We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We cut our stay short.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Ranked #48 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2011

the good: IT is very new, very spacious, and appeared very clean. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The house keeping lady was delightful. It is in a quiet location but close to everything, including some great restaurants. The manager was also very helpful about booking tours and trips, she was great.
the negatives: whilst the pictures show a kitchen - it had nothing but three bowls, 3 spoons and 3 forks in it which I thought odd. It has clearly been built to 3 star.

why we left early - There was a faint bad smell in the master bedrooms bathroom when we moved in, by the next day it was much worse and I reported it. The staff came up and ran taps and flushed etc, and the smell decreased but by the next day was back.. I didnt want this to go on and it had tainted the whole stay by then,as the smell made the place feel dirty and unpleasant. . We were not offered another room. There is also a construction site next door and the workman made holes in the fence to watch my daughters in the pool. I told the management and they were very good and got upset on our behalf and reached straight for the phone - which was good - but again we felt we didnt want to stay, a bad breakfast was the final straw. The manager was very good about us leaving early and looked after our bags for the day.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff are lovely and very helpful, with charming smiles. It was the New Year festivities when we visited and the staff made sure we knew that if we were going out we would get wet, and ensure we had camera and phone in a dry place.
Breakfast is included in the room price and there were about six choices. We also opted to eat lunch and dinner there on occasions as the prices were most reasonable.
The markets are a about a 10 minute walk away and you can buy pretty well anything you might want. The night market is about another 10 minute walk further where you can buy clothes, food and souvenirs. The sellers are not pushy and are happy for you to wander.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Rooms super clean, staff friendly and helpful. Security, quiet street, beautiful pool. Within walking distance to night markets and restaurants along Ping River. You can tell that a lot of attention to details are important to manager/owners. Feels like home. They even have monthly rates. Things like rack for drying hand washables, safe etc. Really comfy beds and pillows.
Italian rest down the road is excellent. Also recommend Indian "stall" at night markets.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yacht_vayacondios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

lovely little hotel that we enjoyed immensely. the staff was great, large clean room, great bathroom, balcony so we could wash our clothes, and very good breakfast daily. the night market is about a 10 min walk across the river but we preferred this to a closer hotel. the craziness of the maket is not compatible with any kind of peace and quiet. great restaurants and cafes within a 5 min walk.
the pool was a little cool but very clean, nice little gym -- very basic.

took one of the day treks offered through the hotel and it was pretty nice. don't know how it adds up to other tours -- we only did the one.

- went to lilas for massages. they picked us up from the hotel and got us back exactly when we wanted. very affordable, clean and good massage and body scrub for the price

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sahmed76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

It's a super hotel, very clean, large room and very friendly people.
There was a great service and a nice pool. Only ten minutes walking from the nightmarket, and 5 minutes walking from several nice restaurants on the riverside.
We had a great time there and when we return we stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corenwilna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed at the Sakorn for 5 nights and was very impressed with the hotel and it's location - east side of the Ping River but only a few minutes away from a cluster of superb riverside restaurants and then a short walk over the Warat or Lek bridges to reach the likes of the night bazaar. The hotel is smart, clean and has a free breakfast menu of around 5 or 6 different dishes. There is a fitness centre but no weights. WiFi access was very good.
I only have two small gripes. The first was the minimum amount of hospitality shown by the main lady on reception during our stay, bordering on indifference. A young man who covered her later shifts proved much more friendly and helpful with our enquiries and booking requests. The second was the lack of sun beds for the pool. Only half of the pool area sees sunlight during the afternoon and on two occasions there were only 4 sun beds, which were all taken. We had to sit in plastic chairs. When we asked for the situation to be rectified the lady on reception shrugged her shoulders and said there was nothing she could do.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We needed a room for one night and stumbled on the Sakorn Residence. It's off the beaten path across the river from the main part of town. For us, that's a plus because it's quieter. It's near a footbridge so you could walk to the Warorot Market in a matter of minutes. There are several good restaurants nearby as well. Room options include a King Room (36 sq. Meters); a larger King Room (45 sq. Meters), a twin room, plus 3 options for small apartments. In addition, there is a beautiful pool and a small fitness room plus WiFi. Each room has a small refrigerator.

We liked our stay here so much that we'll consider coming back next January for a month!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 402 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#39 of 402 in Chiang Mai
263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#86 of 402 in Chiang Mai
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#26 of 402 in Chiang Mai
288 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#65 of 402 in Chiang Mai
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakorn Residence & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Address: 2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £26 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sakorn Residence & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sakorn Residence & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakorn Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing