We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Small Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #65 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This was a great small boutique hotel with 35 - 40 rooms, a swimming pool and restaurant. The rooms were clean and bed was comfy. The only problem for us was the bed was very low to the ground and the chairs were right on the ground. We had to bring the chairs from the balcony into the room so we could sit and watch TV. I have had 2 hip replacements and my husband one knee replacement so the low bed and chairs were a problem for us. The tub was hard to get into as well until we found that we could get into it from the bedroom side. The tour director, Mimi, did an excellent job finding us some awesome tours. Air conditioning worked well and there was an elevator.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems this might not be the place to stay.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Two of us stayed at this hotel in Feb 2012 for 4 nights. The room was lovely with low beds, wooden floors, high ceilings, small balcony, well equipped bathroom. The safe was broken when we arrived but the staff did all they could to get it repaired for us. Free internet access was very useful. There is a lovely pool in the courtyard and the buffet breakfast was very nice.

Great location in the old city to base yourself for sightseeing and a very comfortable place to stay. Would recommend overall.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 3rd floor which had nice high ceilings which gave a greater feeling of space.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryfeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at this small hotel earlier this month. It was overall an enjoyable experience. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and in a good location. The food was brilliant in the small restaurant at the end of the pool, so were the staff that worked there.Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallzy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Very nice hotel; small (around 40 rooms) all around a beautiful garden with swiiming pool and restaurant. The rooms are very nice nice and very clean;
BUT
everything is chargeable!
- an extra balnket = 400bht
- if you break a glass at the restaurant: 60bht
- etc.
A REAL RIP OFF!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor have beautiful fish on the terrasse.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VH4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear valued guests,

Sorry for any inconvenience occurred during your stay. We do charge for an extra things and damage charge for broken things cause by the guests since everything comes with its cost. Otherwise, our staffs will have to pay for the damage expenses if they were unable to collect a bill from you. We design our price lower than the market for 4 star boutique hotel in Chiang mai because we do not include those extra things in our price formular. Thank you again for your valuable comments.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at the De Lanna hotel in April, just before Songkran. This hotel is in a quiet street, and the rooms are all facing the inner courtyard, which makes it more peaceful. However, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Sunday walking street, temples and the old city walls. It is also easy to get a tuk tuk outside the hotel if you want to explore further afield. The hotel staff can help with this and will tell you how much it should cost to the different destinations around town.

The rooms are newly decorated and the bathrooms are clean and modern. The room we had was spacious, with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. I would definitely recommend asking for a room on either the second or third floors, as those on the first (ground) floor are near the pool and restaurant and seem quite noisy. There is also a fishpond running outside some of the rooms, which means they are less private. Many other guests were taking photos of the fish and shouting quite loudly at their children "look at the fish". Avoid the rooms near reception as they seem to get the highest human traffic of all. The pool is small but nice and refreshingly welcome after a day out in the heat!

Breakfast is buffet-style, nothing special with many of the dishes cold by the time we surfaced around 9am. The staff were friendly and helpful, arranging transfers to the airport and to the night safari for us. When we decided to stay an extra night, the Supervisor was able to give us a lower rate than their usual one.

I would definitely stay here again for the quiet location and the clean and modern rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor - ask for a room in the 200s or 300s
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great hotel with nice price, friendly staff. only few min walks to temples of Old City. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elwintai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great hotel. Nice shower room. Breakfast was good with fresh brew coffee!
will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpkh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 388 in Chiang Mai
983 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 388 in Chiang Mai
973 reviews
0.0 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#44 of 388 in Chiang Mai
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#37 of 388 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,447 reviews
2.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £47 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing