We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shewe Wana Suite Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have travelled around the world and stayed at many hotels and resorts. Shewe Wana is the best resort I have stayed at. When I arrived, I was greeted by a crew of smiling faces at the front desk who informed me that I was upgraded from a one to a two bedroom suite at no charge. The suite was beautiful and had a special Thai flair that made me feel right at home. I besieged the girls at the front desk with questions and requests every day and they were always happy to help me. The resort is a little out of the way from the city center but a free shuttle runs every hour to bring guests to the night bazaar. They will also pick you up at the airport free of charge. The owner, Joy, made a special point of seeking me out to make sure I was happy with the accommodations. Breakfast was included every morning and could be made to order along with a light buffet that was available. One day I asked for a few sandwiches for my son to be packed up because we were going on a tour and I didn't think he would like the lunch food offered on the tour. The sandwiches were promptly made at no charge. I have never experienced such a high level of service at any other resort I have stayed at. I would also like to send a special note of thanks to Rose, Pink, Sweet and Vickie for being so kind. Together you made our stay in Chiang Mai wonderful!! Sincerely, Noreen

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

My partner booked this hotel for me in secret, and I had no idea what I was walking into, and have to say it has been so pleasant and charming from start to finish.

The room we were given is quaint and perfect for a couple, I can't find fault with it even if I try. The soaps are all earth natural, the air con and sheets and pillows are all of a very high standard. The breakfast is hearty and well presented, and has a great selection suitable to everyone's taste.
We met the owner joy who is very welcoming and all the staff especially the receptionist Pink, have been genuinely friendly and extremely helpful with all our queries.

The highlight of our 3 day stay here, which is sadly over tomorrow, was our day out at the Elephant Nature Park (ENP). We were so impressed with the ethical treatment of the elephants and rescue dog sanctuary, we have not stopped thinking about the great work they are doing for elephants that have suffered or been mistreated. I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone who wants to avoid seeing any maltreatment or riding of Thai elephants, and just see them in their natural surroundings.

My partner and I travel around Asia all the time, and we feel we have found a little tropical resort home away from home in the middle of the city of chiang mai.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Loved the large one bedroom. We were there for the most busy weekend, Yi Peng fastival. The whole place was booked but they still upgraded us from one bedroom to family suite at the third floor, because I was afraid of Mosquitos, based on the reviews, and requested it to have up stairs. The whole weekend only got bit when I was laying by the pool. The room was very clean. Huge private terrace was a big plus! Great complimentary breakfast.
About 10 to 15 minutes walk to the night bazaar. 10 minutes walk to the river which is where every one releasing the floating lanterns.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincewang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is located 10 minutes walk from the center of the city of Chiang Mai, first time in my life that I have a room of 110 m2 !
Only 18 rooms, very personal service, excellent breakfast and very helpful people, extremely clean, good swimmingpool

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clementineWavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

It's more like being home instead of staying a resort. Staffs there were passion and help us a lot. Rooms are clean and quite big.
Though the location is not at the center of Chiang Mai, you'll need to walk at least 5 mins to Night Bazaar. Nevertheless, still a cool option for group of people to stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Took my parents and grandma to Chiangmai in April and stayed in this resort for 4 nights. This place amazed us. It's a 2 bedroom suite, both bedrooms and bathrooms very spacious, beds are comfortable. Big living room, I asked for the one on ground floor with the swing on the balcony where u could sit there and embrace the greens. My dad could not stop taking photos the second we stepped in the hotel. Breakkie was included, u can order whatever on the menu, they also offer couple of dishes each day that are not on the menu.
Location wise, a little bit out of the old town. You need to get a song-teo to get into town, which was quite convenient as well. Hotel provide free shuttle to the night market near the river, to and from airport/train station as well. Very close to chiang mai railway station. There is a cafe right next to the entrance (run by the hotel probably), the girl working there was cute and always smile. Staff at reception are all very nice.
Overall highly recommend, not one of those typical "hotels" you would stay in other places. This is beautiful oasis indeed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareZzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The tropical garden is really something you need to see, feel and smell.
It is not just beautiful, but pleases all your senses, gives a private feeling to all the rooms all you can see from the large window is green, pink, red and orange colors.
The owner is a very inspiring businesswomen. When asked how she stay so young and beautiful, her answer was that "you will achieve if you have strong enough a will, you can be beautiful or successful or whatever you like". Wow.

Room Tip: All rooms can be nice, but I think if you want to have be private and be surrounded by greens, choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#38 of 394 in Chiang Mai
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Suite Resort

Address: 290, 292 Charoen Muang Rd., T. Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 940 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £108 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Suite Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana Suite Resort is a small, private resort. As your comfort is our top priority, the rooms have been designed in traditional Thai style using high quality, naturally made, environmentally friendly materials. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Within our grounds are 15 suites in a habitat of trees, peaceful gardens and bubbling brooks. The first room type is a One Bedroom Suite with Jacuzzi 112 square meters that features 1 queen bedroom. The second room type is a Family Suite room with Jacuzzi 112 square meters that features 2 beds (1 queen size bed & 1 Single bed). And the third room type is a Two Bedroom family suite with Jacuzzi, 126 square meters (2 Bathrooms, 1 Room with Jacuzzi). All room types have separate bedroom, living room, bathroom with Jacuzzi and a large private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Shewe Wana Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing