We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Hidden Gems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Ranked #48 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Truly Hidden Gems”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Very nice hotel with great cleanliness and staff very friendly. The room is large, facility is sufficient and well maintain. Breakfast is set menu but you will have it full enough. The location is just 15 - 20 minute walking to the old city, night bazaar and walking street.

Very very good at the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomillith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    240
    57
    16
    2
See reviews for
82
259
57
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Very good hotel for the price. Very quiet when i stayed. all the staff very friendly and helpful. I booked an extra 2 nights through a website and they knew before I told them. Good location along the river with some of the better restaurants in Chiang Mai just 5 minutes from the hotel. It about 25 min walk into the main "4 walls" area of Chiang Mai and about 10-15 min to the night bazzar. Very modern efficient hotel away from the main hussle and bussle of Chiang Mai. Hotel staff informed me when my day trip transports were runnnig behind. I definately reccomend, you won't get a hotel like this for this kind of price in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Use agoda for the best price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglishEccentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Upon arrival at the hotel we were welcomed with a drink and taken directly to our room. The room was just the same as the photos - big, spacious and very clean. The hotel was very quiet when we stayed. Free wifi which was good. Breakfast was a choice from a menu which was very good. The hotel is in a great location on the other side of town but within close distant to some lovely restaurants such as The Riverside, The Good View, the Good Earth and next door indian Hinlay was very good food and the Red Lion pub was lovely for food or a drink. Easy to get a tuk tuk to town and cheapest price was 60 baht and most expensive was 100 baht. Staff was very helpful and hotel is very relaxed. I would have not hesitating in recommending this hotel to anyone wanting a good quality hotel for a good price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

the good: IT is very new, very spacious, and appeared very clean. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The house keeping lady was delightful. It is in a quiet location but close to everything, including some great restaurants. The manager was also very helpful about booking tours and trips, she was great.
the negatives: whilst the pictures show a kitchen - it had nothing but three bowls, 3 spoons and 3 forks in it which I thought odd. It has clearly been built to 3 star.

why we left early - There was a faint bad smell in the master bedrooms bathroom when we moved in, by the next day it was much worse and I reported it. The staff came up and ran taps and flushed etc, and the smell decreased but by the next day was back.. I didnt want this to go on and it had tainted the whole stay by then,as the smell made the place feel dirty and unpleasant. . We were not offered another room. There is also a construction site next door and the workman made holes in the fence to watch my daughters in the pool. I told the management and they were very good and got upset on our behalf and reached straight for the phone - which was good - but again we felt we didnt want to stay, a bad breakfast was the final straw. The manager was very good about us leaving early and looked after our bags for the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff are lovely and very helpful, with charming smiles. It was the New Year festivities when we visited and the staff made sure we knew that if we were going out we would get wet, and ensure we had camera and phone in a dry place.
Breakfast is included in the room price and there were about six choices. We also opted to eat lunch and dinner there on occasions as the prices were most reasonable.
The markets are a about a 10 minute walk away and you can buy pretty well anything you might want. The night market is about another 10 minute walk further where you can buy clothes, food and souvenirs. The sellers are not pushy and are happy for you to wander.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Rooms super clean, staff friendly and helpful. Security, quiet street, beautiful pool. Within walking distance to night markets and restaurants along Ping River. You can tell that a lot of attention to details are important to manager/owners. Feels like home. They even have monthly rates. Things like rack for drying hand washables, safe etc. Really comfy beds and pillows.
Italian rest down the road is excellent. Also recommend Indian "stall" at night markets.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yacht_vayacondios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

lovely little hotel that we enjoyed immensely. the staff was great, large clean room, great bathroom, balcony so we could wash our clothes, and very good breakfast daily. the night market is about a 10 min walk across the river but we preferred this to a closer hotel. the craziness of the maket is not compatible with any kind of peace and quiet. great restaurants and cafes within a 5 min walk.
the pool was a little cool but very clean, nice little gym -- very basic.

took one of the day treks offered through the hotel and it was pretty nice. don't know how it adds up to other tours -- we only did the one.

- went to lilas for massages. they picked us up from the hotel and got us back exactly when we wanted. very affordable, clean and good massage and body scrub for the price

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahmed76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 383 in Chiang Mai
252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 383 in Chiang Mai
880 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 383 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#18 of 383 in Chiang Mai
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#52 of 383 in Chiang Mai
590 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#42 of 383 in Chiang Mai
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakorn Residence & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Property: Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Address: 2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sakorn Residence & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sakorn Residence & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakorn Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing