We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal of its kind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Ranked #49 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

No, this is not a five-star hotel . . . but who needs stars when one has a modern, meticulously clean, comfortable and practical room . . . with a choice of hearty breakfasts, a small pool, and an absolutely lovely staff eager to please? We left our luggage at the hotel while on an excursion elsewhere for two days; when we returned, the bags had already been transferred to our new room. Such thoughtfulness is rare at a hotel. The location, near the river in a quiet residential neighborhood, is charming. We often walked to the Night Bazaar, but longer jaunts required a tuk-tuk. What would I suggest? Some tea and coffee sachets to go with the coffee maker in the room and extra pillows . . . but I am carping. Our six days at Sakorn were terrific.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackIndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

We.had 6 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment this was very clean the beds huge and comfortable, the lounge chairs not so comfortable and while the kitchen had crockery it had no cutlery or bottle or can openers and had to get this from reception each time as they only had 1. The staff were very helpful at reception. The break fasts were very dull but the coffe shop did great coffee and the curry house next door served great food. Sakorn was handy to the river and the restaurants there. Transport is so reasonable nothing was too far away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Sakorn Residence is one of the hidden gems of Chiang Mai. Tho the hotel itself it not flashy to look at, it offers everything that you could wish for from a mid-range hotel, and it is all done well. The rooms are large and spotless, with big, comfortable beds. All the rooms have a balcony, which I enjoyed, especially in the evening. The free breakfast is chosen from a number of choices on a static menu, and after my 13 day stay I began to wish there was a bit more variety, but everything was very well prepared. The staff were also open to special requests, like mixing and matching various elements from two different breakfasts, extra toast, etc. The staff were as friendly and helpful as they were on my first visit. This hotel is also bargain priced, which made staying here all the more enjoyable. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and when in Chiang Mai, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had a hotel at the front of the hotel, overlooking the pool, which I found much nicer then the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosBound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Being unhappy with the hotel we had booked (Ayatana) we found the Sakorn on line and within a couple of emails we had arranged to be transferred. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff are great and the room, 222, was huge. A small but nice pool and coffee shop. A five minute walk to great bars and restaurants or ten minutes by tuk tuk into the centre, don't miss the Curry house next, great food and good value.

Room Tip: Room 222 was at end of corridor nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is a great value hotel! even though it's a bit far from the city, it's only a $3 tuk tuk ride away, and the service and facilities of the Sakorn residence are definitely worth it.
The hotel is very modern, comfortable and clean; the pool is wonderful and the staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast is very good too, although they could add a little more variety to the menu.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Sakorn Residence hotel is a gem within Chiang Mai. It is modern with spacious and spotless rooms. They even provide you with two complimentary bottled waters which is replaced after each room clean. There is a small gym with a few cardio machines, and the pool is large enough to do small laps. The breakfast provided is very good. I really enjoyed the yummy fried rice and fish soup. There is also a cafe next door (turn right upon exiting the hotel) which serves up great espresso coffee and the owner is an absolute delight.

I was a little concerned at first of the location of the hotel as it's outside the main town. However, it turned out to be great as we were looking for a quiet place. There are a few good eats within walking distance. We enjoyed the "Good View" for Thai cuisine, and really loved "Arbusto" for Italian cuisine (great food and even greater company), which is within 200 meters of the hotel after you exit to the right. Although there is no laundry service on site, there is a good laundry spot near by as well, the owner is very nice (ask the hotel staff for the location).

If you're keen to venture into town then the red trucks (which are 20BHT per person) will take you there no worries. You can also take a tuk tuk for about 80 - 100 BHT, but why pay more? We kept the small map the hotel provided with us and pointed out to the red truck driver where we wanted to stop which ensured no confusion on the destination point.

Now onto the staff. They were so kind, always being helpful and of course with the lovely Thai smile. They helped us book tours (highly recommend the "Elephant Nature Park" it's a sanctuary so you don't ride elephants, but you learn so much, a bit pricey but it goes to a good cause), massages, and transportation. Special thanks to Kaew, Fon and Fluke for making our stay such a pleasant one. I highly recommend this hotel for a quiet, relaxing, and affordable stay. Thank you Sakorn Residence hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjung17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We spent 6 nights at the Sakorn Residence, 3 nights before Christmas and 3 nights after Christmas. (road trip on the Mae Hong Song between stays.) It was a wonderful, friendly staff, the rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was enjoyable. The hotel kept our extra luggage when we went on the road trip, a nice bonus. This hotel is close to the night market and wonderful resturants. We would recommend this hotel is you are visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summerrobin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 389 in Chiang Mai
913 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#69 of 389 in Chiang Mai
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#43 of 389 in Chiang Mai
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#77 of 389 in Chiang Mai
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#85 of 389 in Chiang Mai
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakorn Residence & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Address: 2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £28 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sakorn Residence & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sakorn Residence & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakorn Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing