We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Ranked #52 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with spacious rooms. We couldn't get two single beds so we opted for a double. It was more like a king size bed. You would have fit 4of us in the bed. It was great.

A nice walking distance to old town. Indian next door was our cheapest meal in Thailand and it was lovely. A lovely cafe around the corner too.

I didn't think much of the breakfast. There wasn't much of an option compared to other hotels we had stayed in during our time in Thailand. This is the only thing I didnt like. Other than that it was all good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sinedublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Looking back at our 10 day stay at this hotel we only highly recommend Sakorn. The staff is very friendly, willing to help day and night. Swimming pool is nice to cool down. Spacious rooms and go out for Indian restaurant next to hotel or for lunch at the opposite, you won't regret!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank 706martijn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nice hotel. A little bit outside the central city, but very quiet near the Ping river and some very good restaurants (do try the Lanna Riverside Club; excellent). If you take a songthaew, it's 20 baht per person into town or back. The rooms are very good size, with Lanna style. Not sure what the Lanna style is, probably the bend legs on the bed. Nice swimmingpool with towels and some loungechairs. Breakfast is adequate, with 5 different sets to choose from. Service is very friendly at this seemingly familyrun hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look out on a huge wall of Ivy, screening off the view on the Pillars House hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hansje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were here over 2 years ago and have been pleased to see that it still remains a great place to stay. The location is just far enough from the city to be quiet oasis but close enough to walk to the night market, old city and most major sites of interest or take an inexpensive tuk tuk. Breakfast is adequate with 4 choices served by very pleasant and obliging staff. The rooms have good lighting and TVs with multiple English channels. This trip we booked a full day cooking school at Asean cooking school and had an immensely enjoyable day with our host A. The very long full day trip to the Golden Triangle and Chiang Mai, gave us a sense of the countryside around this region.

Room Tip: The hotel has installed a new lift since our last visit and it is fast and quiet so the fact that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chefAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My first visit to Chiang Mai was awesome due to the fantastic stay we had at Sakorn. In a quiet part of town over the river Ping we were greeted by very friendly, helpful staff. Our 2 bedroom "apartment" was enormous...our 8 yr old loved having his own king size bed...beds are comfortable, rooms were spotless. 2 bathrooms/showers one with a bath also, kitchen, 3 air conditioners, wrap around balcony on the 5th floor overlooking the pool, we were in the top corner room. Breakfast is light on choice but great on content with free tea and coffee or there is a coffee house on the ground where you can purchase a good selection of coffee. Restaurants within easy walking distance, night market a little further...about 20 mins...but still an easy walk. Tuk Tuks available at hotel but we mostly walked everywhere...take water its hot. Pool is medium size but again very clean and refreshing after a hot day. Gym is small but fairly well fitted out...who exercises on holidays anyway...hahaha. Reception staff were extremely helpful with suggestions and well basically anything you need, all staff very polite and all round helpful. Small restaurant next door to the right..Hinlay Curry House...was some of the best food we ate in Thailand. Will definitely stay here again, price was awesome and stay was trouble free. Highly recommend staying at Sakorn.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the top floor with a pool view and view over Chaing Mai...it was AWESOME
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martianmowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay but you do not get the services you do with a hotel. Our 11 year old daughter when round the pool was unable to get any food, not even a sandwich. Not fussed on breakfast either. Had better. Service good and staff friendly but would not stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hangusontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is just outside the main attractions of Chiang Mai, down a quite peaceful road. It is modern and very clean, with reasonably helpful staff. The rooms are exceptionally nice for the price - it is really a very good value, if minimalist hotel. The swimming pool was small, but very nice as well. There is no restaurant, but its a short walk to a strip of very nice restaurants overlooking the River Ping (these restaurants seem to mainly attract wealthy locals, so the food is distinctly better than the more touristy places in the centre of town, although they are very lively and noisy, which is good or bad depending on what you are looking for). The main centre is about 20 minutes walk away, which is a bit tiresome after a while, but its ok for a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 393 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#23 of 393 in Chiang Mai
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#24 of 393 in Chiang Mai
267 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#90 of 393 in Chiang Mai
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakorn Residence & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakorn Residence & Hotel

Address: 2 / 2 Na Wat Kate 1, T. Wat Kate, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#24 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £28 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sakorn Residence & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sakorn Residence & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakorn Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing