We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel Outside of the Action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Ranked #23 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel Outside of the Action”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a lovely time at Khum Phaya on our honeymoon! We really enjoyed the gorgeous landscaping around our hotel and the pool is so unique.

Location:
We were a bit skeptical of the hotel to start with because it is quite a ways out of Chiang Mai. It seemed to be a downside at first but it wasn't actually a big deal as all of the tours were happy to pick up from the hotel and you were always last picked up and first dropped off, which was very convenient for time in the car. The hotel is tucked into a little neighborhood of shops with a 7Eleven accessible as well as several other local restaurants so you don't feel too isolated.

Hotel Grounds:
The hotel is beautifully upkept, especially on the outside with gorgeous Thai architecture, a beautiful pool that you can step into just out of your hotel room (a major bonus in the humid summer months), and really nice landscaping to make it feel a bit jungle-like.

Rooms:
The rooms were just OK. They could use a bit of love though as the bathrooms felt a bit outdated and the shower had a bit of a smell to it. They were kept fairly clean but the just feel like they need a bit of an update.

Staff:
The staff was accommodating but they weren't quite as friendly as other Thai hotels we have stayed at. We may have just been spoiled by other lovely hotels we have stayed at in Thailand.

Spa:
The spa is incredible! It is just gorgeously landscaped. We attended a great 3 1/2 hour honeymooner package that included a strawberry scrub, mud wrap, facial, and 60 minute oil massage. It was just fantastic.

Noise:
My main complaint of the hotel was the noise at night. We could hear our neighbors sitting outside by the pool til all hours of the night, making a lot of noise playing games. There is also a loud bar or something nearby that played loud music til well past 1AM. Also, the pool is supposed to close at 7PM but nearly everyone breaks this rule (including ourselves). This is fine if the people are quiet but many people weren't as courteous as we would have liked.

Food:
The breakfast was very well provided for with a LOT of options and endless supply of food. I can only wish that they improved their coffee! Dinner at the hotel was good as well but it is much cheaper and more authentic to go out somewhere in the local neighborhood.

We attended the Khanthoke dinner next door which the hotel give you a discount to. This was really cool to see the live dancing and performances that told a story of Thai history. I highly recommend it!

Overall a good stay! Thank you!

Room Tip: Get a room on the bottom floor so that you have direct pool access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KansasKayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear KansasKayla,

Thank you so much for your lenghty comments recently. We do really appreciated that.

Your comments will be definitely help us to improve our services to our guests. I am sure our associates will be very happy to hear the good comments from you.

I have printed out a copy and posted to the staff notice board.

Hoping to have you back here soon.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    294
    93
    27
    24
See reviews for
212
471
31
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here last week of Jun 2014. Property is beautiful, pool is massive, however lots of mosquitos!
Rooms nice however not 5 star quality in my opinion. Breakfast was decent
Beds - hard as a rock, literally. Spoke to staff after first night and asked for something to put on top - which they did do.
Stayed for 3 nights and every night had to put up with loud crappy music right outside our door. Complained and was told that it was outside the hotel and not much they could do - it would stop at 1am.. It stopped at 4am - very disappointing considering a resort is somewhere to relax and sleep well!!! Staff were very disinterested in helping for anything really.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear sdeakin,

First and foremost our apology for not been able to make your stay as comfortable as you expected.

The music outside the hotel - has been scrutinized by not us but by other residential areas and we have already reported to the municipality and action is now been taken. The zoning law allows the entertainment spot to play till midnight however the pub has been told to control the level of noise. Thanks for your comment as we will also use this as a confirmation to strengthen our petition to the authority.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was on my Honeymoon to Thailand from the 15 of June till the 27. I stayed for 2 nights in Khum Phaya Resort. At my arrival i couldn't but admire the beauty of the place, it is a wonderful hotel with waterfalls and lovely decorations, but after that the shocking experience started. The room is at the end of the hotel (5-7 minutes walking), once inside, even though my booking clearly stated "Honeymooners" we found ourselves in a room with 2 single beds. When checking with the reception, she said that the hotel has a limited amount of double size beds and none are available (Funny enough I never saw more than 7 people on breakfast so unless they have 1.....) so they end up joining the 2 single beds. No package was offered for honeymooners (All other hotels we stayed in offered champagne or wine with cake). Then the first breakfast was horrible, no variety at all, and we end up eating bread. Cappuccino and cafe latte are a premium drink on breakfast, and the food is full of mosquitos. Either they are not covered, or the one covered have a broker net, so mosquitos can still come in. As for the room, the net that also protect mosquitos from going in was broker so we found a Lizard inside the room that night and plenty of mosquitos bite all night long. I had to change the key for the door 3 times, as their current key system is very sensitive to cell phones, so if you put your keys close to your cell, you will have to walk like 5-7 minutes back to the reception to get a replacement one, as they don’t have any one around your room or a phone outside that you can contact them. In addition to that, the cleanliness is horrible; the bathroom light is full of insects that you can see moving. In the end, we took the laundry bag to put in the laundry, which is what we did on 3 other hotels in Thailand, but they decided to charge for it!

I am really sorry that such a Hotel has such a terrible service. it is a real beauty but the whole system does not work properly there.

I will add some pictures in other comments for the food and the broker net and the mosquitos in the bathroom as I don’t have them on me now.

Room Tip: Avoid it to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Charbs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Charbbs8,

First of all our apology for not making your stay as comfortable.

Your comments will be taken seriously. However our breakfast has been praised by many people on the range of choices and not restricted to limited items.

As for you honeymoon offers: I have double checked your booking indicated you are honeymooner and requested K bed, however hotel has mentioned will do our best to accommodate guest request upon availability. During your stay your all the lead in category that you booked in has been taken. However upgrading on case by case basis not available due to all next category was full. Our resort do provide sparkling wine to honeymooners but this is only with some suppliers we contracted with. For guests who make the reservation by themselves does not mean they get all these amenities automatically.

Sorry about the mosquitoes as our hotel is built within the vast landscaped garden. However we do fumigate our resort once a week. We provide mosquitoes netting in the rooms and all our nets are checked regularly. There is not broken net to be used for our guests.

Our laundry bag is made of fabric and this item is chargeable to all our guests if taken and it is written very clearly in our directory.

Thanking you for bring up your comment. Will share will all respective departments.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed there for three nights. The environment was great and we enjoyed a lot of the wonderful swimming pool. We lived in pool side access room and it was just wonderful to get into the water right from your room!
The hotel was nicely decorated in Lanna Style and the scenery was very good. Our family loved the Jacuzzi bathroom a lot.
Breakfast there was enough, of a variety and good taste. It's really nice that the breakfast choice will change everyday!
A little that the hotel can further improve is the service from the front desk and staff. It would be much better if they can carry more smiles on their faces.
I am happy to recommend families and couples to have a treat there. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choi_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Choi_family,

First and foremost thanks for your recent posting.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay recently and you could have been a lot happier if not for the hiccups at the front desk.

Your comment is very important to us and I will have a meeting with my Rooms Division Manager and our Human Resource Manager to readdress the Centara "Wai and Smile". We will not tolerate for such an unfriendly or 'not smiling' attitude.

Rest assure we will take this matter seriously. Please do not let this deter you from continuing using our hotel or brand.

Looking forward to have you back.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I really can't fault this hotel in any way. We stayed in the room with direct access to the wonder full swimming pool. The room was nice. Big size and had everything we needed. Big tv with English programs, and movie channels. Bathroom with jacuzzi and nice shower. Big pool with pool bar.
Very friendly staff and good food in the restaurant. The hotel is well maintained with beautiful flowers, trees and plants all over. Hotel is located near the new Central Festival shopping mall and about 15 minutes from night bazar in taxi.
we will surely be staying here again when visiting Chiang Mai next time.
A big thanks to all the staff for making this a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Book a room with direct access to swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mike a,

It is indeed great to hear that you have had a wonderful time during your recent stay here.

All my associates will be happy to hear this comment and we are all looking forward to have you back here soon.

Thanking you and best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was really excited about this hotel based on the pictures I had seen. It was as I had expected although in a very isolated location. Went to a dance show which was fab. Hubby and I paid £80 for a Thai massage and I'm sad to say it wasn't as good as I had anticipated.

Cons- very quiet at night, wont see anyone walking about- kind of spooky.

Travelled May 2013

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anji H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Anji_H,

Thanks for your recent posting and we are glad to know that you have a great time here. Sorry to hear that you never enjoyed the traditional show at our sister restaurant.

We will inform the General Manager there.

Hope to have you back here soon.

Regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel was beautiful. Upon arrival, it looks like you have arrived at a temple. Our room was beautiful, with a very comfortable bed, power shower with massage jets, huge bath, and a balcony overlooking a waterfall. The pool is massive, with many features including a waterfall and jacuzzi. Some rooms have a balcony, where you can step off the balcony straight into the pool. The food was also very nice, and very cheap, and offers a variety of Thai and International cuisine. Breakfast was very enjoyable and varied, with oemlettes made fresh to order. The hotels sister restaurant, just off site, also is very good and very reasonable. The hotel also offers massages, even at poolside, including a free 15 minute massage on your first day. The hotel offers free shuttle service into the centre, and night markets throughout the day and night, which is about a ten minute drive. The staff were very friendly and helpful also. Loved this hotel, and would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich250807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Rich250807,

Thanks so much for your recent comment and we are all very happy to hear that you have had a wonderful time with us here.

I will share your kind thoughts with all my associates this morning and i am sure they will love to hear this.

Hope to have you back here again.

Have a good day.

Regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 384 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
1.5 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 384 in Chiang Mai
975 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,850 reviews
2.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 384 in Chiang Mai
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection

Property: Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Address: 137 Moo 5, Chiang Mai-Lampang Road | Nongpaklang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand (Formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiang Mai was the centre of the Lanna kingdom, and with interiors fitted out in natural fabrics and teak, roofs made from 80-year-old teak beams, and intricate carvings that show the touch of a true craftsman, the design of this atmospheric four-star boutique resort reflects the kingdom’s heritage. Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection has 85 spacious rooms and villas (from 44 to 356 square metres of total living space), with the option of direct pool access or a private pool, and each with a Jacuzzi thus adding a holistic touch to any Chiang Mai holiday. Beautiful surrounds and spacious interiors with teak furnishings and wood floors throughout make the rooms and villas a comfortable retreat for couples and families, and perfectly evoke the Lanna heritage. Wellbeing facilities include a Spa Cenvaree, the perfect retreat after of a busy day of sightseeing, exploring the valleys surrounding the city or discovering the unique culture of the ‘Rose of the North’, and a fitness centre. The resort is also home to a lagoon-shaped swimming pool surrounded by century-old trees and meandering canals. The resort also has a restaurant and two bars. For shopping aficionados, the complimentary shuttle service connects to Chiang Mai’s night markets and to Central Festival Chiang Mai shopping centre which is only 10 minutes away, so is the old town. The resort is a mere 20-minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khum Phaya Resort And Spa Centara Boutique Collection
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing