We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good value for money hotel in a quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #59 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good value for money hotel in a quiet location”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at the De Lanna hotel in April, just before Songkran. This hotel is in a quiet street, and the rooms are all facing the inner courtyard, which makes it more peaceful. However, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Sunday walking street, temples and the old city walls. It is also easy to get a tuk tuk outside the hotel if you want to explore further afield. The hotel staff can help with this and will tell you how much it should cost to the different destinations around town.

The rooms are newly decorated and the bathrooms are clean and modern. The room we had was spacious, with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. I would definitely recommend asking for a room on either the second or third floors, as those on the first (ground) floor are near the pool and restaurant and seem quite noisy. There is also a fishpond running outside some of the rooms, which means they are less private. Many other guests were taking photos of the fish and shouting quite loudly at their children "look at the fish". Avoid the rooms near reception as they seem to get the highest human traffic of all. The pool is small but nice and refreshingly welcome after a day out in the heat!

Breakfast is buffet-style, nothing special with many of the dishes cold by the time we surfaced around 9am. The staff were friendly and helpful, arranging transfers to the airport and to the night safari for us. When we decided to stay an extra night, the Supervisor was able to give us a lower rate than their usual one.

I would definitely stay here again for the quiet location and the clean and modern rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor - ask for a room in the 200s or 300s
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    260
    89
    28
    10
See reviews for
104
262
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great hotel with nice price, friendly staff. only few min walks to temples of Old City. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elwintai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great hotel. Nice shower room. Breakfast was good with fresh brew coffee!
will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpkh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed together with my wife and our two boys in this lovely hotel in the old city of Chiang Mai. We did really much like the style of this hotel. On one hand very modern but on the other hand still with a lot of details and tradition.
For us it was a good place to touch down and to start our daily sightseeing tours.
The food in the restaurant is incredible we really liked it. Very good quality and very nice presentation. If you stay in this hotel please do not miss to eat in this restaurant.
The people are all very nice and extremly helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and were checked in quickly. The rooms were fairly spacious and had nice balconies overlooking the pool area. The bed was very big, but the pillows were a little too big and hard for me. The bathroom was a little on the small side but the shower was hot and powerful. The service was ok, but nothing to shout about. We arranged at reception for them to order a taxi to take us to the following morning but they forgot and so we were a little late. Other than that everything was fine.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CrumpetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear lovely guests,

Thank you for your valuable comments. We now just got a new staff at reception and also a trainee from local university working during this period. There might be some silly mistakes happened during your stay and we were deeply regret. We will continue improve our services to satisfy all customers. Thank you again for your valuable comments.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Have just spent 6 nights at the De Lanna hotel. The room was a good size and clean. The bathroom was very small but the shpwer was great. The staff friendly and helpful . The breakfast good. The pool has the sun all day and is lovely to relax around. Overall it is a very nice hotel my only concern and the reason I would not return is the location. I was on my own and the hotel is surrounded by language schools and the women's prison. It was a good 10 minutes walk to restaurants and further for shops. I did not like walking back late at night. It is a long way from the night market. The best location would be around the East side of the old city or just outside the east gate. There is not much on this west side.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear lovely guests,

Thank you for your comments. Our hotel is really far out from those night market and Tha Phae gate where a lot of traffic going on there. There're many bright sites of not being traffic. A quiet place to stay and relax after your long journey outside the hotel. There's no pub and bar surround with loud music at night. The hotel is far out from the night market by foot, but people can go anywhere from the hotel by simply get a tuk-tuk or red-truck taxi to all place in less than 10 minutes or they can rent a motorbike or bicycle to wander arount the old city. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you again from your valuable comments.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have just spent three days at the De Lanna which is well located inside the Old City, Chaing Mai. We had a ground floor room (108) which remains shaded all day. The rooms are well appointed, almost boutique level with flat screen TV, mini-bar, loads of storage space for your clothing, desk & chair, AC and a very comfortable bed. The rooms are spotless and there's even a men's lavatory in the toilet. The toilet is big, one half has a full size tub and this is also a wet room for the two showers. We had slippers and wraps in the wardrobe and even two umbrella's should the need arise. I feel the need to mention the food; breakfast was great, enough choice. We ate one night in the restaurant and had an AWESOME chicken and cashew nut dish - to die for! The staff were great and we had a late check out til 1400hrs - there's a shower and changing room if you need to wait at the hotel once you have checked out to, this service is provided free of charge and was great fully received. Thoroughly recommend the De Lanna - we would certainly have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamAndJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.0 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#40 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#14 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#44 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing