We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Ranked #1 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at this guesthouse for 5 nights during our first visit to Chiang Mai in May – an excellent choice.

The small (only 3 rooms) guesthouse is conveniently located a short walk from the main Tha Phae city gate, in a quite Soi just outside the old city – close to stacks of restaurants, pubs and supermarkets.

On arrival at the guesthouse we warmly welcomed by David and Nuy (and the dogs), and immediately made to feel as old friends.
David went out of way to provide us with information on Chiang Mai and all that the city and surrounds have to offer, all the good restaurants, activities and the best temples to visit, so we could decide on what we wanted to do during our visit.
David and Nuy arranged a dedicated taxi driver for us during our stay to ferry us to and from all the sights we wanted to visit.
Nuy explained to the driver exactly where we wanted to go for the day and negotiated the rate for us – the driver (Rainy) was a great guy and when out of his way to give us a special time and show us some of the hidden secrets of Chiang Mai.

The reception / restaurant area was inviting and clean and tidy, with plenty of information brochures on the different sights and activities in and around the city.
There was also tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge with drinks which you could help yourself to at anytime and write down on the note pad for payment later.

The room was huge and extremely clean, with a double bed and single bed, large fridge (with free drinking water), a sitting area and a spotless bathroom with a large shower.

The guesthouse also provided free Wi-fi and a computer in the restaurant area for the convenience of guests.

Breakfast was not included in the room rate, but the restaurant served a good selection of different breakfast options at very reasonable prices. The menu included a good selection of meals, snacks and drinks which were available throughout the day.

This is one of the cleanest and best value for money guesthouses that we have stayed in, and would not hesitate to visit again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment as there are only 3 rooms which are very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M_Bloemhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    47
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
107
244
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We (middle age active couple) at Funky Monkey for 9 nights in June, 2012. David & Nuy are the owners & live at the property & are available to give advice, book tours & are super friendly and make time for their guests.

it is a great centrally located spot on the north east area 1 block from the moat. It is easy to wal to markets, Tha Phae Gate and many restaurants, as well as the night bazaar. If you don't feel like walking, rent a motor bike from Funky Monkey & have a blast! Also, it is really easy and cheap to catch the"taxi" which is a pick up truck with an enclosed bed.

If we get the pleasure to return to Chiang Mai, we would definately get a room there. They only have 3 rooms and they are on there own floors. We highly recommend Funky Monkey to anyone wanting a great, clean, friendly, safe place to stay in the heart of the old city.

Room Tip: each room has it's own floor. we stayed in room 3, it was spacious & good exercise to walk u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
407 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

David, Nuy, Fat Dog and Mutley have mastered a true and authentic customer driven experience. Let’s start with the room, which is absolutely massive! A bed, desk, large fridge, couch, easy chair and armoire! After spending 3 months on the road, this large room was so nice to spread out in and was completely unexpected. They provide you with clean towels, soap, shampoo and endless toilet paper every day for the full experience. The housekeeping rocks, it’s like you have just checked in every time you come home.

We really liked the vibe that David and Nuy have created here. You get a key for the front door, which is locked and you can come and go at your leisure. This gave us that comfort of home that other guest houses miss the mark on. They have endless amounts of water, bananas and apples that are complementary for your enjoyment. They also offer a complimentary coffee or tea every day of your stay. We were so thankful for these perks.

Dave and Nuy are a wealth of knowledge of Chiang Mia and Thai culture. This made it effortless in booking excursions and tours. We would highly recommend taking / booking a tour with David, these experiences will get you off the beaten path and out of the typical tourist traps. They also have scooters for rent at an affordable 200 Baht. The scooters are in excellent condition and come equipped with a full tank of gas that you top up before you return it, which is the way to do it!

When you’re here, you’re family! Staying with David and Nuy was like staying with friends. Hanging out was great, the conversation never got boring and we’re sad to leave. They always went above and beyond! Don’t look anywhere else, stay here, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fancytravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I didn't actually end up staying at the funky monkey because of a simple mistake my room got double booked. However, honest mistakes do happen occassionally and when they do its how they are dealt with that counts. Right from the start David was honest and upfront about what had happened and then proceeded to bend over backwards to make it right. This included organising me suitable accommodation just down the road, a beer while it was being sorted, breakfast the next morning, taking me out for a morning of trekking in the hills, lunch when we got back, and the offer to use a rental scooter all free of charge - now thats service! I can't comment on the rooms having not seen them but what I can say is David is a hell of a nice guy with a big heart who will do his best to look after all his guests - I saw this above and beyond service mentality being extended to other guests as well. What I do know is that next time I come to Chiang Mai (fingers crossed next year) I will most certainly be staying at FM & organising all activities through them. Many thanks David, Nui, Mutley, & Fat Dog - see you soon!

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank thebigpuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

my wife and i stayed with david and nuy for 6 nights and we loved the room and their amazing hospitality. the rooms are clean, comfortable and HUGE. the bathroom was spacious and the shower was actually sectioned off with a curtain so the rest of the bathroom stays nice and dry! its a great location off of the busy streets so it's quiet, yet close to everything. it's an amazing value.

david and nuy are some of the nicest people you will meet in chiang mai. they have motorbikes for rent and with david's knowledge of the area, you can explore for days.

we highly recommend Funky Monkey!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I, along with 2 teenager girls stayed at the Funky Monkey Guesthouse for 5 nights. We found it to be very clean, comfortable and roomy. Nothing was a problem for David and Nuy and we were made to feel very welcome. Arranging taxi's/tours (even suggesting ideas) was not a problem with Nuy's knowledge, and the trip to the mountain with David, Mutley and Fat Dog was a treat never to be forgotten. Will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed here whilst travelling around Thailand last summer. Very clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. David and Nuy were the perfect hosts and were always available to offer help and advice when needed. Without a doubt, one of the nicest places I stayed in my 6 weeks of travelling

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.3 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 807 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.7 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#1 of 807 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours

Property: Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Address: 1/13 Chaiyapoom Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huge clean rooms with private bathroom, all our rooms can sleep between 2 & 5 people & they are all sold as private rooms . We also serve food from 8 am - 3.30 pm & have complimentary items for our guests inc unlimited drinking water, morning drink & fresh fruit. We are also licensed to sell tours & offer honest advice - along with great discounts where ever possible ( up to 400b per person discount ). We offer own own private tour ( Highly rated for those who like a non touristic experience ). Our aim is to help guests & non guests enjoy there time here in Chiang Mai & we always try our best to help. We always give honest answers to any questions !! : ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing