We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nowhere better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shewe Wana Suite Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nowhere better!”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I have stayed at Shewe Wana for a total of around 10 weeks over the last 2 years and I know I'll be back again.
The location for me is fantastic. Not right in the centre, but not too far from it, and now the Hotel offers a free shuttle into the night market every evening. The rooms are so quiet and surrounded by beautiful gardens which seem to be maintained by the staff all day long... The staff are probably the hotel's biggest asset. I have never had such service in any other hotel in the world.
Many of the reviews mention the owner of the hotel, Joy. Joy is always such a pleasure to talk to and really goes the extra mile to make you feel at home in her hotel.
I've never had a bad meal at the hotel. Everything is so fresh and I found the staff would encourage me to try different dishes.
The rooms are great - very nicely furnished and spacious. Air conditioning worked great, and was even serviced during my stay.
The hotel's coffee shop is right next door. As expected, the service was fantastic, and they make an awesome Thai green tea :)

I cannot wait to go back to Shewe Wana, hopefully it will be soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KennyB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    56
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
116
67
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I spent 5 days at the Shewewana it was not far from central Chiang Mai but easily accessible by red cab or tuk tuk. the owner visited the guests regularly to see she could help in any way. Staff is friendly. Smiling. Help us all. The information we have about you as well. 2 Swimming Pool. Breakfast is not too much. But you can order Kitchen will make you immediately free.Fresh fruit. Fresh squeezed orange juice every day. White bread homemade and mango jam.Dinner delicious.The spa offers comfort and relaxation.We have special discounts for spa package guest in house.There is impressive. Free tuk tuk everyday to night market.Walking Street.

"We Must Return To Shewewana Resort."

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at the Shewewana Boutique hotel. It was the perfect quiet little spot after the hustle bustle of Chiang Mai. The service was amazing, the breakfasts were yummy ( the best fruit salad and banana pancakes)
This hotel is in a very central location and the staff are very helpful with planning excursions to just flagging a tuk tuk and negotiating a fair price.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper floor king bed room. The windows were overlooking an empty lot. It was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanyalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed with two children (2 & 8) in a suite with two bedrooms, two bathrooms (one with jacuzzi) and a large living room area. The suite was very nice and spacious, clean and comfortable, but the children (especially the youngest one) got many new mosiquito bites every night, which was very annoying.The separate air conditioning in the two bedrooms didn't work properly, so the bedrooms were quite hot in the night. The jacuzzi had not been cleaned for a while so when we turned it on the first time, it produced black flakes of dirt in the water. Housekeeping was ok, breakfast fantastic and dinner excellent. The spa was nice and good value for money with the 25% reduction for in-house guests. The location is very good and the shuttle service to night market and restaurants is practical when travelling with children. The pools were refreshing for adults, but too cool (and deep) for the children, so we didn't use them much. The garden is very nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was our third stay in three years at Shewewana Suites. The envrionment was so tranquil and beautiful especially in light of the fact that it is located right in Chiang Mai. We start off the day with the buffet breakfast which we look forward to especially enjoying the home-made granola and fresh tropical fruit before venturing out for the day. (restaurant table service is also available). On our return in the afternoon we head straight for a refreshing dip in either of swimming pools. Shewewana also has a delicious menu of both western and Thai dishes.
The one bedroom suite that we stayed in is so spacious and comfortable and we appreciated that we could help ourselves to the complimentary minibar; a nice gesture that other hotels should follow.
Our stay at Shewewana is always enhanced by the charming presence of Joy, the owner-manager who always makes us feel welcome and special.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites are quieter, upper floor suites have more breeze and view. Book far in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I almost didn't want to write this review, purely for selfish reasons. I'd like this to be a best kept secret so that i can easily get a booking again.

Step into the grounds and you can hardly believe that a busy road is just at your door-step. (Which is excellent for those days when you need a tuk-tuk in a hurry!). The lovely gardens and foliage transports you back to a haven of calm and tranquility.

The serivce staff are just wonderful. They recommended us girls a great nail spa as well as a hair salon - all value for money, not tourist traps. Nothing was too difficult for them. They anticipated our needs even before we thought of them. As our plane only left at 6pm in the evening, they suggested that we stay in our rooms till 4pm so that we could shower and rest before heading to the airport. We didn't even think to ask that and were delighted to be able to do this. All the staff spoke excellent English.

The room was excellent. I had asked for 2 adjoining rooms but got a whole villa instead! It was beautifully decorated, maintained and laid out. The housekeeping staff must have seen our wet swimming stuff hanging on the single clothes horse provided and thoughtfully brought another 2 and laid our clothes out neatly to dry.

I travel with my husband and 3 kids so the mark of a good hotel is when they give you 5 sets of towels after they've cleaned your room. (You'd be surprised how many big 5-star hotels don't get this right!) And the housekeeping staff got this right, everytime. And even made sure we had 5 sets of cups and glasses. The fridge had non-alcohol drinks and were also complimentary.

The variety at breakfast was good and well-cooked. I liked that it was not salty. When Thai congee is available, try it! It is really very very good, especially for mornings when you cannot eat a heavy breakfast of eggs and meat.

And if the strength of WiFi is important to you, then this is definitely the place! Good signal in almost all spots - even the bathrooms!

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadameMichLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papeete TAHITI
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

What a great stay we had ! nice secluded suite in the building 2. The alley way with all the tropical flowers, orchids is stunning, the suites are huge, nice beds, nice living room, complimentary minibar with soft drinks, water and snacks, the food is excellent too !
Breakfast in the morning is excellent, varied, plenty to chose from and to order.
There are 2 swimming pools, with one being very private in a forest of tropical plants.
There is a local market not far from the resort with fruits and local foods for the most adventurous.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manureva744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Suite Resort

Property: Shewe Wana Suite Resort
Address: 290, 292 Charoen Muang Rd., T. Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 806 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Suite Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana Suite Resort is a small, private resort. As your comfort is our top priority, the rooms have been designed in traditional Thai style using high quality, naturally made, environmentally friendly materials. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Within our grounds are 15 suites in a habitat of trees, peaceful gardens and bubbling brooks. The first room type is a One Bedroom Suite with Jacuzzi 112 square meters that features 1 queen bedroom. The second room type is a Family Suite room with Jacuzzi 112 square meters that features 2 beds (1 queen size bed & 1 Single bed). And the third room type is a Two Bedroom family suite with Jacuzzi, 126 square meters (2 Bathrooms, 1 Room with Jacuzzi). All room types have separate bedroom, living room, bathroom with Jacuzzi and a large private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing