to any questions !! : ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing