We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yaang Come Village(Chiang Mai)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruen Come In(Chiang Mai)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,109)
Filter reviews
1,109 results
Traveller rating
603
347
104
28
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
347
104
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roombig cpool barjet showerjacuzzi bathshuttle buscentral festivalbeautiful hotelhotel taxipool sidemosquito netbeautiful poolour honeymoontour desklanna stylewater featuresegg station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 1,109 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Quite simply the most beautiful Hotel I've stayed in (ahead of The Dorchester & The Savoy in London, The Mandarin Oriental Bangkok and Raffles).

The rooms and public areas are charming, the layout is one big tropical garden and the muzac has redefined the genre for me forever. Did I mention the pool (with swim up bar)??? Gorgeous!

The staff were very professional. The proximity to Big C was handy but this property is all about romance. A sublime paradise far from the maddening crowd!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Rob H,

Thanks for your great compliment! I am so happy you have had enjoyed your stay with us and what else, you are flattering us and even compared us with The Dorchester and Savoy in London. I love those hotels and I found their services are above excellent and you were so happy to compare us with them. What else? Raffles and Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok...Thanks.

I will relate this to all my staff.

Thanks again and hope to see you in future.

Best regards.

Jerome Sim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a lovely time at Khum Phaya on our honeymoon! We really enjoyed the gorgeous landscaping around our hotel and the pool is so unique.

Location:
We were a bit skeptical of the hotel to start with because it is quite a ways out of Chiang Mai. It seemed to be a downside at first but it wasn't actually a big deal as all of the tours were happy to pick up from the hotel and you were always last picked up and first dropped off, which was very convenient for time in the car. The hotel is tucked into a little neighborhood of shops with a 7Eleven accessible as well as several other local restaurants so you don't feel too isolated.

Hotel Grounds:
The hotel is beautifully upkept, especially on the outside with gorgeous Thai architecture, a beautiful pool that you can step into just out of your hotel room (a major bonus in the humid summer months), and really nice landscaping to make it feel a bit jungle-like.

Rooms:
The rooms were just OK. They could use a bit of love though as the bathrooms felt a bit outdated and the shower had a bit of a smell to it. They were kept fairly clean but the just feel like they need a bit of an update.

Staff:
The staff was accommodating but they weren't quite as friendly as other Thai hotels we have stayed at. We may have just been spoiled by other lovely hotels we have stayed at in Thailand.

Spa:
The spa is incredible! It is just gorgeously landscaped. We attended a great 3 1/2 hour honeymooner package that included a strawberry scrub, mud wrap, facial, and 60 minute oil massage. It was just fantastic.

Noise:
My main complaint of the hotel was the noise at night. We could hear our neighbors sitting outside by the pool til all hours of the night, making a lot of noise playing games. There is also a loud bar or something nearby that played loud music til well past 1AM. Also, the pool is supposed to close at 7PM but nearly everyone breaks this rule (including ourselves). This is fine if the people are quiet but many people weren't as courteous as we would have liked.

Food:
The breakfast was very well provided for with a LOT of options and endless supply of food. I can only wish that they improved their coffee! Dinner at the hotel was good as well but it is much cheaper and more authentic to go out somewhere in the local neighborhood.

We attended the Khanthoke dinner next door which the hotel give you a discount to. This was really cool to see the live dancing and performances that told a story of Thai history. I highly recommend it!

Overall a good stay! Thank you!

Room Tip: Get a room on the bottom floor so that you have direct pool access!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KansasKayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear KansasKayla,

Thank you so much for your lenghty comments recently. We do really appreciated that.

Your comments will be definitely help us to improve our services to our guests. I am sure our associates will be very happy to hear the good comments from you.

I have printed out a copy and posted to the staff notice board.

Hoping to have you back here soon.

Best regards.

Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here last week of Jun 2014. Property is beautiful, pool is massive, however lots of mosquitos!
Rooms nice however not 5 star quality in my opinion. Breakfast was decent
Beds - hard as a rock, literally. Spoke to staff after first night and asked for something to put on top - which they did do.
Stayed for 3 nights and every night had to put up with loud crappy music right outside our door. Complained and was told that it was outside the hotel and not much they could do - it would stop at 1am.. It stopped at 4am - very disappointing considering a resort is somewhere to relax and sleep well!!! Staff were very disinterested in helping for anything really.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear sdeakin,

First and foremost our apology for not been able to make your stay as comfortable as you expected.

The music outside the hotel - has been scrutinized by not us but by other residential areas and we have already reported to the municipality and action is now been taken. The zoning law allows the entertainment spot to play till midnight however the pub has been told to control the level of noise. Thanks for your comment as we will also use this as a confirmation to strengthen our petition to the authority.

Best regards.

Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was on my Honeymoon to Thailand from the 15 of June till the 27. I stayed for 2 nights in Khum Phaya Resort. At my arrival i couldn't but admire the beauty of the place, it is a wonderful hotel with waterfalls and lovely decorations, but after that the shocking experience started. The room is at the end of the hotel (5-7 minutes walking), once inside, even though my booking clearly stated "Honeymooners" we found ourselves in a room with 2 single beds. When checking with the reception, she said that the hotel has a limited amount of double size beds and none are available (Funny enough I never saw more than 7 people on breakfast so unless they have 1.....) so they end up joining the 2 single beds. No package was offered for honeymooners (All other hotels we stayed in offered champagne or wine with cake). Then the first breakfast was horrible, no variety at all, and we end up eating bread. Cappuccino and cafe latte are a premium drink on breakfast, and the food is full of mosquitos. Either they are not covered, or the one covered have a broker net, so mosquitos can still come in. As for the room, the net that also protect mosquitos from going in was broker so we found a Lizard inside the room that night and plenty of mosquitos bite all night long. I had to change the key for the door 3 times, as their current key system is very sensitive to cell phones, so if you put your keys close to your cell, you will have to walk like 5-7 minutes back to the reception to get a replacement one, as they don’t have any one around your room or a phone outside that you can contact them. In addition to that, the cleanliness is horrible; the bathroom light is full of insects that you can see moving. In the end, we took the laundry bag to put in the laundry, which is what we did on 3 other hotels in Thailand, but they decided to charge for it!

I am really sorry that such a Hotel has such a terrible service. it is a real beauty but the whole system does not work properly there.

I will add some pictures in other comments for the food and the broker net and the mosquitos in the bathroom as I don’t have them on me now.

Room Tip: Avoid it to avoid disappointment.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Charbs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Charbbs8,

First of all our apology for not making your stay as comfortable.

Your comments will be taken seriously. However our breakfast has been praised by many people on the range of choices and not restricted to limited items.

As for you honeymoon offers: I have double checked your booking indicated you are honeymooner and requested K bed, however hotel has mentioned will do our best to accommodate guest request upon availability. During your stay your all the lead in category that you booked in has been taken. However upgrading on case by case basis not available due to all next category was full. Our resort do provide sparkling wine to honeymooners but this is only with some suppliers we contracted with. For guests who make the reservation by themselves does not mean they get all these amenities automatically.

Sorry about the mosquitoes as our hotel is built within the vast landscaped garden. However we do fumigate our resort once a week. We provide mosquitoes netting in the rooms and all our nets are checked regularly. There is not broken net to be used for our guests.

Our laundry bag is made of fabric and this item is chargeable to all our guests if taken and it is written very clearly in our directory.

Thanking you for bring up your comment. Will share will all respective departments.

Best regards.

Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed there for three nights. The environment was great and we enjoyed a lot of the wonderful swimming pool. We lived in pool side access room and it was just wonderful to get into the water right from your room!
The hotel was nicely decorated in Lanna Style and the scenery was very good. Our family loved the Jacuzzi bathroom a lot.
Breakfast there was enough, of a variety and good taste. It's really nice that the breakfast choice will change everyday!
A little that the hotel can further improve is the service from the front desk and staff. It would be much better if they can carry more smiles on their faces.
I am happy to recommend families and couples to have a treat there. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Choi_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Choi_family,

First and foremost thanks for your recent posting.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay recently and you could have been a lot happier if not for the hiccups at the front desk.

Your comment is very important to us and I will have a meeting with my Rooms Division Manager and our Human Resource Manager to readdress the Centara "Wai and Smile". We will not tolerate for such an unfriendly or 'not smiling' attitude.

Rest assure we will take this matter seriously. Please do not let this deter you from continuing using our hotel or brand.

Looking forward to have you back.

Best regards.

Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews