We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value on a quiet street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Ranked #49 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value on a quiet street”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and the air conditioning worked well. The bed was comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and though simple, quite tasty with several options, fruit, juice, self-serve coffee & water. As another reviewer noted, it is a bit of a walk from the old city, but not too bad, and tuk-tuks are always available. The small restaurant across the street and to the west of the hotel offers really good food at incredibly cheap prices - best Pad Thai I've had this trip. Overall, an incredible value at 5600 B for 4 nights.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Krw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    244
    57
    16
    2
See reviews for
84
261
57
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Attard, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is well situated, close to very good restaurants on the river bank. It is in a secondary road hence it is away from the actual city noises. The night market is about 20 minutes away by walk. Breakfast is baked freshly on request and all staff are vey friendly! Rooms are big, clean and a/c (which is a must in Thailand) works perfectly! Only thing is that the mattresses are very hard - but this seems to be quite the norm in Thailand.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splodutmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is good. Simple, but clean. The room have air conditioner, TV, minibar, hair dryer. The staff are nice and polite. The breakfast included it´s simple, but delicious. And you can arrange all your tours at the reception. The only problem for me and my friends was the location. A little bit far from the downtown.

Room Tip: Good rooms, but a little bit far from the downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaCho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I've been meaning to do this review since getting back last June (2013) but it's not until planning my next holiday that I've remembered just how useful reviews are. My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights last June in a twin room. First thing I must say is how clean the room was and how comfortable the beds were, we also took full advantage of their well stocked fridge as soon as we arrived (Chang beer is yum!) which was very reasonably priced. The hotel was in easy walking distance from the river which had some great bars and restaurants and the town was only a bit further on. Tuktuk were nice and cheap to get around but with decent enough shoes (the pavements aren't great in chaing Mai!) it's definitely walkable to explore the whole town. The pool was lovely and very refreshing and breakfast had plenty of options. The main thing that impressed us about sakorn were how helpful the staff were, we looked at several cooking courses to do whilst there and they advised us which their guests had found best giving us the choices depending on what we wanted (so not on commission). The course we went on was brilliant (baan Thai - I've even made some of the dishes at home) so they really did help us out. The thing we were most impressed with though was on our last day; we packed up our stuff and left the room and hotel without my issues, got to the airport, checked in our luggage,then found a cheap place that did amazing foot massages. My friend realised she had left her dresses hanging in the wardrobe, the ladies in the massage parlour contacted the hotel to let them know and see if they had found them, they checked and they were still there. The guy on the desk, whose name I have now forgotten (I feel bad for that) then drove in his Tuktuk to meet us at the airport, 25 minutes later he pulled up with her dresses in a plastic bag and tried to give us change when we gave him money for the journey and his troubles. I doubt I will ever be so impressed by service ever again. They were always friendly, always smiling and they truly went out of their way for us. I would wholeheartedly recommend Sakorn to anyone wanting to stay in Chiang Mai.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our room was nice & big with a king sized bed & a balcony overlooking the pool. It was very clean & comfortable & had free wifi. It was a 20 minute walk to the Old City along a very busy road with no sidewalks, but it was on a nice quiet side street away from the hustle & bustle. The staff was very helpful, calling the airport for us to help us get our lost luggage and making recommendations and arranging transportation for our sightseeing excursions. They even kept our luggage for us when we went on an overnight stay to Elephant Nature Park. We really enjoyed our stay in Chiangmai

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Good value, comfortable room, reasonable breakfast. Couple of nice restaurants about a ten minute walk from the hotel, night market 20 minutes walk on the other side of the river. Chiang Mai is worth visiting if you want to see the elephants and tiger kingdom, check which is the best before you go, as some of these can look a bit cruel. The hotel had a pool too, which was nice, but a bit too cold to use in January .

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank finandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms were well-cleaned every day and the bed linnen was changed frequently (once every two days). Additionally, the cleaning staff are very professional and handled our property with great care.
The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful in assisting your sightseeing or arranging for tuk tuk transportation (which is usually driven by one of the staff members, they're very multitalented).
One downside is that the breakfast is only so-so, except if there is a Thai option to choose for the day, which is then strongly recommended.
Lastly, the gym is not very impressive, with only five or six machines to choose from, and all focused on cardio. Just something to keep in mind when choosing this hotel partly based on this criterion.
Overall, it's great value for your money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tjalling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 386 in Chiang Mai
893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 386 in Chiang Mai
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#67 of 386 in Chiang Mai
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,313 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#17 of 386 in Chiang Mai
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#36 of 386 in Chiang Mai
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakorn Residence & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Property: Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Address: 2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#27 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sakorn Residence & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sakorn Residence & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakorn Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing